ZTH MINI Club!

• Thread starter skyline86
  • Start date
  • Replies 3K
  • Views 267K
hans,

kent UK doesnt sell them (276 SP) off the shelf. I wouldnt trust STB too much! Even if you check David Vizard's book, SP cams are not recommended for durations of less than 300 degrees. Have you used one before?

for the moment, i have no problem, but I am not sure when I will be travelling next. Sounds like fun! What test drive? I willing to put my name for that one too, but as i said earlier, it all depends on my meetings and visits!

fastclubman

Thanks a lot Hans and Fastclubman for the reply on cams :) I'm driving standard '78 Clubman 1000, just thinking of adding a bit more power to it. Last time was quoted about rm1500 for the cam plus installation (think it was the 272 type). I'm also thinking of upgrading my 4G15, so must decide which one to proceed first as I have other commitments as well :(

Enjoy your Minis :ph34r:

4g15,

If i were you, i would start with the basics, like freer flowing exhaust, filters and a better head flowing head. After all this only then u should concentrate on changing to a performance camshaft.

You will not find much improvement if u just dropped in the cam without doing any other engine work. It all needs to complement each other. Also a 270/2 on a 998 will be more lumpy compared to a 1275.

just my 2 cents

fastclubman

Thanks Fastclubman for the reply. Agreed that a 1275 will be more responsive but I already have a good 998 at hand. I have already changed the whole exhaust system, use a drop-in K&N filter and port&polish the head. The response is good enough at mid-high rpm, no doubt it can go beyond the 140km/h speedo limit. I guess I just want to feel more pulling power at the low-end .. hehe or I can just plonk in a 4G93T or evo in my wira :D The money spent on the Mini could have transformed my Wira into a monster :unsure:

Anyway at the moment I'm just trying to enjoy its troublefree period .. :) hope it will last long enough to gather the fund for the next stage :lol:

Enjoy your Minis .. ;)

Fastclubman- I've used 276SP before in my 11stud engine. Sold everything except the head.Good pick-up at 1,500RPM-6,000RPM Not at above 6,000RPM. Unless it comes with 5 speed gearbox.

4G15- My experience playing with MINI for 15 years, don't over spent doing up u're MINI engine. How much $$$$$ you put into it, it still comes with 3 main bearings. That's the fact lah bro. Can't high rev as 5 main bearing engines does. This is my opinion. Good luck.

Hans

We know that the mini has got 3 main bearings.
What have you got to say about Farid's mini that won champion in class A and second overall for class A,B & O in 2004 Classic car race at sepang.
In order to achieve 2nd overall the car must finish consistantly for the six rounds with free practice rounds, qualifying rounds, race 1= 12 laps & race 2=12 laps per round x 6 rounds and i can assure you qualifying and races the car will rev up to at least 8000rpm for the 1st 3 gears and most likely fourth gear as well. Currently the car still runs on the same main bearings for this 2005 season.
Cheers

hey guys..

how ya doin i just got word frm the board ...of REV SAINTS
we now have an MINI SECTION just for us...
pls support them ...and its also to pull in more mini enthusiats...
so do REGISTER n there n POST there too...
frm now on...thank u lol :D

www.revsaints.tk

Hans

What have you got to say about Farid's mini that won champion in class A and second overall for class A,B & O in 2004 Classic car race at sepang.
In order to achieve 2nd overall the car must finish consistantly for the six rounds with free practice rounds, qualifying rounds, race 1= 12 laps & race 2=12 laps per round x 6 rounds and i can assure you qualifying and races the car will rev up to at least 8000rpm for the 1st 3 gears and most likely fourth gear as well. Currently the car still runs on the same main bearings for this 2005 season.
Cheers

ATTENTION GUYS!!!

hey guys..

frm now on...thank u lol

www.revsaints.tk

Hans

Cheers

Hans

Cheers

Hans

Cheers

ATTENTION GUYS!!!

hey guys..

frm now on...thank u lol

www.revsaints.tk

minicooper- As you know, only Hj Farid's MINI engine can sustain/won every races in his class until now. No others.You know why? Not because of the main bearing. It's because of $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$.................

The way Hj Farid spend on his car, no body can follow, right? How many times his engine had blown-up. Even the last race, his cooper s rockers broke into 2. He bought a new sets of 1.5 high lift roller bearing rockers just for that race on the same day!

That is why MINI racers swap to V-tec's. Less trouble even in high RPM. Unless u are super rich.

Cheers!

https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif alt='laugh.gif' /> hey you mini freaks out there , i got an question to ask... what the hell is the advantage and dis of using adjustables in ur mini... thinkin of buying koni adjustables , but expensive la ...

Hans

You are correct to say that Haji Farid broke the rocker, that's why he has upgraded to higher lift roller rockers. but please bear in mind that has got nothing to do with the 3 main bearing etc... that you have mentioned. But if you want to race in class A thats the way in a mini.

Please bear in mind the Class C non-original engine is only introduce and this class might be taken away once if there a full grid of Class A,B & O. Than how the vtec minis going to compete against which class? Super Cars?

Arab is also doing a great job by entering his mini with original engine in class A. Let's wish him all the best, and also to jasmie 2.0 vtec mini in Class C

minicooper-ya! basically u're right. But only with proper balance racing spec only it may last long. Easily RM20K for a full balanced race engine bought from top supplier in the UK.All the best to you, Arab & Iwan for this season race. Good Luck!