Why Proton New Car So many problems?

I say that, with all the facilities proton have nowdays, they can built a really good quality car. The question is...why it is not done yet?

I dont understand why proton seriously take a very long time to built they image. One thing for sure, i blame the top management of Proton.

Once proton able to export their car worldwide (not just certain countries due to some agreement) and Top Gear also praise Proton..(haha..will it ever happen)..then only Proton will gain full respect from me...Right now is only 65%..

tigger, u drove a proton saga rite? y u call that car stupid, as your parents gave it to u? y
are u so ungrateful? at that time during the mid 80's, the saga was the only affordable national car....

The old Saga actually is superb. Body keras, low FC. but the price is farkup, Before intro of proton, you can get Ford Escort for RM8K. brand new. with aircon!! :biggrin:

---------- Post added at 12:00 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:58 AM ----------

it is usual to all cars, for example, when the waja was lauched, it had so many problems, such as power window failure, door handle...dashboard rattling..etc...but proton worked hard to overcome that problem, till today the waja dont have that problems anymore....it happens to all newly launched cars...even the new 5 series beemer when lauched got problem ma...the door cant be closed properly....

LOL!.. no. In case of proton, after years of launching still have problem. Im refering to my Wira. bought is 2001. Wira launched years before that mah. But how come, the dashboard door always drop easily and hard to lock after just 3 months. then there is the meter problem, and engine die problem.

Only proton have this problem.

Perodua, Honda, Toyota etc etc, after 2 yrs max no more news of problem.. all is superb. So why lidat?
Tepuk dada tanya selera loh...:banghead::banghead:

don...it depends on luck as well.
so far my perdana since 97, till today not many major problems...
some minor problems could by DIY'ed.....

as mentioned by k_takuya, proton should blame their top mgmt level...

don...it depends on luck as well.
so far my perdana since 97, till today not many major problems...
some minor problems could by DIY'ed.....

as mentioned by k_takuya, proton should blame their top mgmt level...

Ha.. as u mention perdana, remind me of something. Perdana is a special car..
coz very less problem. My fren using it, my father also once used it... internal is very superb.
(in terms of the operation), meter never fails, dashboard door close nicely, etc...

This is what is weird, that the Perdana is able to achieve almost like Honda/toyota standard.
I guess Proton knows that Perdana will be used by PM/Menteris etc, thats why they have
special control of quality for it, otherwise will be kena cut fund or something...

they get kopi money edi from vendor u think they care?
those purchasing department ppl get a lot of diut kopi 1 leh

Hmm... this is the answer that makes most sense. I think Proton Engineer is good.
But problem is always with vendor parts quality.. i guess u are right in this.

However I have to disagree when u say "same thing every where". Like I said,
you wont see power window problem or small2 problem happen for Honda/Toyota/Nissan.
Only proton happens. Heck Perodua also dont have repetiting small2 problems.

u have to google other carmaker product recall.
japanese, american, european cars also have bad batch of items in car.
and they have product recall to rectify the problem.
so, what i mean here, not just proton, other car manufacturer also have defects.
even mitsubishi lancer (base of wira) have problems.
people always highlight proton coz many malaysian drive proton.
and also becoz proton vendors are like 'buat selamba je...'
but now, vendors who are not performing well will be terminated by proton.

one thing i think proton should do is, product recall and replace bad parts.
that way, i will respect la...

anyway, i think proton is heading towards a good direction now with new models, better quality than before and cheap cars.
eventhough it's moving a bit slow. (20 year old only maaa..)

ps: i'm not a proton staff, just frens with some people in proton..

duit kopi..duit kopi...... be it government or private sector... duit kopi is always there...

Be it anyone in the position.. who would want to reject duit kopi when it comes to millions...hehehe...

All comes back to personal morality values..

not personal morality la bro...in malaysia its call the 'thang'...my spore fren come over here just cant blif it...they drink n drive...pay rm 50 can liaw...they take pills...pay 100 can liaw....in spore drink drive go jail 2 weeks license gantung...wan bribe? sit another xtra 2 week

Proton car is budget car. least cost to produce or plus the duit copy to top management to cut alot of cost so they money can into their pocket. that why some of part of proton is inferior.
They never done so much on R&D that many model of proton exist and more than 10years for instance waja perdana and old saga (only with change with some new face lift).
so no complain lo. proton putra simply is just a re badge of the Mitsubishi mirage(so lower default rate).

In general higher price higher quality lower price lower quality(for any product phone computer and etc).

As for new proton saga blm gen2 persona,and neo, exora. proton definitely have perform better then before of the handling, quality, etc. They are improving.But for safety no comment, the construction of steel is still needed to improve.They never sent to NCAP test for saga blm gen2 persona,and neo, except exora 4star in ncap test no bad.

Some car had design flaw such as subaru gc8 gearbox 1st gear is too thin easy to break when the car is laugh frequently.even 2008 GTR the wrong design on the computer program on it SST gearbox and result the gearbox broke down.

But as the sometimes some of batch of the car production(some of part is manufacturing by outsourcing so if the outsourcing company did not produce well or had design problem and the car company which order did not check properly), had default for sure like Toyota hybrid car in US have recall back to change the part and so on. even few year back i bought toyota vios UMW also call back to change the car alarm system(no charge at all obviously they knowing is they fault). Even the new hatchback impreza in US the owner buy the car just about 2 month and mileage only 5000KM the engine broke down(bearing failure).

So nothing is right or wrong, to prevent :banghead::banghead:then we should buy the model of the car based on the the best of customer satisfaction, simple word it mean no need so many maintenance very few default and etc).

Its not the question of grateful or not we are discussing, its the quality built of Proton that makes everyone furious and unhappy. Ah well, even a noob-car-person knows Proton wouldnt last, I dont want to waste my energy debating this "very-common-knowledge-even-idiot-knows-Proton-built-poor-quality-cars" topic. I dislike Proton and I made my move, I earnt more money, bought better car, spent more on maintenance n have a happylife, rather than self-pitiful using cheap Proton n hopes spareparts are cheap when proton breaks down. I love to complain things that aint good enough, and I see what is good, I work my arse out to get the good things, NOT stuck in my own confort zone n keep driving proton thinking I can save alot with proton n spend my dough elsewhere. That's alot ppl thinking that way, but if u calculate the trouble Proton cars generates, u aint save no cent at all !

Just face it, Proton is a organization provides zillions of workers life to support their families, support msia's economy and they did a patriotic thing, but Im one of the rakyat just not patriotic enough to waste my hard earnt money buying something canot last and have ZERO star in safety ratings.

My 1cent (dont agree with me, plz dont shoot me)

duit kopi..duit kopi...... be it government or private sector... duit kopi is always there...

Be it anyone in the position.. who would want to reject duit kopi when it comes to millions...hehehe...

All comes back to personal morality values..

agree...

Proton car is budget car. least cost to produce or plus the duit copy to top management to cut alot of cost so they money can into their pocket. that why some of part of proton is inferior.
They never done so much on R&D that many model of proton exist and more than 10years for instance waja perdana and old saga (only with change with some new face lift).
so no complain lo. proton putra simply is just a re badge of the Mitsubishi mirage(so lower default rate).

In general higher price higher quality lower price lower quality(for any product phone computer and etc).

As for new proton saga blm gen2 persona,and neo, exora. proton definitely have perform better then before of the handling, quality, etc. They are improving.But for safety no comment, the construction of steel is still needed to improve.They never sent to NCAP test for saga blm gen2 persona,and neo, except exora 4star in ncap test no bad.

Some car had design flaw such as subaru gc8 gearbox 1st gear is too thin easy to break when the car is laugh frequently.even 2008 GTR the wrong design on the computer program on it SST gearbox and result the gearbox broke down.

But as the sometimes some of batch of the car production(some of part is manufacturing by outsourcing so if the outsourcing company did not produce well or had design problem and the car company which order did not check properly), had default for sure like Toyota hybrid car in US have recall back to change the part and so on. even few year back i bought toyota vios UMW also call back to change the car alarm system(no charge at all obviously they knowing is they fault). Even the new hatchback impreza in US the owner buy the car just about 2 month and mileage only 5000KM the engine broke down(bearing failure).

So nothing is right or wrong, to prevent :banghead::banghead:then we should buy the model of the car based on the the best of customer satisfaction, simple word it mean no need so many maintenance very few default and etc).

Well, I dono la.. but I went to Gen2 club forum all of them also still complain the Power Window.
And, recently saw the Exora in workshop.. ask him, he said the CPS trigger got problem causing jerky rpm... the owner told me, sent to Proton svc 3-4 times aldy, but they cannot solve.. so finally go to outside workshop.. this is brand new car sumore.. :banghead::banghead:

obviously proton is still young compared to well known japs motor company that already got more time in R&D.theres always room for improvement and hope proton management learn quickly.1st ppl will complain and keeep complaint.for short term ok la,but for long term its not good for proton,when customer experience bad things sure lari later..

my 2005 waja also till now prob with driver side window cant close properly,sent to proton edAR also like no improvement.then when stopping the steering got mild vibration,and this prob occcur since day 1.
lazy want to complaint oredi,no use..for sure if got more money dont want to buy proton anymore.yes other brand also got prob but not frequent like proton cases.perodua not bad,price also quite same like proton but why they can be better?maybe toyota/daihatsu got more shares in perodua-so more info,quality passes to their car,not like proton G got more share.so develop on their own sure takes time.but till when ?heard afta coming soon.

still remember proton sold mv agusta company that bought for multimillion rm just for rm1.later news show that the rm1 buyer sold the company for multimillion rm to third party,and the seller identity still undisclosed till now.
at the same time we knew proton coming up with better new model,they did the math,sell what ppl want.ppl want perfomance car they come up with previous putra,gti lately cps neo.ppl want mpv they built exora.

even gigantic nissan has to merge with renault to save the company.they bring ceo outside japan to run the company,carlos ghosn his name.

proton need to learn from this,if cant afford local ppl,find elsewhere larr.And i really dont understand why our G dont want to put proton and petronas together,so they can share technology.heard petronas doing bisnes with china car manufacturer coz they can get more sales over there.its ok la,but why so selfish one?at least petronas can pass the EO1w engine to proton and help boost the sport compact car segment market.came with lame engine then tightening the rules when ppl swaping to mitsu's halfcut.if cant built ori powerful engine , copycat lar like china did to their local car,but limits it only for domestic market...juz my little opini...hehe

but i guess pay wat u get/get wat u pay also ma...

obviously proton is still young compared to well known japs motor company that already got more time in R&D.theres always room for improvement and hope proton management learn quickly.1st ppl will complain and keeep complaint.for short term ok la,but for long term its not good for proton,when customer experience bad things sure lari later..

my 2005 waja also till now prob with driver side window cant close properly,sent to proton edAR also like no improvement.then when stopping the steering got mild vibration,and this prob occcur since day 1.
lazy want to complaint oredi,no use..for sure if got more money dont want to buy proton anymore.yes other brand also got prob but not frequent like proton cases.perodua not bad,price also quite same like proton but why they can be better?maybe toyota/daihatsu got more shares in perodua-so more info,quality passes to their car,not like proton G got more share.so develop on their own sure takes time.but till when ?heard afta coming soon.

still remember proton sold mv agusta company that bought for multimillion rm just for rm1.later news show that the rm1 buyer sold the company for multimillion rm to third party,and the seller identity still undisclosed till now.
at the same time we knew proton coming up with better new model,they did the math,sell what ppl want.ppl want perfomance car they come up with previous putra,gti lately cps neo.ppl want mpv they built exora.

even gigantic nissan has to merge with renault to save the company.they bring ceo outside japan to run the company,carlos ghosn his name.

proton need to learn from this,if cant afford local ppl,find elsewhere larr.And i really dont understand why our G dont want to put proton and petronas together,so they can share technology.heard petronas doing bisnes with china car manufacturer coz they can get more sales over there.its ok la,but why so selfish one?at least petronas can pass the EO1w engine to proton and help boost the sport compact car segment market.came with lame engine then tightening the rules when ppl swaping to mitsu's halfcut.if cant built ori powerful engine , copycat lar like china did to their local car,but limits it only for domestic market...juz my little opini...hehe

Your reason cannot be used la bro.
Last time, Proton spent a lot to learn from Mitsubishi and also recently from Lotus. They are even longer in the biz compare to Perodua. Perodua have wat? Only Toyota/Daihatsu. But still Perodua end up better.

The difference is, I think, the standards quality of parts.. Perodua controls their incoming parts more strictly, while Proton, maybe many "cincai lah" parts coming in.:banghead::banghead::banghead:

Last time, Proton spent a lot to learn from Mitsubishi and also recently from Lotus. They are even longer in the biz compare to Perodua. Perodua have wat? Only Toyota/Daihatsu. But still Perodua end up better.

The difference is, I think, the standards quality of parts.. Perodua controls their incoming parts more strictly, while Proton, maybe many "cincai lah" parts coming in.:banghead::banghead::banghead:

http://www.proton.com/about_proton/history/index.php : 1983 Proton was incorporated.

http://www2.toyota.co.jp/en/history/: 1933 Toyoda Automobile Department is established.

http://www.conceptcarz.com/view/makehistory/35,0/Daihatsu_History.aspx : 1907Hatsudoki Seizo Co., Ltd. established

http://www.fundinguniverse.com/company-histories/Mitsubishi-Motors-Corporation-Company-History.html : Mitsubishi Shipbuilding Co. Ltd.begun manufacturing automobiles as early as 1917.

http://www.nissan-global.com/GCC/Japan/History/history/index-e.html : Nissan's automobile factory started in 1911.

Proton to re-visit Mitsubishi partnership? :
The Mitsubishi-Proton partnership was deemed a failure because of the lack of technology transfer.Doesnt mean spent alot the japs want to transfer technology.

I used to drive a 8yrs old proton, and I sold it I dont even fcking miss it. Stupid car! Whenever I driving a proton, I hates it. I hate it breaks down frequently, all the stupid noises from EVERYWHERE, I feel parents been cheated their money into buying this patriotic car! All of sudden I hate proton so much!

Then I bought a 9yrs old jap car, no problem after driving for 2 years. Then recently I bought a Perodua car also 9 years, driving for 1 month also no problem.

How come Perodua quality can beat the hell outta Proton ? Hehe

1stly - the 8 years old proton provide u with transport
2ndly - its yr parent's hard earned money buying u that car, u should appreciate.
3rdly - do u maintain the car? with the kind of budget, what else to expect. at least you don have to walk to yr destination
4thly - since its an 8 years old car, it could be the condition of the car is already bad and not well maintained by the previous owner....

no one can help if you hates proton, hope you work hard and earn hard for a beautiful japs or conti cars.......maybe someday proton might come to your rescue...hope that day never come in you!
cheerz......

---------- Post added at 10:22 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:13 AM ----------

bro,
again i need to inform you that

- perodua is not technology transfer - its rebadging an existing japs model to our local model and mass produce it. but it turned out to be a great model and ppl likes it at a higher price compared to proton but still in an affordable segment compared to japs car. parts and maintenance definitely higher than proton....e.g a side mirror for myvi cost rm650.00 at svc ctr compared to proton at rm300 to rm400.00 u can get one.

do u know - mitsubishi interested in our persona & exora? they negotiating to bring over our model to japan and rebadge it as mitsubishi and sell it globally?

do u know - in return they given a condition to release their lancer GT for proton to re-badge and sell it locally?

do u know - proton tg malim plant is one of the world's most advance full robotic/automated plant and can produce more than 1 million vehicle a year if fully utilize and it can assemble any design any model of cars with some technical setup (which i am not able to explain in detail).

do u know - proton sold an average of 15000 units of cars per month, quality issue reduced tremendously and 5 years warranty with 175000km mileage...if got so many problem do u think proton still gives so long warranty?

anyway i got many more to list down but i think its enuf...one man's meat is another man's poison, you can HATE proton, but shoot with facts la......come on....don blindly shoot la.

no hard feelings k...cheerz