Water in boot area....

mamatAE111

I was wondering if anybody experience water collecting in the boot area, near the place where you keep the jack..
My car is AE111 1996..

Can anybody confirm if there should a plug here? My car just have a hole there.... :)

Thank you

• car boot leak.jpg
    car boot leak.jpg
    174.5 KB · Views: 531
I was wondering if anybody experience water collecting in the boot area, near the place where you keep the jack..
My car is AE111 1996..

Can anybody confirm if there should a plug here? My car just have a hole there.... :)

Thank you

Hey bro.. I think the holes (left side also got) should be there to drain out water. I've plugged it before with a rubber plug and water was collecting there. I think water comes in from the vent on the upper right. So what I did was remove the plug and paint that area with anti-rust outdoor paint so water will just drain and dry without causing any rust to start -- Hammerite comes highly recommended :D

yep...agreed wif FGT..........
mine is 98 model and got rubber plug......
removed oredi left & right......

Hi mamat, mine is ae111 97, mine also have a hole there, i havent cover it up yet. Since FGT said like that, i think i'll just leave it alone, :P

Im 2nd owner, im not sure if original, the hole is covered or not.

Yeap... either the rear boot rubber lining needs to be replaced or there's some rust near the rubber lining area. For my case, changed rubber lining also still got water leak because got some rust near the rubber lining area. So have to weld the rust and apply glue before repainting the area.

Yeah it took me awhile to find my leak...first changed the boot rubber, then scrap, weld and paint in between rubber and rear wind shield but still had water. Found out later that water was coming in from the rear wind shield coz the sealant was hard and cracked..so water travelled from the mini longkang on the hood straight into the rubber lining of the rear wind screen following C pillar and into the boot..Must do CSI work only can find la..ask someone to spray water and you sit in the car and crawl around the boot with a torch light lo...

hope it helps.. :biggrin:

i faced this b4 on my preprevious ae100 and found that water is coming in from rear brake light. so i removed the light, then put the black colour silicone and installed back the rear lights. after that no more leaking.

Yeah it took me awhile to find my leak...first changed the boot rubber, then scrap, weld and paint in between rubber and rear wind shield but still had water. Found out later that water was coming in from the rear wind shield coz the sealant was hard and cracked..so water travelled from the mini longkang on the hood straight into the rubber lining of the rear wind screen following C pillar and into the boot..Must do CSI work only can find la..ask someone to spray water and you sit in the car and crawl around the boot with a torch light lo...

hope it helps.. :biggrin:

Reminds me of my good ol LE heheheh :P

After puasa I'll do the crawling thing in my boot. Now tak larat lagi... :)

The hole is on the left and right side of the boot too .. It's for the sunroof water hose to go thru .. If you don't have sunroof, it is suppose to be covered with a plastic plug.