Vios power window

richardtan

Hello Sifus!

My driver-sider power window is intermittently will not rise to the full. It stops moving upwards at around 80 % to the top.

When that happens, I push the window up by hand till its fully raised.

I like to find out more about power windows, specifically, when raising the power window by pressing the button, if the window has reached the top, and the button is still pressed for a few seconds, does this cause stress on the window motor gears given the window has hit the top?

Or the power window system is smart enough to detect this and not let the motor over-stress?

If not, I suspect this could break the gear if frequently pressing the button for too long when the window has already reached the top position.

So, I wish to get some clues from the many SiFus here.

Have a nice day!

sincerely
Richard Tan
:driver:

First, I'm not sifu. I'd just give some assumptions based on your problem. I never know whether they're right or wrong. look at when I started to register as a forumer here :slug:

Second, it could be motor problem. over the time, the efficiency of motor could decrease as wear n tear is inevitable.

Third, the culprit could be the window rubber lining. This happened to my dad's car. After he changed the rubber lining (well, a year after the problem occurred), it went back smoothly.

Even better, drive your car into some mechs and ask them to look after / mend it. they know how to solve your problem. I know nothing :hmmmm:

Happy fixing :biggrin:

use to have this problem..

solution : buy a rubber protection liquid (cant remember the brand name)

the cause is the rubber underneath the window has broken, u need to replace or revive it

peace.. out :burnout: