ZTH MINI Club!

• Thread starter skyline86
  • Start date
  • Replies 3K
  • Views 267K
Hi all,

Its been awhile since I posted. While my mini is starting to be in one piece from the building process, I was just wandering whether what will be the right rim size for a standard mini with no major modifications. Will it be a 12" or a 13" rim, and what are the pros and cons. Appreciate comments.

Cheers.........

hi guys... i'm new in here... and i'm like u guys that intrested in mini.... i havent own 1 yet...but would love to have 1.... need some advise and any help that i could get from here.... might getting 1 in this 2 month...then could join u guys for tt...thats y i need some experience ppl in mini to guide me... still noob in this... :rolleyes:

Listing at L2TT.NET

Hi guys... I'm Ken from L2TT.NET... if you guys need special forum column for your club, at L2TT.NET.. we are offering it to your club for free. Let me know if you guys interested.

TQ
Ken
013-6767480

cchoi said:
Hi all,

Its been awhile since I posted. While my mini is starting to be in one piece from the building process, I was just wandering whether what will be the right rim size for a standard mini with no major modifications. Will it be a 12" or a 13" rim, and what are the pros and cons. Appreciate comments.

Cheers.........
cchoi..
how have u been? good question abt rim size..
12 inch means no need for wheel spacers..hence making it safer la...also rims are cheaper..hahaha...
13inch....if u can get a 13 X7..then no need spacers..and will look cool...but also..if ur engine is a 1.0..then lesser pick up la...depends if ur the power crazy type or not..hahaha...if its a 1.3 then no worries...
overall...13 inch needs spacers..means need fenders...means more cost la...
pros and cons...same as other cars...the bigger..the lesser the performance of speed....heavier too..but that depends on the weight of the rims...

well..hope i made some sense..been ages since ive been here...
and to my fellow Mini friends.. IM BACK!!! yea..Mini NOT sold..done some stuff to it...and Im back in the game...so Mini peeps!! Mini On dudes!! hahaha

Cheers..

Ash
(The Black Cooper Driver)

Ash,

Welcome back, and hope that ur fine all this while. Anyway thx a lot for the feedback and advise. Definitely will take this into consideration when choosing the rim size.

cheers......

Choi...
u're most welcome.. =)

Well to the others out there..if anyone was wondering what ive done...well
ive changed my engine to a 1.3 Rover engine...then done some other minor stuff to the
car also la...

will try make it for next TT..take care ya..

cheers..

Ash

1.3 engine for sale

ppl,
i hv a 1.3 engine for sale, complete with dizzy and carb. with front subframe too.

pls contact me for more details.

i see the forum has picked up some pace now.

ash,

welcome back! what engine did you have previously?

sureshn,

any more details? a series or a+ ? with gearbox? condition of the engine if u know.

cchoi,

depends for you are looking for, this is my 2 cents worth :

10 in - huge fun! good feed back and response. suspension is pretty much doing what it is supposed to. Drawbacks - discs brakes to fit under 10in hard to get and expensive, tyres are also hard to obtain - best tyres for 10in yoko A008!

12in - never had much experience - its a standard fit nowadays, so i guess it should be ok. no need to cut your body and also doesnt rub the inside of the wheel arch. tyres easier to obtain less hassle. 8.4in disc brakes fits under 12inch wheel and easy to obtain, so no worries about bad braking.

13in - good high speed grip but not as much fun as 10 in. Tyres can be obtained easily, but with very wide wheels like 13x7 or 8, needs hacking of the wheel arch to allow for tyres to turn in. You need arches to cover those wheels, if not during rain a lot of water will be picked up by the tyres and cause the side of your car to be dirty very fast. Rover's sportpack option which came with 13in wheels, had a different steering rack as well, to avoid the wheel rubbing the inner arch during full lock. The other advantage of using 13in wheels is that when you go over speed humps, not much scrapping of the undercarriage. With the correct offset wheels spacers are usually not required.

fastclubman

fastclubman,

very detail feedback. definitely the infor is very useful for me. Make me more knowledgeable when I make a decison for the rims.

cheers.......

hi bro....gotta ask all sifu's something....

besides Sing Tong Bee at jln pudu..where else can find mini parts? im looking for 13'x7' sport rim la....n Borla carbon fibre muffler as well

any good places?

good to see this forum moving faster...

skinny boy,
if u were into a mini, you must know what is your budget first, then u want performance or restore ur car back to original... spend RM20+ refer to MINI world or some others mini mag before u make any decision will be useful for u.

kenlevin86,
thanks for offering, anyway, we had another forum in revsaints already.

ashnaz,
welcome back, nice to hear u keep on with ya mini. saw your car once during the drifting in sunway extreme park.

cchoi,
gues wat in my mind fastclubman already explain very detail to u :) for me 12" will be ok. 13 look more nicer but budget higher and more work on it. Anyway, im using 10".

fastclubman,
How things going? how is your special toy? fit in ya mini already?

sureshn,
wat is the engine series? just the engine? come with any others parts? y not fit it to mokey? i got frens may interested on it.

hey bro..how comes no response for my post?

let's me introduce myself 1st..i has a mini....1.3i engine....leather seat..wealnut dash...airbag steering...n now looking for 13 x 7" rim n borla carbon ekzos( in mini magazine selling)....any ideas for rim?

skyline,

its installed, but havent tried it yet. I am away for an overseas trip beginning next week and will not be around for a couple of weeks. I hope after that I will be able to try it out.

huakenny,

in your other post, that rim is sports pack option rims. It is made by speedline and is quite hard to get. You can buy it new from Sin Tong Bee and i think its around 3k+. Are you sure the carbon exhaust is made from borla, i think Playmini has been offering carbon fiber rear can for a while now. Alternatively I saw someone selling race craft carbon fiber muffler on the zth for sale thread, maybe you can try ur luck with him or even with race craft.

fastclubman

fastclubman said:
skyline,

its installed, but havent tried it yet. I am away for an overseas trip beginning next week and will not be around for a couple of weeks. I hope after that I will be able to try it out.

huakenny,

in your other post, that rim is sports pack option rims. It is made by speedline and is quite hard to get. You can buy it new from Sin Tong Bee and i think its around 3k+. Are you sure the carbon exhaust is made from borla, i think Playmini has been offering carbon fiber rear can for a while now. Alternatively I saw someone selling race craft carbon fiber muffler on the zth for sale thread, maybe you can try ur luck with him or even with race craft.

fastclubman

sing tong bee tiada la boss.......

race craft? got meh? where is he?

Ash/Fastmanclub/Skyline,

Thx for the feedback and advise on the rims. Next item is the two front seat. I need to change it, the original one in the mini is very old and worn out, not in seating condition. In this case, do you buy a new set of two of just go lookout for some good 2nd hand ones. Where will be a good place to go for the seats.

cheers.......

restore ya seats

heya Choi....restore ya seats la...thats what alot of us do....well as for me..
my first set were restored..then i sold them off as i got my hands on a
1996 Sports Pack Edition half leather half fabric from Japan...almost new condition..
heheheh...i was lucky la..

but yea..my opinion is..if u still want the original mini seats...then of cos la..restore them.
but if u want new bucket or sports seats..u can use MX5 seats..Recaro..Scuss..etc etc..
but legs have to be modded...

ok..alittle blur right now so facts not too good..sorry....i just came home from a drive in my Mini...hahha..

cheers..

Ash

cchoi,
if u can get 2nd hand recaro or levin or etc....and restore it also will be a good idea...