when to change rubber bushes?

ken yeang

I've got a pretty beat-up 1970s of corolla. My ride in the past few months has been harsh. There is some vibration and noise intrusion in the car.

Assuming that the rubber bushing at the spring/shocks mounting were all old and original, would changing to new ones reduce the harshness I am encountering now? What other bushes are recommended to be changed as well?

Lastly how much would it all cost. I'm thinking of DIY them myself. :_:

Skywalker,

I heard that PU bushes give kinda rough ride, but provide excellent handling of the car. I was told that PU bushes required re-lub from time to time while rubbers don't need any lubrication. Is that true?
Well, for me, I 'm interested in normal rubber bushes as it is cheaper....

nop.PU is kinda in between rubber and metal ones.PU is just nice..

if u want the normal ones..get the OEM ones.

Fluffy said:
nop.PU is kinda in between rubber and metal ones.PU is just nice..

if u want the normal ones..get the OEM ones.

normally OEM bush cost how much...??

im not sure about his corolla..but my kancil ones were damn cheap.30bux.

so im guessing its not expensive.

Fluffy said:
im not sure about his corolla..but my kancil ones were damn cheap.30bux.

so im guessing its not expensive.

wah that cheap....wonder how much for wira..."30bux " for how many pic?

those PU bush sold by ninja_iga is lifetime waranty rite??... normal rubber bush will harden...
30bux per piece.... so how many piece we need??....

SkYwAlKeR said:
those PU bush sold by ninja_iga is lifetime waranty rite??... normal rubber bush will harden...
30bux per piece.... so how many piece we need??....

for me i dont mind use OEM cause i will not drive a car model for more then 4 year...yes PU bush last very long but it cost alot too....

suspension bushes, shock absorbers bushes, other link bushes, I'm thinking of changing my steering arm bushes too......all bushes add up together I think can cost almost 400 bucks??

erm...the important ones are the linkage ones.they are the ones which wear out the most.

where are the linkage bushes located??.... at the suspension arm??... my front part (dunno where) also start squeeking already when i turn the steering... i suspect is worn out bush... but dunno which bush worn out...

skywalker what car are you driving ?

The last time when my steering squeek, sent to check and it's the bearing on the steering column is out due to wear and tear. If you are driving a wira like me, it's going to cost you about 400+ to change that part.

The squeek is most iritating when you are turn around a parking lot looking for a empty space.

kowkl said:
skywalker what car are you driving ?

The last time when my steering squeek, sent to check and it's the bearing on the steering column is out due to wear and tear. If you are driving a wira like me, it's going to cost you about 400+ to change that part.

The squeek is most iritating when you are turn around a parking lot looking for a empty space.
whoa.... rm400...
i driving iswara a/b...
but mine not squeeking when stationary... turning while moving only squeeks... last time a mech told me something worn out adi and need to be changed... not sure what is that coz didnt ask further... plus, that time not enough money to change also.... he said cost about rm30 only....

Skywalker i think urs is the stearing rack mounting.I had the same problem wz my iswara last time.Now when i go on humps its making iiioook iiiook sound.When i go on a sharp hump it sound like going to come out.Could it be absobers or something else

Guys,

If you have the problem, I would suggest you get it checked out and change it. Most likely it's the bearing and if there is excessive wear, it might get stuck and you can't turn your steering.

Not sure about iswara coz my wife's car don't have that problem yet. As for the price, if it's the rubber bush then it's only around RM30 but if it's the bearing then the whole mounting have to be change that's why so expensive.

Since this topic talks about bush, hmm, I was just wondering, I am driving a Suzuki Swift and I find the ride kinda noisy especially when the absorbers are doing their work. When I go through bumps, the absorber gets kinda loud. I was just wondering if the bushing would help gimme a quieter ride? If so, where do I get one? I am based in Sarawak btw. :)

Freedom_Blue said:
Skywalker i think urs is the stearing rack mounting.I had the same problem wz my iswara last time.Now when i go on humps its making iiioook iiiook sound.When i go on a sharp hump it sound like going to come out.Could it be absobers or something else
oo.... how much to change that??.... wallet bleeding again....

astalavista_baby said:
Since this topic talks about bush, hmm, I was just wondering, I am driving a Suzuki Swift and I find the ride kinda noisy especially when the absorbers are doing their work. When I go through bumps, the absorber gets kinda loud. I was just wondering if the bushing would help gimme a quieter ride? If so, where do I get one? I am based in Sarawak btw. :)

i think ppl normally change the bushing in sets, considering the labor can cost more that the bushing itself. It least that was what my mechanic adviced me the other day.......oso said that the replacement of bushing can last abt 10-15 years...again depends on the driving style lor...