See what others are reading now! Try Forums >
Current Activity
Home
Forums
Car Brands
Car Manufacturers
Toyota
Will LSD affect fuel consumption
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
<blockquote data-quote="t-la" data-source="post: 1063463344" data-attributes="member: 13106"><p>'most' lsd have shorter ratio? most also mean a lot. tell me one.</p><p>u wont suffer higher fc for long journey if u maintain average 3krpm, same goes to other car.</p><p>of course the speed is lower if u use bigger fin.drive (fd) and the bright side is u wont get speedtrap.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>a - yes its bolted/screw, not welded. ive never seen/heard someone welding their diff to the FD, i dunno about others.</p><p>"so means if u change diff unit with LSD type..most likely it comes with shorter final drive"...</p><p>exuse me, short mean what..4.1?? please explain 'shorter final drive'...bcos my layman term to describe FD is big or small. 4.3 is a baseline as we knew thats the stock supply for c52/56. </p><p>so big = >4.3 e.g 4.5-4.7-5.2 etc and small = 4.2,4.0,3.9 and so on....</p><p></p><p>b - i dont believe u. googling gbox spec for what as they normally didnt equipped with lsd while some does but it didnt change fd though. </p><p>people normally, change the differential unit only. FD is another different thing, unless it is welded together as u mention above. u can get a new set of kaaz lsd at some of the perf shop in here, and hey it didnt come with FD. if u swapped with other/different code of gbox (c52 starlet/c60) thats another story bcos they have different final gear ratio. </p><p></p><p>c - u dont need to change, just take out the old one and change the lsd unit...unless u have alot of different set of final gear. i believe the thread starter here refer to c56 ae111 gearbox...maybe its a different thing to RB's since u are the GTR pomen, or maybe it is defferent to other car/brand...or just like my friend satria since they have few different models and gearbox ratio. </p><p></p><p></p><p>yes, if u change to different gear ratio. if chnage the lsd unit only it wont affect the speed at all. c52 at 3k rpm normally travel at 92/95kmh. its normal to hit 120kmh at 4k.</p><p></p><p>"Will LSD affect fuel consumption" </p><p>- this is kinda silly question but also make sense. i believe that the owner 'tHrottle power' is concernd about his gripping power since he get more traction by his lsd but somehow more or less it will affect the fc. for the believers.....</p><p></p><p>"Tyres effect fuel efficiency</p><p></p><p>It is estimated that about 50% of tyres on the road are under inflated. Aside from increasing the rate of wear, this wastes fuel and decreased your fuel efficiency. Check your tyre pressures every fortnight. Worn tyres will also decrease fuel efficiency (and your safety!), so check the tread regularly. If you are replacing tyres then consider some of the newer 'Eco' tyres that are designed specifically to increase fuel efficiency.</p><p></p><p>Read more: Car - Fuel Efficiency</p><p>http://www.whatprice.co.uk"</p><p></p><p>one more thing, </p><p>im not an expert. i am oso not a qualified person to discuss this 'gearing-ratio' topic since i dont have any certificate in engineering. so, my statement here is totally crap. happy discussion.</p><p>peace.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="t-la, post: 1063463344, member: 13106"] 'most' lsd have shorter ratio? most also mean a lot. tell me one. u wont suffer higher fc for long journey if u maintain average 3krpm, same goes to other car. of course the speed is lower if u use bigger fin.drive (fd) and the bright side is u wont get speedtrap. a - yes its bolted/screw, not welded. ive never seen/heard someone welding their diff to the FD, i dunno about others. "so means if u change diff unit with LSD type..most likely it comes with shorter final drive"... exuse me, short mean what..4.1?? please explain 'shorter final drive'...bcos my layman term to describe FD is big or small. 4.3 is a baseline as we knew thats the stock supply for c52/56. so big = >4.3 e.g 4.5-4.7-5.2 etc and small = 4.2,4.0,3.9 and so on.... b - i dont believe u. googling gbox spec for what as they normally didnt equipped with lsd while some does but it didnt change fd though. people normally, change the differential unit only. FD is another different thing, unless it is welded together as u mention above. u can get a new set of kaaz lsd at some of the perf shop in here, and hey it didnt come with FD. if u swapped with other/different code of gbox (c52 starlet/c60) thats another story bcos they have different final gear ratio. c - u dont need to change, just take out the old one and change the lsd unit...unless u have alot of different set of final gear. i believe the thread starter here refer to c56 ae111 gearbox...maybe its a different thing to RB's since u are the GTR pomen, or maybe it is defferent to other car/brand...or just like my friend satria since they have few different models and gearbox ratio. yes, if u change to different gear ratio. if chnage the lsd unit only it wont affect the speed at all. c52 at 3k rpm normally travel at 92/95kmh. its normal to hit 120kmh at 4k. "Will LSD affect fuel consumption" - this is kinda silly question but also make sense. i believe that the owner 'tHrottle power' is concernd about his gripping power since he get more traction by his lsd but somehow more or less it will affect the fc. for the believers..... "Tyres effect fuel efficiency It is estimated that about 50% of tyres on the road are under inflated. Aside from increasing the rate of wear, this wastes fuel and decreased your fuel efficiency. Check your tyre pressures every fortnight. Worn tyres will also decrease fuel efficiency (and your safety!), so check the tread regularly. If you are replacing tyres then consider some of the newer 'Eco' tyres that are designed specifically to increase fuel efficiency. Read more: Car - Fuel Efficiency http://www.whatprice.co.uk" one more thing, im not an expert. i am oso not a qualified person to discuss this 'gearing-ratio' topic since i dont have any certificate in engineering. so, my statement here is totally crap. happy discussion. peace. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
The Marketplace Latest
2pcs only, original rare spec Rays Volk Racing CE28...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original rare Yokohama ADVAN Racing RZ 18x8.5jj...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original rare spec Rays Volk Racing CE28 16x7jj...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
Honda CITY 1.5 E (A)
Started by
PIstonHeads
Cars for sale
original BBS RE013 18x8jj offset +50 5H pcd 5x112...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original rare Yokohama ADVAN Racing RG3 18x8 18x8.5...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original Endless M4 S2 4pot 2pot brake caliper set...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original rare Yokohama ADVAN Racing RG2 17x8.5jj...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original rare WedsSport TC005 17x7jj offset +40 5H...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
Vifa Speakers Audison Amp
Started by
samuel118
ICE -In Car Entertainment
TT Session 11th March, Friday 2011
Dear MLOCrian,
There will be a TT Session held on this coming Friday, 11th March 2011 (Friday), KL. Please be prepared. For new member who has not registered, please download the form at...
RCA Sepang Track 'Night' 10/4/2010 6pm - 9pm
RCA Track Event Saturday 10th April 2010, 6-9pm
This time RCA is doing it a bit differently, with a...
Sonenscher Appointed Member of Malaysian Motorsports Council
Motorsport Asia’s CEO, David Sonenscher, was today appointed to the Malaysian Motorsports Council (MMC). The announcement was made during the media...
Recent Posts
Honda Malaysia Doubles Down on Hybrids: New CR-V Launches with Dual e:HEV...
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
BateriHub Reaches 200-Store Milestone, Becomes Malaysia’s Largest...
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
Been stalking for 3 years edy
Started by
dheepadarshan95
Introduction and Newbies
Recommendation: Turbocharger for 4B11 N.A engine
Started by
Mitevo7
Car Modification
2026 Vios HEV launched with Local Battery Assembly - UMW Toyota Motor