WHY? Brand New OBX Mugen Style Twin Loop Muffler

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
OBX Mugen Style Twin Loop Muffler (part#MG01)
is the ideal design for racing engines, they have developed the Twin Loop exhaust system. It surpasses normal systems in power and torque over the full range, and provides the required silencing and the clear sound.

• Stainless Steel SUS-304
  • Tip Diameter: 3.0"
  • Inlet Diameter: 2.5"
  • Muffler Diameter: 7.0"
  • Tip Length: 5.0"
  • [Body Length: 11 1/2"

Fit: Universal Fit for all cars
I just want to know why they design the muffler in that way, can anyone enlight me?
anyone having it?

Edited: remove HP gain.

xbalance2002

Mar 15, 2006
really....i dont things so NA can produce..that much of power after install this muffler...make sure it "claim" do show you the dyno chart...and wat car....

prodigy

10 HP increase on a NA car just by changing a muffler? Its a rather generous claim i'd say. Either that or the mechanics must have optimised everything in that car so that 10HP is achieved. And that NA car must be at least 400HP too.

As it is, straight flow mufflers struggle to make 10HP, what more with a S flow one.

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
guys, the HP gain is not my main point, I want to know why they design in that way.

*first post edited*

kinki_kidz®

Feb 1, 2004
for silencing purpose
it can be considered as a high performance muffler, without the high performance sound :P

do correct me if im wrong ;)

Dremel

Nov 19, 2003
Ampng Nrdschlff
The theory is that the exhaust gas pass thru the exhaust for the second time and annoying frequencies/sound are cancelled out.. letting only nice pleasant sound remains.. that's what I heard all these while.. dunno if it's true or not

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
but will the return be an interruption for the normal exhaut flow?

Coltrain

Oct 16, 2005
the sound is good....but different engine produce different sound,rite ?

razr_sped

Jun 30, 2006
izzit meaning that the 1st round is like short silenser
jus to create bac pressure for the engine
but running it in 2nd time time to reduce sound
perhaps in another compartment? hence twin loop

prodigy

The twin loop is undoubtly one of the more famous mufflers in the market. The twin loop design removes some noise from the exhaust flow and thats probably why its a bit more quiet than the regular straight flow exhaust like the 5Zigen or Tanabe ones. The longer route the exhaust gas takes inside the muffler, the more sound it removes. Simple logic.

:_: just wan some opinion from u guys/sifu out there
which one is more faster

-a std stock evo 3 engine wif full lock LSD gear

or

-a MITSU GSR 1.8 wif MIVEC head,evo programer, TDO5 h turbine n full lock LSD gear

-need all ur guys/sifu oppnion...........:shades_smile: