why no powerful wrx in sepang drag

pathfinder said:
fellow subaru guysjust wondering why no fast wrx in drag event....
is it complicated to mods&tune boxer engine?

in uk....wrxs are hot. in one event....a wrx reach top speed of 190mph in top speed test!
many running 10 & 11 secs for 400meter.

wish to see boxer in action in sepang

There was a GDB drag subaru in sepang last year, from Singapore. it was doing sub 11sec times. all black, massive drag tyres, slammed to the ground, and no rear spoiler.

wetsprocket said:
I know lah. The guy was insisting that ver.7 using TD04 so I had to make it clear that ver. 7 WRX using TD04 but ver.7 STi using VF30.

BTW some JDM ver.3 WRXs were fitted with VF22.
Hey Bro,

Are you implying me?

I was asking not insisting. Please reread my post. You seem to know your facts but you dont have to proove to the world that it owes you something.

Here, cut and paste for you again.

Originally Posted by Boink Boink
Ver 3 and above all IHI turbos?

hmmm well this book caome from soneone based in Aussie Land, and his notes were MY97 came with TD04s, one step smaller than its predecessor. Gear ratios were extended to improve driveability.

So is the My97 in aussie land - Version 7?

One more time -

Version 4,5,6,7,8 WRX = TD04

Version 7 STi = VF30 (which is IHI turbo)

The WRX and the STi are 2 different cars, using 2 different turbos. Your Aussie article was talking about a MY97 WRX (version 4/5), not STi.

I repeat - Version 7 STi has IHI turbo. Version 7 WRX has TD04.

I dunno about you, BUT, questions marks at the end of a sentence, meaining its a question, does not imply its insistance.

Driving Machine

Uhh Guys,

Don't mean to be rude , but the thread starter's question has been about why there's no Impreza in SIC Drag battle but you guys seem more concernered about what type of turbo's this model or that model has.

Does it really matter? When the creators of this car(s) set out to create one of the the fastest all-weather Point-to-Point car to be driven on this planet. The other being the Evo (whatever model)

Just an opinion of a car enthusiast. Pardon me if I'm being crass

Faisal's correct. So what if we dont see any WRX in sepang drag. They are rally/tarmac machines FYI.

thank u.

now i understand a little about impreza owners. they r kind of cool guys who enjoy tarmac/rally & prefer attacking corners. am i right?

actually same to evo. evo originally as tarmac&rally cars.. but the serious drag trend & culture started in USA more than 6 years ago with 4G63T VR4/evo....the trend well accepted by mitusbishi guys over here. many of powerful mitsubishi dragsters use USA sourced parts.

i have to stress...i don't mean to start "hot" topic. no mitsu vs subaru.no no. in UK ...subaru guys overthere just start trend of drag wrx, and they discover wrx is great machine for drag also...like mitsubishi.

as what u all said...from the beginning,UK imprezas drivers more to dirt & tarmac rally.only this year many involve seriously in drag. from what i read...wrx engine needs very skillfull mechanics/tuners with creative mind to turn the wrx into dragster. it's not as easy as evo/VR4.

i respect this one wrx in UK that manage to clock max speed at 190mph. i never heard evo reach that kind of speed. 190mph is real fast. im regular reader of UK publish Japanese Performance mags.

peace.

Boink Boink, please dont fly off the handle like that.

In post #4 you said that: "This is what I read for the Ver 7s fitted with TD04s".

In post #6 I clarified that: "v.7 WRX uses TD04, while v.7 STi uses VF30". Then, other members in post #10 & 11 also made clear that STi uses IHI and WRX uses TD04.

But in post #13 you repeated that ver.7 comes with TD04, this time with reference to an Aussie book in support of your statement. I dont know about you, but that's being insistent, regardless of whether you phrase it in question form or statement form.

You owe me an apology for your statement:
Boink Boink said:
you dont have to proove to the world that it owes you something.

Impreza first appeared in 1992 first WRX is version1...

1992-93 GC8Axxx - Version 1
wrx using TD05H, 240bhp
sti using TD05H also, 275bhp

1993-94 GC8Bxxx - Version 2
wrx using TD05H, 250bhp
sti using TD05H also, 275bhp

1994-96 GC8Cxxx - still version 2, improved
wrx using TD05H, 260bhp
sti using TD05H also, 275bhp, DCCD first appears in Type RA models

1996-97 GC8Dxxx - version 3 - impreza really starts to sell globally, many changes in engine configuration, but looks very much the same
wrx - TD04, 212 to 280bhp depending on spec and market
sti - IHI VFxx, 280bhp depending on spec and market

1997-98 GC8Exxx - version 4 - some minor improvements
same as above ver3 onwards

1998-99 GC8Fxxx - version 5 - more minor improvements

1999-00 GC8Gxxx - version 6 -more minor improvements

somewhere late 90s, 22B was born, wide body, 2 door, handbuilt, 2.2L, 400 made only, 280bhp with massive torque

late 2000 to 2002 GDA/GDB Bugeye is born
wrx - TD04, 212bhp to 280bhp depending on spec and market
sti - IHI VFxx, 280-320bhp depending on spec and market, 6 speed

2002-05 GDA/GDB Blobeye is born
sti - IHI VFxx, twin scroll turbo, 280-320bhp depending on spec and market 6 speed, no more subaru boxer burble sound

late 2005 - new look front facelift

there you have it...i am short of details of the new GD series models...have not done enuf research...

"2002-05 GDA/GDB Blobeye is born
sti - IHI VFxx, twin scroll turbo, 280-320bhp depending on spec and market 6 speed, no more subaru boxer burble sound"

andy......latest impreza no more boxer burble sound? what subaru have done? the boxer sound so nice...

in the pursuit of more power and torque and better engine performance, Subaru opted for the twin scroll turbine (VF series) and i think equal length extractors. both these take away the boxer burble significantly.

the standard WRX i think still has the burble...

Aiyo, friends, still arguing about Turbos?

Just drive the cars la.

It's a Driver's Car after all, not a Spot-What-Turbo-It-Using Machine.

Andy Ng said:
in the pursuit of more power and torque and better engine performance, Subaru opted for the twin scroll turbine (VF series) and i think equal length extractors. both these take away the boxer burble significantly.

the standard WRX i think still has the burble...

i thought this was a thread talking about drag subarus??

anyways. pathfinder, the subaru is a very versatile car. to just call it a tarmac/rally car doesnt do it justice, although the original design brief was for the car to do just that.

subarus have proven themselves in drag racing, track, autocross/gymkhana, as well as drift. There is currently a subaru in professional D1 drifting in japan this year.

The top competitor in the malaysian autocross scene is a subaru, same with the top competitor in gymkhana in thailand, and in the last few years, japan as well.

i think subaru owners should be glad in the knowledge of their cars versatility, and not just stereotype their own cars abilities.

wetsprocket said:
Boink Boink, please dont fly off the handle like that.

In post #4 you said that: "This is what I read for the Ver 7s fitted with TD04s".

In post #6 I clarified that: "v.7 WRX uses TD04, while v.7 STi uses VF30". Then, other members in post #10 & 11 also made clear that STi uses IHI and WRX uses TD04.

But in post #13 you repeated that ver.7 comes with TD04, this time with reference to an Aussie book in support of your statement. I dont know about you, but that's being insistent, regardless of whether you phrase it in question form or statement form.

You owe me an apology for your statement:

Bro, I see whats the problem here.

Ok 1, I appologize. I was annnoyed that you called me insistent.

2. I like to stress I WAS NOT trying to be inssistent. when I said Ver 7s, I guess I was implying only WRXs. Of which I admitt I failed to clarifiy.

3. It was NOT a support of statement, I meant it as WRXs only.

So I applogize, but seriously I was not insisting. THIS IS INSISINTG. :) :)
I hope this clears this up.

BACK TO THE TOPIC. If anyone goes to Kinokiniya, check out Forced INduction Performance, by Alexander G Bell, Something like that, by Haynes. Green Book, pretty think for RM 140+.

In the last 2 pages, it did a rather blunt comparison between Evo V7s and Stis, dunno which version.

It did make the following points
a. The Evo starts its grunt at 3000rpm, 1000rpm earlier than the STI.
b. The Evo has some twin scroll turbo thingy, combined with titanium rods? This contributing to a better overal package.
c. He compared some running speeds accelerations tests,
at 30mph, 50mph, and 85mph, I think. Accelrating in the various gears.

Strangely enough, the EVO outaccelerated the Sti in all gears at all speeds.

Scarry though. Perhaps this is why We always see Evos in drag races and hardly any subbies out on the drag start points?

BTW, I am soon to be a pround owner of a Ver 7 STI. Hope I did not buy a lemon.

Wetsprocket - OK already?

Just to add, how do the ne evos rank up against the new subbies? Like the new Evo 9 with some super chim 4wd thingy...??

Anyone know?

Went to see the new EVO 9, noticed it has some center differential button on the right hand panel. Kind of like an on/off thingy.

The V9 Sti, had this manual settings for the center differential. You could elave it in AUTO or you could manuall adjust the bias more towards the back by rolling this rotary dial. Another one of those super chim things.

Anyone can explain whats all that for? Evos trying to be more subbie? Subbie trying to be more EVo..?? whats up? :)

Evo owners have it more simple and straight forward...

evo 9 GSR - road spec
evo 9 RS - same evo 9 but strip down spec for rally prep

subaru owners...

Impreza WRX ver8
Impreza WRX STI ver8
Impreza WRX STI Spec C Type RA
Impreza WRX STI Spec C Type RA Nurburgring Edition
Impreza S203
blah
blah
blah

that is why subaru owners need the data, because the mechanical and electronic spec of these cars all differ...

if there were more subaru specialist workshops in Malaysia, we would see some drag cars...i'd use the old GC8 and put in the latest power/drive train and mod from there...the old GC8 is much lighted than the newer GD series...

Boink Boink said:
Just to add, how do the ne evos rank up against the new subbies? Like the new Evo 9 with some super chim 4wd thingy...??

Anyone know?

Went to see the new EVO 9, noticed it has some center differential button on the right hand panel. Kind of like an on/off thingy.

The V9 Sti, had this manual settings for the center differential. You could elave it in AUTO or you could manuall adjust the bias more towards the back by rolling this rotary dial. Another one of those super chim things.

Anyone can explain whats all that for? Evos trying to be more subbie? Subbie trying to be more EVo..?? whats up? :)

watch 1 motoring VCD from Uk..EVOs is for those who dun have much driving skill.
due to all those eletronic stuff u need no skill...But for scoopy is much more fun to drive.

EVO drivers pls don shoot me..this is from the guy in the VCD...

Andy Ng said:

evo 9 GSR - road spec

subaru owners...

Impreza WRX ver8
Impreza WRX STI ver8
Impreza S203
blah
blah
blah

that is why subaru owners need the data, because the mechanical and electronic spec of these cars all differ...

if there were more subaru specialist workshops in Malaysia, we would see some drag cars...i'd use the old GC8 and put in the latest power/drive train and mod from there...the old GC8 is much lighted than the newer GD series...

Bro,u put in a 6 speed box into ur GC?veri good modd...
but if normal 5 speed is no good liao...

impreza needs serious driver's involvement when attacking corners. impreza 4wd is rear wheels biased. the latest sti i think can up to 35/65 front/rear torque split....can drift.

impreza viscous coupling centre diff is driver controlled. evo has active centre diff.

in most mags,when comparing evo9 and sti.....test drivers always face difficulty to choose the winner. in the end...it's up to prospective buyer to decide.

i'd go for sti if no plan for further mods and want to enjoy excellent factory spec.

i choose evo if plan making monster bhp.

both are winners.

Andy Ng said:

evo 9 GSR - road spec

subaru owners...

Impreza WRX ver8
Impreza WRX STI ver8
Impreza S203
blah
blah
blah

ok, just wondering out loud here, if you only own one of the above subarus, you would only really need data for 1 car only right?

if you're going to build a world production car spec rally car, you would buy a mitsu RS and start from there. likewise, you would buy a scooby spec C. anyways, one more bit of trivia, last i counted, there were 4 subaru imprezas from malaysia in the malaysian rally championship, vs 1 evo from china.

Rain_girl said:
Bro,u put in a 6 speed box into ur GC?veri good modd...
but if normal 5 speed is no good liao...

no lah...i drive an old GC, still quite standard...i was just saying if i wanna build a drag impreza, i'd use a GC and put in latest engine & trans in...

Andy Ng said:

evo 9 GSR - road spec

subaru owners...

Impreza WRX ver8
Impreza WRX STI ver8
Impreza S203
blah
blah
blah

if there were more subaru specialist workshops in Malaysia, we would see some drag cars...i'd use the old GC8 and put in the latest power/drive train and mod from there...the old GC8 is much lighted than the newer GD series
The only data one would really need is the one from the steering wheel and the seat of the pants to able to DRIVE these cars man.

Regardless of what diff or turbo bla bla bla which version is using.