ZTH MINI Club!

• Thread starter skyline86
  • Start date
  • Replies 3K
  • Views 266K
the previous post has "1) Rosli Jaffar Workshop - Subang Jaya" & "9) Rosli - Shell Puchong" . Puchong is nearer for me...

errr, r they the same rosli?

Hi all,

You guys are really MINI kakis. Really admir ethe knowledge that your have on the MINIs. I will join your forum more regularly once I manage to buy a good running condition one and start building it up. Any recommendation, am willing to fork out between 6k-10k if it is the right car. Have been shopping around. Cherrio........

welcome, cchoi.

my 2 cents would be to get someone who knows minis to check your intended purchase out or recommend one. i hv come across many would-be mini fans who after a while get frustrated to the point of swearing off minis. they buy a poorly maintained one and then get bogged down with repairs and breakdowns. you should buy one that would allow you to enjoy driving it, and that would make you stay loyal to it! ;)

i hear skyline wants to sell his mini. try pm him.

n dont forget to say hi to twistedangel, who minicooper is pushing for the presidency of zth mini club! i am in full support!

sureshn,

thx for the tips, i will not be in a hurry to buy one. maybe one of you can offer some help. i just found someone that posted in the net a mini cooper mk1 for sale asking for 9k. have not been using it and lying in his house. got to go and see the condition.

hi twistedangel, heard that ur going to london 4 ur studies in feb. all the best and london is a nice place but bloody expensive !!

hehehe...hey cchoi..nice to meet ya...
yea im goin to london leaving my darlin mini behind...
just when he's all done up..... :D

presidencacy of mini club to me???
hehehe are u guys sure ....?? LOL :P :P
i dont think mini cooper meant that...did u now? :P

btw cchoi...
where are u based...? in selangor i presume?
are u lookin to do up a mini? or buy a ready condition one?
of course we all would recommantd to do one up...takes a lot of effort and hard work and dedication but its worth the while... :D n thats the fun in it... :D n seeing it progress :)

twistedangel,

I stay in Ampang area. My wish is to buy one that is reasonably OK, ie running condition and get someone to build it up. Totally agreed with you that it will be more fun and you are dedicated to make the MINI as beautiful as possible.

cchoi,

welcome to our lil club. Agreed with sureshn, get a car which is decent so that you enjoy the addiction and pleasure of having a mini for a while. The newer rover minis are less of hassle compared to the older one purely because of the age. I am saying this only for items like chasis, subframe, susp components, electrical harness and so on. This does not include the injection setup though. If it works well then u are lucky and enjoy it, but if its not working that well, best to dump the injection and run a carb on it. Its an easier solution as expertise on the Rover MEMS system are not easily found. More ppl/mechs have better experience with carbs, although tuning SU carbs is skill by itself.

Anyway, dont let all this spoil ur mini owning dreams, get one and enjoy the 'little' wonder just like many of us do!

angel,

i think can wat become president! if there is a convoy ur car can be the lead car! waht say u! hehhehee

sureshn,

my car, well i really dont have much hope that it will come out by the 17th. I was hoping so much that it does, but there is still 11 days for a miracle to happen :). The main concern is the wiring, which is still being sorted. As this is a custom loom (contact breakers, hidden wiring and etc) now, there are headaches assorted to it I guess. Just hope that all goes on smoothly. Currently the air-cond is being fitted too and just realized i got to change the crank pulley to accept the double belts. And the crank pulley was dynamically balanced along with the crank, flywheel, clutch assembly and fittings! so changing the crank pulley is just going to upset everything! oh darn it! Quick shift still not installed. Just got a fuel pressure regulator with filter. Apparently it supplements the Weber carb quite well. I have got to wait and see about this though.

minicooper,

when is the next mss? No i am not planning to join, but just wanna come and watch the race? there are quite a number of classic mini's in HK isnt it. There was one always parked in front of my company's HK office. With period roof rack and minilites. Quite nice. Maybe the next time i go there you can let me know who to meet up!

cchoi..
good choice..if u really got loads of time on ur hands..actually malacca is a good place to shop for mini's hehehe thats where i got my mine from..also coz my uncle is a member in the malacca mini asc. so he had contacts...over here im not in tune only knoe location of the chop shops...or where to buy a recondition mini..one thats done up too rosli jaffar..

twistedangel,

where is the place in melaka that I can go for the look out. will give it a shot. also where is rosli jaffar place loacted........ n this is starting to get interesting even when buying a MINI. I can sense the excitement when it is being build...... :rolleyes:

cchoi,
welcome to join this lil club, hope u can sense the excitement while mini is building up and not the frustrated while waiting ... anyway, if u dont mind distance, penang is a good place to hunt mini as well, u can see alots of minis around town, cities... anyhow, if real mini cooper mk1 with all the original documents and grant and good condition, for me 9k can be consider coz i like MK1 body and the 3rd quarter mirrow :rolleyes:

twist,
that picture in the links looks cool, may be can have one and drive in london?? haha, the whether here will skrew up the cabriot beside at night only, haha.. :lol:

seresh,
yes im plan to sell one of my mini, wana use the money to build up MOKE, when i grad the MOKE will be done then i wont fel the frastration, haha. anyway, i need to change some parts of the car like universal join those stuff so that it can be sell in driftable condition, haha... btw, u from pj?

fastclub,
think the black smoke from my car i found just mixture not ngam, tuning too low, air too much, when i put more gas in the black smoke gone... thx for the infos anyway... :ph34r:

pow,
i dono there is a rosli in puchong?? maybe u can try taman seri sentosa, there is a mechanic there which i feel not bad, but for the injection stuff, they might not be suitable as they dont have the machine to check ECU stuff....

cchoi...directions for rosli jaffar...well if ur in subang gimme a ring...ill take u there myself...or better yet get ashnaz to take u there...he is very familiar there...u will get good service with him around...

malacca...contact the mini asc. in mallaca...ill get for u some contact as fast as i can okie? :)

skyline...hehehe yea man totally...that would be awesome... i can already feel the rush just thinking bout it...sends shivers down my spine...LOL l:D

GUYS AN UPDATE .....frm drift.com

Hi guys, i'm thinking of organising a 'slow mo' drift event for front wheel drive cars in January 2005 with trophies to be given away. classes: 'S' (kancil, kenari etc..) 'M' (satria, swift, civic etc..) 'L' (wira, putra etc..) 'XL' (perdana, accord etc..) and also a class for ladies (open). The course will be similar to that of an autokhana but without any reversing and drivers will have to 'drift' around the cones . The surface will be sandy/loose tarmac and points will be awarded to the most 'gaya-ful' drivers . Entry fee is RM 50 for 1 practise + four judged runs.

Venue: either shah alam or bukit jalil stadium carpark. I'm a rally man, so to me there's no subsitute to the real thing . But i feel if we work to combine the elements of rally driving and drifting in an event such as this, it should be fun. I want to encourage regular joe's with regular cars who have irregular skills to come forward and make yourselves known. Also, i've arranged for press coverage so encourage your local work/tyre shops to sponsor u so that in the future we can run the even on a bigger scale .

The judges will be 3 of Malaysia's fwd rally stars. So tell me what u think ? if there's enough interest, i'll go ahead and organise the event. If not, we'll just have to watch the RWD boys have fun. If you'd like further clarification on what i'm talking about, feel free to gimme a buzz at 012-2123260.

-Thanks-

regards,
Jeet

*malaysian rally championship (MRC) organiser/senior official and malaysian rally enthusiasts club (M-REC) founder*

Since i intend to make this event 'user-friendly', I have already suggested that u guys, the competitors, come up with track layouts and we'll decide on which one to use. What the hell, we may even use 6 different layouts throughout the day!

Another idea i've come up with is to have sub-categories. this is due to the fact that i have received some entries from ipoh and penang and while i know they just wanna have fun, i think it's only fair that i make it worth their while. here's my 2 cents worth..

Example: the penang guys have their group called 'TBS'. so if the guys from TBS (minimum 3 entries) were to pool their resources or find a sponsor, they can prepare their own trophies/gifts/hampers/animals/women etc. to be given away. Therefore, there'll be a TBS only category added to the exsisting ones for them to compete in (u still with me on this? ) other examples will include, say..car clubs. V6ers can compete in the XL class along with their own 'V6ers challenge trophy' Still confused ? think of it as an 'event within an event'. ok, say u wanna challenge your next door neighbours...so the 3 of u buy apples for prizes (suggestion only, pls don't offer silly prizes...coz those are reserved for the 'clown of the day' ) and then u compete against eachother and see who comes in 1st, 2nd and 3rd. If u don't have a name for your group, u can always use the infamous one from an 80's malay movie. Tha biker gang in the film were known as the 'kumpulan gagak hitam'! haha..

A really smart thing to do will be to find a sponsor for your sub-category like say 'nasi kandar penang'. 3rd prize: roti canai. 2nd prize: roti sardine. 1st prize: The mamak's daughter (or son, if you're gay!)

So what do u think? feedback pls. Once again, thanks for all your support.

guys...somfella is organizing this...
n im helping out...

i was suppose to be in the event to competing... :P

so he is even willing to open a mini class just for us...
since im organizing... come on guys lets show what our mini's can do....
:) mini cooper??? hehehehee ...win this for us will ya ? :D

hehehhee ....anyway show some support guys...:D be there or be square....