ZTH MINI Club!

• Thread starter skyline86
  • Start date
  • Replies 3K
  • Views 266K
skyline,
very early in the morning postings! cant sleep?

as for the jamming brake: i dont know much about servos but i would check the return springs in the affected drum. the springs hold down the brake pads and allow the pads to return to its normal resting place, hence pushing the pistons back into the pump cylinders. maybe, they hv lost their 'strength'/tension. not sure what else it could be.

and there should be two slave pumps in each front drum. is only one pump getting stuck or both?

from my limited knowledge: black smoke - mixture too rich. excessive fuel being burned. will need to adjust the carb to get good air-fuel mixture. look at spark plugs - black: rich, brownish: good, oily: engine oil leaking into combustion chamber.

white smoke: early morning only and disappears when engine is warm - condensation n not a problem. white smoke all the time - engine oil leaking into combustion chamber and being burned with fuel. possible problems: piston rings, valve seals, ...

moke! i didnt know they were once categorised as 'jeep'! erm ... now, that'll be an interesting grant to find! so skyline, what's happening to your dad's moke?

yea...early mornin have to read essays...
what la u ppl...hahahhaha
:P just kidding...kinda shocked with the postings... so much ahhahaaa
first u guys go missing for a few days then poof a whole lotta postings all at once...

skyline..drifting sounds good hehehee...hope it doesnt spoil my car though hahahahaa... :P

anyways black smoke... i have it tooo hahahahahhaa... :P

im keeping ya to ur word skyline hehehee...before 5th feb LOL

Hey you guys and gals

This mini forum is still very much alive and kicking. Credit goes to you gals and guys .

Skylne86
Why ah you still looking for MOKE ah.Your dad has got one not enough ah?

Sureshn
Oh yoh You also looking for another Moke ah? One moke enough mah, might be a Mini Pick up(Jeep?)

Twistedangel
Keep up the sprit of of but i luv me MINI. You know something when i was in Hong Kong I met up with the President of Hong Kong Mini Fan Club and her name is Shirley Chan. How about you Twistedangel. interested to spend some of your time to do charitable work for the mini club.

Cheers

hehehehe heyya mini cooper...
anything for my MINI club man...
np hehehehee :D

i really luv my MINI hehehee..

suresh,
yaya, think of MOKE, haha... anyway, shouldnt the spring wont be spoilt? i know spring can last very very long, im not sure which pump getting stuck as couldnt take out the drum when it stuck, but it shouldn be stuck as it is new one... i ve try ask alot ppl, they r no ideas about break jaming also....

twist,
where got essay in the morning, just Mini project abstract, haha, normal drift can, but my car cant go for power drift as my mounting not strong enough, atmost just can drift U-turn for fun... u going uk for 3rd year? wat Uni n wat course?

minicooper,
however MOKE is still a fun car, even it can go fast, may be when i got budget ill make it join JEEP team go to expedition in the future, haha... anyway, my dad one is just decoration for my house, which not in running condition..

muahahahaa... essay la for me hehehe early mornin summore
hahaha eyes all sore...coz of u muahahaha but its okie.. :D

yea goin for 2 yrs...this year will be my first year there as a 2nd year student... :D

goin for culinary arts management...ive got a diploma in pro chef training already... :D

skyline,
i went to taman seri sentosa today, looking for d 2 mokes u wrote about. the red one ... the owner has really modified the body, like u said. the side curves are sexy! and the back has been lengthened. it sits very low too! the green one has a collapsible windscreen - i had never seen that before. i assume that must be mark 1 english rather than australian. what was odd - the dashboard is a complete set from Kancil! both hv been there for over a year, apparently.

jamming brakes - i cant think of anything else to fault but the spring. perhaps the spring has broken inside the drum. the hooks on the springs are strong but over time, esp with corrosive brake fluid, they may have weaken. as for the drums being stuck, 'cham sama dia' as my mechanic would say! a crowbar, wd40, a hammer and lots of shouts of 'bloody hell's should do the job!

n dont let ur dad's moke rot away n go to waste. find it a good home - like mine! ;) as for the tally of mokes in malaysia, i saw 4 in Sitiawan. 1 of it has a galvanised body which the owner had imported from Australia.

minicooper,
yeah, a mini pickup would be great to work on as the next project. going off to PD tomorrow to track down the 1 u told me about. there's one in sg. petani but the middleman is asking way too much.

suresh,
as u said the 2 MOKE there realy boleh tahan, esp the red one, back light still got some mod... and it has been there for some time, dono wat the owner think of.. mayb they plan to sell off? haha... the brake actualy drum already out, as i help my fren to release the fluid from the place where release air, then use kayu cham it out already, the spring is ok, and pump also new, just wondering why... probaly is the servo problem, may be it presure the fluid then the air presure jam inside? no ideas about it..... mini original problem..

twist,
good to be a chef in uk, may look for a job in restaurant if u got kangtao there,haha..

is the mini pickup in white color that stated in sg.petani belong to a person call Mr. Lee? if yes i use to almost deal with him, but at last i give up as it not worth, asking 19k that time, after that i found he is actualy a old car trader, should b a rich guy coz he own alot of nice antic car... anyway, sg.petani is really a good place to hunt for antic cars....

somefella,
u mean the needle in SU lack of oil then coz the black smoke?

anyway, guys check this out,
finaly the cabriot cooper S 6 speed come in malaysia already.... cheers !!

http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles/0/article_152/page_m.asp

ummm yea... wats kangtao???
muahahaa....
my mini has been running rich hahaha for quite a while now... :P

skyline,
yup, we are talking about the same pickup in sg. petani. i also gave up, considering the condition of the vehicle n the asking price.

somefella,

blacksome usually its the mixture which is not correct - ie too much fuel instead of air. Could also be a problem if the needle used is incorrect for the mods that you have done or the lack of it.

sureshn,

i see ur moke is up and running now! must be having a big grin everytime u go on it!! The only pickup i have seen is Uncle Charlie's one in PJ. Really good condition.

angel,

yours is an injection model rite? Black smoke on injection engines is very common, many possible reasons for this. From harness, to ecu to a simple sensor. Most of the cases its just the sensor (i cant remember the name now) but half of the cases which i know the ecu or the harness was replaceed because of the incompetence of the mechs.

Anyway, my car is still not out. I have been given a date of 17th January, so I hope it comes out then. Cant wait anylonger, cannot tahan!

have a good day ppl!

minicooper - how are things on ur end? any performance part up for sale taht you heard of?

fastclubman

yea injection engine...
so how do i get rid of the black smoke then?? muahahaha...
sorry for asking... but ive cleaned the air filter now at least the smoke isnt that bad..but its still there...not when im idle though...

skyline i saw that link u gave me...
hahahaha.. there's only one thing there is to say...
damn i luv mini's ...muahahahhaa :D :P

fastclubman,
yup, yup, yup! smiling all the way! best smile though was on my mom's face when i took her around Ampang on new year's day, with 4 of her grandchildren.

all 4 cylinders r firing beautifully n it really goes!

biggest problem: cats hv adopted the car as their siesta place!
the other problem (well, not really): kids and their parents jumping in for a 'taste' while the car is parked in town. i dont mind this, actually. the car makes them smile, which is great to see!

ur clubman was supposed to be ready before xmas, right? i know the frustration of waiting for the day all too well. my moke took 2 1/2 very frustrating yrs. has the short-shifter gone in? i'd like to see how it works. hopefully, d 17th works out.

guys, any trustworthy and reliable mechanic to recommend for engine transplant in Klang Valley?

ahhh check the previous posts...
there are lists or mini workshops around klang valley...
the best bet..is to ask mini cooper... :D

checked but no contact info, can someone gimme direction to "rosli - shell puchong"? thks