wastegates..

yeap, synapse eliminates the use of diaphrame....for me that will save me money in maintaining the wastegate. I ve yet to try my Synapse WG on different boost level so i cant give any comment on that. However the beauty thing bout it is, the wastegate itself is configurable to suit different boost and can also be configured to minimize and eliminate boost creep...
but then again...in Malaysia takdak jual, make an effort to get it yourself from US.

currently using an original trust 50mm. whats the difference over much more expensive like turbosmart racegate and those cheaper china knock offs. lets not put durability into consideration. i would like to know about the performance.

after all a wastegate is just to expell exhaust when set boost is achieved (my opinion) how does a better gate perform?

Why and What is the reason you want to upgrade or replace current wastegate ?
Do you have boost surge ?
Does current wastegate wear out, and leaking ?

Speaking in terms of "Wastegate performance", you have to look into
1. How many bar of boost it can hold before leaking
2. Is it "sensitive"? Is it adjustable ?
3. Relase of wastegate, is it linear, progressive ?

How many boost you are running? 50mm is really large wastegate if you ask me. It shouldn't be a problem up to 400hp I would say. If you are not experiencing any boost issue (surge, leaking, etc), you should consider to leave it alone. :)

Cheers

the sensitivity is not there . ie... lets say my setting at 1bar. the wastegate already start opening slightly at 0.8 and then hold at 1bar. Thus making it slow in building full boost. i would like to have a wastegate which (if possible) build up to 0.9-0.95 b4 opening so that it could be much better in boost building.

thts boost controllers work bro

Open up at 0.8 when you set boost is at 1.0 ? hmm.. that is too early.
Check for leaking vacuum(or boost :-))hose. Or wear out vacuum hose.
Try a thicker vacuum hose. or vice versa.

how old is the wastegate?
If it still doesn't work, I have more suggestion. But let's leave it for now first :biggrin:

wastegate is already almost 4 years old by now. bought new. changing thicker hose will help? im using samco 6mm hose...

i knw i can opt for a electronic boost control with gain function however i would like to have a good system rather than using a boost control to mask the problem.

wastegate is already almost 4 years old by now. bought new. changing thicker hose will help? im using samco 6mm hose...

i knw i can opt for a electronic boost control with gain function however i would like to have a good system rather than using a boost control to mask the problem.

bro, is ur spring for 0.8bar or 1bar ?

Open up at 0.8 when you set boost is at 1.0 ? hmm.. that is too early.
Check for leaking vacuum(or boost :-))hose. Or wear out vacuum hose.
Try a thicker vacuum hose. or vice versa.

how old is the wastegate?
If it still doesn't work, I have more suggestion. But let's leave it for now first :biggrin:

bro , but a leak on the hose will make the wastegate open later 1.0bar+++ since its leaking :) , same concept u use a sisik ikan aquarium valve as boost controller, the more air u leak, the higher the boost

the most common failure in an external wg is the diaphram and spring. since reputable brands like Tial uses better quality materials, they last a lot longer compared to the knock offs look a like... metal tends to soften when heated... they get unreliable after they are hot... imagine hot and cold for many many times.. the spring will just fail in no time.
i dun have such problem with TiAL wg so far after 1yr plus of using it under extreme condition at times.... so I'm sticking to the brand as it is.

As for the piston type wg... i believe it is also not spared by wear and tear of the piston cylinder.. it will leak sooner or later... so do your oversize the piston and rebore the cylinder to repair? or just replace diaphram and spring as in the conventional type of wg? or buy a new wg altogether... hehehe.. it's your choice.

Turbosmart wategates..2008 models..solid CNC machined valve stems and strong nomex silicone diaphragms.

All in stock now..
NewWgatesGrp2.jpg

Call 03-6187 8833 (master distributor)

if im not mistaken the turbosmart's good stuff cost slightly above 2k onwards... am i right..? correct me if im wrong...

to correct misperception of Turbosmart.. behold retails prices..

38mm - RM 1,005
50mm - RM 2,000
60mm - RM 2,500

Brand new.
For more info...ring our Authorised Dealers for better prices
Sunway :
Millenium Motorsports - 012-320 5454
GT Auto - 019 662 5384
Tong Turbo - 012 3822 334

They are good stuffs i should say...
SDF.. your kk dealer lee turbo carries this too?

renxun.. yup.. he should be receiving a new batch by Friday or Mon.. we just sent some over.. Look him up and grab a feel of the wastegates.

Make some sense and add value to the thread by saying something logical please..

to correct misperception of Turbosmart.. behold retails prices..

38mm - RM 1,005
50mm - RM 2,000
60mm - RM 2,500

Brand new.
For more info...ring our Authorised Dealers for better prices
Sunway :
Millenium Motorsports - 012-320 5454
GT Auto - 019 662 5384
Tong Turbo - 012 3822 334

dont know that turbosmart w/g price roughly the same as tial...

bought tial 38mm w/g at RM8XX..plan to get turbosmart at the 1st place but if my friend told me it cost RM2k+ for 38mm..

w/o checking the true market price for turbosmarts wastegate i go for tial..

ARGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!