Why Proton New Car So many problems?

Thanks EvolutionZ

Im hoping by the time proton at thier best producing cars, my age still permits me to apply loan..hehehe...

1stly - the 8 years old proton provide u with transport
2ndly - its yr parent's hard earned money buying u that car, u should appreciate.
3rdly - do u maintain the car? with the kind of budget, what else to expect. at least you don have to walk to yr destination
4thly - since its an 8 years old car, it could be the condition of the car is already bad and not well maintained by the previous owner....

no one can help if you hates proton, hope you work hard and earn hard for a beautiful japs or conti cars.......maybe someday proton might come to your rescue...hope that day never come in you!
cheerz......

---------- Post added at 10:22 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:13 AM ----------

bro,
again i need to inform you that

- perodua is not technology transfer - its rebadging an existing japs model to our local model and mass produce it. but it turned out to be a great model and ppl likes it at a higher price compared to proton but still in an affordable segment compared to japs car. parts and maintenance definitely higher than proton....e.g a side mirror for myvi cost rm650.00 at svc ctr compared to proton at rm300 to rm400.00 u can get one.

do u know - mitsubishi interested in our persona & exora? they negotiating to bring over our model to japan and rebadge it as mitsubishi and sell it globally?

do u know - in return they given a condition to release their lancer GT for proton to re-badge and sell it locally?

do u know - proton tg malim plant is one of the world's most advance full robotic/automated plant and can produce more than 1 million vehicle a year if fully utilize and it can assemble any design any model of cars with some technical setup (which i am not able to explain in detail).

do u know - proton sold an average of 15000 units of cars per month, quality issue reduced tremendously and 5 years warranty with 175000km mileage...if got so many problem do u think proton still gives so long warranty?

anyway i got many more to list down but i think its enuf...one man's meat is another man's poison, you can HATE proton, but shoot with facts la......come on....don blindly shoot la.

no hard feelings k...cheerz

Proton Saga also last time starts with a rebadging from Lancer wot? Perodua is going the same track as Proton, but they managed to keep the quality up. While, proton, the longer they in the biz, the farkup they become.

There is no point having most advanced machine assembler etc, when you cannot control the incoming parts quality. One part today come 3mm, tomorrow come 5mm. Yet still they put inside the car. Today use high grade plastic, tomorrow use capalang plastic. This is proton.

Many people are still buying proton for various reasons,
1. They want a new car for that RM50K to spend. 50K can get u a decent 2nd hand jap car, but its a 2nd hand. Many people want to smell that new car smell.

2. Other jap car are expensive due to the ridiculous tax imposed on them.

3. Patriotism - those who buy Proton just because it is Made In Malaysia. Good, though, but for me quality and value comes first... If buy burger, sure Ramly Burger lah.. the best there is.. :biggrin:

1stly -

do u know - mitsubishi interested in our persona & exora? they negotiating to bring over our model to japan and rebadge it as mitsubishi and sell it globally?

do u know - in return they given a condition to release their lancer GT for proton to re-badge and sell it locally?

wow really ah bro?hopefully proton sell with 4wd model later can swap evo engine

http://www.proton.com/about_proton/history/index.php : 1983 Proton was incorporated.

http://www2.toyota.co.jp/en/history/: 1933 Toyoda Automobile Department is established.

http://www.conceptcarz.com/view/makehistory/35,0/Daihatsu_History.aspx : 1907Hatsudoki Seizo Co., Ltd. established

http://www.fundinguniverse.com/company-histories/Mitsubishi-Motors-Corporation-Company-History.html : Mitsubishi Shipbuilding Co. Ltd.begun manufacturing automobiles as early as 1917.

http://www.nissan-global.com/GCC/Japan/History/history/index-e.html : Nissan's automobile factory started in 1911.

Proton to re-visit Mitsubishi partnership? :
The Mitsubishi-Proton partnership was deemed a failure because of the lack of technology transfer.Doesnt mean spent alot the japs want to transfer technology.

So you think Proton paid RM10 only to Mitsubishi for the partnership? How much is a lot for you then?

i dont really like think this and that without any facts, about exact amount u can check with proton larr ,how the mechanisme of techno transfer and so on since im not proton person..im just their customer

my point is that, even though proton+mitsu already coperate for 20years,mitsu are not willing to transfer their technology to proton just like that...proton have to develop and built all their cars on their own,and this research & development process,really takes time,20 years is just 1/4 time of average japs car company being raised.like comparing kids age 8 and 2 years reading.it is a never ending process that need to be evaluate all the time...

now we can see proton already design own body,suspension,cps...step by step process..ive own 94 renault and comparing to 1985 saga whole lot better exept the body lar..

Well, I dono la.. but I went to Gen2 club forum all of them also still complain the Power Window.
And, recently saw the Exora in workshop.. ask him, he said the CPS trigger got problem causing jerky rpm... the owner told me, sent to Proton svc 3-4 times aldy, but they cannot solve.. so finally go to outside workshop.. this is brand new car sumore.. :banghead::banghead:

CPS system is a junk a lot problem have been files.

When your poor u buy proton when u rich did you still buy proton obviously not right?
So as i say before buy the car which have high customer satisfaction to prevent :banghead::banghead::banghead:

I have to agree that proton cars does lack in quality not only bodyparts n interrior.. but the latest models produced with the Campro engine would be a norm to see having it break down just after warranty period... even some b4 the warranty period..

however there are some models which are good n hv the least tendency of problems.. only usual wear n tear like the perdana V6 Models and the C99 1.8 range from wira,putra n gti..

even R3 division is now gone.. i think proton its just another 1 step forward n 2 steps back..

That is my point lo. Why Proton can make good quality Perdana cars... but Wira, Saga keta kebal and others seems being ignored? Doesnt matter about the price, quality of parts MUST BE HIGH and RELIABILITY MUST BE HIGH for all range of price of cars.

Ini, baru pakai 3 bulan, meter dah kong.. really kanasai... my experience owning a wira really make me regret kaw kaw spent RM16K for the dp of that car. I was also too young at the time, and dono any better that 2nd hand jap car are far better. Oh well.. hopes youngsters nowadays are more car-savvy than the old ones.

That is my point lo. Why Proton can make good quality Perdana cars... but Wira, Saga keta kebal and others seems being ignored? Doesnt matter about the price, quality of parts MUST BE HIGH and RELIABILITY MUST BE HIGH for all range of price of cars.

Ini, baru pakai 3 bulan, meter dah kong.. really kanasai... my experience owning a wira really make me regret kaw kaw spent RM16K for the dp of that car. I was also too young at the time, and dono any better that 2nd hand jap car are far better. Oh well.. hopes youngsters nowadays are more car-savvy than the old ones.

most young turks or ppl whos started working or low income do not have the luxury of choice.. to own a used car.. the interest rates is high n used toyota like vios, altis,civic ek, jazz, and city are qite expensive for rm40k and above.. other than that models like eg,ef, corolla se/seg mostly cant get car loan.. opting for personal loans is high on the interest rates... n not everyone likes to own a used car... so what choice does one hv for a new bargain car? a proton or perodua which fits most ppl pocket..

the perdana v6 model does have 1 weakness.. the gearbox problem and it does breakdown after some time of use.. but adding an oil cooler would solve the problem..

I have owned protons previously & now waiting for waja cps....my earlier models were iswara & wira...the iswara i only used for one year so i dont want comment....the wira 1.5 manual i used for 5 years....i would say it was really good..yes both side power windows snapped after 2 months..then after a year the fan motor spoiled...the oil sump gasket start leak after one year....the timing belt oils seals never last long...apart from these there were no other problems...im a high mileager...clocked 196,000 @ 5 yrs before i sold the car....there was not even one time the car broke down...or the radiator hose snapped or the engine oil finish or the water pump leaked or the alternator kong...none of these never ever happened...i guess i shd be lucky....but nevertheless some credit is to be given to proton lah...i think not bad lah...proton cars...that why i booked another proton but the waiting period sucks.....hehe

i guess me too would agree with simon,my dad using neo daily commuting from home to work.roughly 120km commuting everyday n clocked 140,000km since he bought the car 4 years back.never ever did he got any major problem,no break down on the side of road,only need to service it properly,change the tyres and that's it.didnt find any funny sound when driving,no regular "rosak" here, "rosak" there.even he bought the car which was inside the showroom coz dont want to wait.i think proton is quite ok la.im driving gen2 cps myself and no big issue with it at all.i dont know,maybe im lucky coz didnt have too much problem with the car yet. In the future, we might never know.hehehe..

cheers mate..

simon.. senbe..

i congratulate you for being lucky having a non problematic proton... n having patience with the deficiancy of proton cars and their services... i do agree there are worst cars exist in this world.. but for the price the consumer pays.. it should be a par with the Japanese margue.. at least quality isssue should hv been eradicated by this time.. its not yesterday they build cars..

so far im satisfied with my perdana, but i just have proton service centre,
their mechanics not much experience & their parts are blardi expensive,
japan parts from spare parts shops are much cheaper.

my Yr 97 old Satria power window spoil 2 times within 3 yrs.
this is because of large window glass from 2 doors car.
However, change to manual window, problem sloved. :biggrin:
Center lock, still remain stock even though 1 side of lock is weak.
Have to use key to manually open and lock if cannot fully open or lock.
Again, after question and asking, understand that those common items are related with design ( 2 doors car, wondow frame, glass and distance of center locking )
so, just leave it.
Engine wise, just go for regular service until hit 180k km.

i doubt the problem is the window alone... usually the rubber will spoilt... but honda makes hatchbacks too.. eg6, ek9 n equivalent models rarely seem to face such problem...

Mine 1 12 yrs old aeroback car...but some of the interior already spoil...like switch the aircond cool/normal 1 spoil..fuel meter keep up n down...like turbo meter...@@....tail lamp in water whn rain...haiz...

---------- Post added at 02:18 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:15 PM ----------

and 1 mor...i order d spare part frm proton service centre waiting period damn suxxx...order 1 month already...the proton servicer attitude also nt so good 1...

i drive my satria almost 10 years....ok and chum chum...
now i drive Neo...also chun chun... no problem

Arghhh...my waja wont start this morning.....

Battery fine..starter fine ( can hear a good crank sound ).
Wanna try to change the spark plug first...hopefully not something expensive like fuel pump, throttle body or alternator:nurse: