Your Idea of Improved Waja

I think they are dropping the wira and saga by next year and launch a sedan variant of the Gen2 or maybe a savvy with a boot (maybe)

I think they try too hard to be original sometimes, especially with the interior bits. Exterior wise, I can live with what they have currently, but for me, the interior is very important, as thats where I will spend the majority of my time with the car.

Copy the market leaders, basically do what the others are doing.. There is no such thing as 100% "original" design today. Someone has already done something out there, its just how all the elements are brought together to make a complete package.
If a new proton comes out with a "Toyota" type interior, I dont think any prospective proton buyer is going to complain.

ERGONOMICS.. very important. The Satria Neo, once you've adjusted your driving position, its very difficult to get to the doorlocks, seatbelt, and power window buttons. Steering wheel design is irritating, just go with a regular steering wheel with a rounded grip rather than the current "squarish" grip. Seat design in the current waja and gen.2 lacks underthigh support. Savvy and Neo seats are a step in the right direction. In general, their seats are too high as well.

STORAGE... the trend today is storage. people want lots of places to store their things. Proton's minimalist lotus influenced design is great for a lotus sports car, but its not good enough for everyday cars, especially family cars like the waja.

Most importantly, KISS (keep it simple stu***)

proton had a chance to improve by joining hands with VW..but noooo..they are way to clever to do that...

ehaab said:
proton had a chance to improve by joining hands with VW..but noooo..they are way to clever to do that...

proton should demolish their R&D staff, design studio as well styling centre.

then employ ZTH members in such departments or take us as consultants.

how about that??

zan said:
proton should demolish their R&D staff, design studio as well styling centre.

then employ ZTH members in such departments or take us as consultants.

how about that??

Im with you man! :)

Now, when can we start?

Gary is right. Trying too hard to be original. sometimes people take the "daring to change" a wee bit too far.

Like basic ergonomics could be better.

Basic fundementals should be retained.. change the design/look (to a functional one not just for "style" sake) but not the function.

Parts sharing of items that work.... witness mazda for example. I sat in all Mazdas at KLIMS. They all share the same seat height adj. mech and the same door interior handles/lever. And they all work fine

And yes Silverfish, you're right. Product overlap doesn't help either..

BACK to topic

I have a pre-CAMPRO waja. Fuel consumption is great. Space is not an issue. Ride is acceptable to the point of being fun for all conditions.

Apart from the idiotic power window buttons shape, and really shite rear view, car is fine.

Design wise it's "chisseled" box shape is ok-ish if a bit dated. It's a family sedan after all. .. looks tonnes better than a Korean Sephia ....

si|verfish said:
Proton has serious problems with product placement. A lot of their OWN products compete/overlap with each other in terms of pricing and even in terms of target customers.

That sort of sums up Proton knew nothing about marketing nor manufacturing. . .

If i were given the task to refresh the Waja, i'd do nothing updating the Waja. I'll cut off Perdana production. Use Waja Chancellor and name it as a standard 2.0 V6 Waja, then I'll add sunroof, 4 airbags, (of course the DVD as well) and oh, with the longer wheelbase, I'll add a fridge.

Proton should have known earlier that the Chancellor would not sell at RM130k+ why not make it as a Waja and sell it at RM80k? It would definitely kill off Vios.

heck.. watching fifth gear, now really feel like proton is designed, and then build cheaply instead of being designed to be cheap. thats why when they make the chanselor its so blardy expensive cuz they dun wan to build it cheaply.. probably.. or maybe they wan pocket more income.

nothing can justify the RM80k increase for the selling price of Chancellor over Waja. The long wheelbase and the DVD player costs more than 2 Wajas? Not to say Proton idiotically claims that this car is rigid enough to not have an Airbag.... do they really take consumers as suckers? yeah,the car's rigid.... but are the passengers inside rigid enough to bang against the steering or console? damn you Proton...

faisal said:
Design wise it's "chisseled" box shape is ok-ish if a bit dated. It's a family sedan after all. .. looks tonnes better than a Korean Sephia ....

Yes it does look okay, but people dont want to buy a new car that looks completely the same as what their neighbour bought 5 years ago. So major facelifts to make it look as different as possible is important to keep your monthly sales from dropping. just look at honda who put an ugly rear end on its accord just for the sake of facelifting the car (but pls proton dont do that!)

Ingolstadt said:
nothing can justify the RM80k increase for the selling price of Chancellor over Waja. The long wheelbase and the DVD player costs more than 2 Wajas? Not to say Proton idiotically claims that this car is rigid enough to not have an Airbag.... do they really take consumers as suckers? yeah,the car's rigid.... but are the passengers inside rigid enough to bang against the steering or console? damn you Proton...

haha... those are the decisions by some ppl in proton who still thinks that the rakyat only schools until standard 6 (but obviously not all in proton thinks like that lar). Funnily satria 1.3 was offered with airbags last time but not for its most expensive car ever.

i would like to see

- smaller A-pillar impove viewing and improve safety.

- signal light and wiper switch at correct side as in MALAYSIA.

sam1741 said:
i would like to see

- smaller A-pillar impove viewing and improve safety.

- signal light and wiper switch at correct side as in MALAYSIA.
1) yes, i would like to see that... bad examples of thick pillar in new cars are myvi and NEO.... vr bad when u come to junctions... u cant really see other cars well....

2) lolz... this one its ok la... as long as when u get used to it, on which side also no problem....:regular_smile:

hahahaha thatz rite... i always want to bang sumone crossing the road because of thick pillar, lucky i never bang people till now... just nearly hit them... the pillar to thick not just person crossing the road but if small car such as kancil also cannot see, and itz dangerous at junction without traffic light...

last time VOLVO have come out with one 'safe' concept car
even the A pilar, is disign the way that looks like \/\/\/\/\/\ with glass in between, for the driver to look 'through' the a-pilar...

sam1741 said:
last time VOLVO have come out with one 'safe' concept car
even the A pilar, is disign the way that looks like \/\/\/\/\/\ with glass in between, for the driver to look 'through' the a-pilar...
yeah yeah... i remember that.... at that time, it was the first car that features so many safety measures..... that /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/ pillar was unique....:regular_smile:

hoping to c proton will produce waja R3 to the market(not from the d1grand- prix),limited edition with more powerfull engines...maybe with turbocharges,larger wheels,nice bodykit,with little bit carbon fibre stuff like the satria R3.........but it imposibble.

the front insert with satria neo head light but bigger and sharper
the rear light insert with subaru legacy rear light
car body stronger
change the boxy look at the back and front to more sharper design
the side make it some thing like evo8 design with more curve
interior more classy and spacious
frameless window
FR
2.0 and 2.4
tiptronic 6 speedgear
17-18" sport rim
price 70-90k

kelvio said:
the front insert with satria neo head light but bigger and sharper
the rear light insert with subaru legacy rear light
car body stronger
change the boxy look at the back and front to more sharper design
the side make it some thing like evo8 design with more curve
interior more classy and spacious
frameless window
FR
2.0 and 2.4
tiptronic 6 speedgear
17-18" sport rim
price 70-90k
hahaha . You wish. Most of the changes you suggest involve loadsa development and material cost.