What does Crossover meant....

• See what others are reading now! Try Forums > Current Activity
  • Search function more powerful with google results! Try Search

siong

Known Member
Nov 14, 2005
what is the usage of crossover??? im a newbie in ICE.. plz help me... What is the different between a good amp and a bad amp??? :secruity:

appleyard

500 RPM
Dec 20, 2004
Kota Kinabalu
Visit site
its a filter. It filters out certain freq. for your speaker. e.g. you dont want your mid to play sub bass and you dont want your tweets to play mid bass.

Good amp and bad amp? or underated amp or overrated amp?
Good amp should come with good installation and design of the amp, bad amps..well the opposite.

siong

Known Member
Nov 14, 2005
ooo means i will need a crossover in order to get a better quality sound???
about amp...if i hav a Rm480 unknown brand... will it spoil easily if i heavy use it???

thanks for the details bro..

oldskolboyz

500 RPM
Sep 2, 2005
Kuala Lumpur
Hi, in ICE has 2 x/over...a) Passive x/over..b) Active x/over...Normally passive x/over come with comp set..function to filter some freq (same as allpeyard explaination)...Active X/over has more function..some has phase adj, bass boost, gain & etc.. maybe u need 1 4ch amp with 1 2ch amp...normally ppl using active to run tweeter & mid bass with own amp/source ...right know I'm using macrom 48.13 active x/over...why I need it..coz I want run my tweeter, midbass & sub-woofer with own amp...If I using passive x/over my tweeter & midbass will share 2ch from amp...that mean I need more power from amp...to drive my comp set...my tweeter need 30wrms & midbass need 75wrms total 105wrms X 2...coz passive x/over after amp but active x/over before amp.. :rolleyes:

tikus

Known Member
May 1, 2005
pj