which box is better

Jun 14, 2004
Pee Jayy
ok all the sifus now i'm goona install a prokick DVC 12 inches for my kelisa..hehehe
which box wud be better as i wanna go for SPL ...
1. the box tht's facing the booth(like the normal one lar)
2.the one with the clear plastic in front...like an aquarium..
wuts the diffrence beween the both boxes

artnet

Jan 19, 2004
Sarawak
www.cardomain.com
<_< never see the box b4 dunno how to choose for u.

but one thing for sure... get the most thick hard box...

i already gain one experience by paying RM250 for a box.

the maker said, use my box.. garantee u no regret.. if not
sastisfy i redo and redo again until u sastisfy... but now wht..
don even wanna come and listen to his piece of shit. i ask him
to come and listen his box... he said i dunno how to tune. KNN!
then i said u come and tune la... keep saying busy busy.. and when
met another fren of mine, he told him that he will never do things
for me. wht the f*ck.

he is using very thin particle wood to do the box. less than 1cm.
built 1.25cuft and 1" ported hole and 6"length. right behind woofer.
so i wire it up and blast it.. found that the sound is very very blur..
check it.. and found that the whole box is vibrating, creating lots of
bass.. really a lot of bass.. until it sound very messy.

he really did a very good sub box for his 8" with all the spec above.
but the point is... his 8" is 150watts rms and he only provide it less than
that. and the box design of him is long type and the surfaces are small.
so the box is consider much more stiff compared to my square box.
hence it dones't vibrate that much.

conclusion is that, his design can only use for low power sub and small
box. he doens't want to come to me.. and i'm lazy to tell him... normally,
if ppl telling that urs are not good.. u ask him to share la.. explain and see.
if his explanation is riduculous u can ignore him. but he doesn't care at
all... keep on with his own idea. saying he got keep in touch with the BOSE
engineer. if he tells his design to BOSE, BOSE need to pay him the money.

ok.. stop here.. continue on my blood pressure keep getting higher.

oh ya, to prove that his box is not useable. i've changed the box without
any change in my tuning. and it sound normal now. i've try to adjust this
and that while using his box... no cure at all. if anyone doesn't believe..
i ship the box to u for free.

Jun 14, 2004
Pee Jayy
wow....erm..thx artnet for sharing ur experience with me..both box are thick../but one is normal type..one got a clear hard plastic covering the woofer..othe sifus plz help

SKY999

kch
art,

who is ur fren doing ur box ?? acc shop or personal ?250 can do a very nice box with all profesional skill already <_<

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
Originally posted by 4041@Mar 11 2005, 18:07
wow....erm..thx artnet for sharing ur experience with me..both box are thick../but one is normal type..one got a clear hard plastic covering the woofer..othe sifus plz help

since u getting the prokick sub...i think its good 2 put it in a sealed box...provided tat ur amp is powerful enuf...coz sealed box has less efficiency compare 2 ported..

y i say sealed? coz my fren has this prokick sub also...in ported enclosure...
the sub is like kinda uncontrol...so messy bass...i'm sure u wan tight n solid(1 piece 1 piece hitting bass)

n when i went 2 a acc shop asking how 2 make this prokick sub 2 produce those hard bass in ported....the boss also tell me the same thing...

'tat sub good 4 spl but not hard hitting bass...n he tell me good 2 put in sealed enclosure.....

which acc shop u may ask...its mega sound...they r very well known 2 make good sub enclosure at cheap prices...even acc shop send their car 2 them 2 make those floor board 4 demo... ;)

Jun 14, 2004
Pee Jayy
owh thx young..can i know where is the acc shop located..mebe can go custom my box there...thx alot for d info guys

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
the mega sound is located in subang perdana...sumwhere near the subang old airport..lost my bill so cant giv u the address...sorry :P

appleyard

Dec 20, 2004
Kota Kinabalu
Originally posted by 4041@Mar 11 2005, 10:56
ok all the sifus now i'm goona install a prokick DVC 12 inches for my kelisa..hehehe
which box wud be better as i wanna go for SPL ...
1. the box tht's facing the booth(like the normal one lar)
2.the one with the clear plastic in front...like an aquarium..
wuts the diffrence beween the both boxes
i dont quite get you on that. Plastic in front?

artnet

Jan 19, 2004
Sarawak
www.cardomain.com
Originally posted by SKY999@Mar 11 2005, 18:10
art,

who is ur fren doing ur box ?? acc shop or personal ?250 can do a very nice box with all profesional skill already <_<
don wanna mention who la... later he killed me...
may b u know him too.. who knows... someone in da forum might know him too.... i can see he got a lot of frens in kch... somemore got samseng.. and will steal car one. last time he told me his fren looking for a BMW, saying indo there got buyer. dunno got dua pao or not.

i now using a RM130 old box only.
oh ya + RM2 for the pvc pipe that i bought. :lol:

4041, u might take the normal box la... as i know plastic is more flexible than the wood. but if the plastic area is small might be ok then.

the RM250 box, looks nice.. hit with hand also solid.. but when the sub start to punch... it is dancing too.. :angry:

boeytan

Oct 22, 2004
i think he mean is sealed / ported box n another 1 is bandpass box.
for ported n bandpassed box u must know what u r doing. go for sealed box is good for beginner. if u wan loud, ported will b ur choice but pls find a reputable installer customised one for u. they will cal correctly for u. ;)

A Post Every 5 Mins

Something rather interesting about the future of tyres.

Michelin plans to make all of its tyres with recycled, renewable, biosourced materials and go 100% sustainable by 2050. In this video, it shows in brief the materials and processes involved to achieve that.

In 2017, Michelin introduced the VISION Concept tyre which featured an...