V-AFC II Questions.

tougevtec

V-AFC II

In your opinion, Why would you want an V-AFC II for your VTEC B16A.
Or.. Why Not to get one.

What is the price range for V-AFC II now ?

Does V-AFC II includes function like :
- Lap Time ?
- RPM ?
- Speed ?
(Like RSM... eheheh)

VAFC...i might buy it if it comes when some training session on how to use it...but i don't think any shop does that ler....

VAFC II..

If you understand the fundamentals of tuning.. VAFC is a good way to start learning, since there's not option for playing with the ignition curve.. it's just a simple gadget that cheats the MAP sensor for fuelling.

The VAFC has no features like that... only VTEC crossover point, and fuelling based on RPM and TPS.

Udeng... if you can locate/borrow a set that's already installed.... I can show you how. Too lazy to do the wiringlah.. :P

if u are oredi use P30..then no point getting any piggyback thingy....remap ur ecu is much better ....

Yeah.. but remapping cannot DIY everytime.. VAFC limited, but can tune at any time..

shiroitenshi said:
Yeah.. but remapping cannot DIY everytime.. VAFC limited, but can tune at any time..

yeah..its like using stand alone edi....fine tuning once u've done with ur mod...or u wanna use the setup for quiet sometime...vafc can tune everyday.....of coz if u know what u r doing lar......

http://www.procivic.com/images/large/products/apexi-afc-neo_LRG.jpg

I see this.. Seems to be more functions... How much is it ?

tougevtec said:

this is apexi NEO...rm1300++ i think...not sure...

tougevtec said:

as other forummer said, around 1.3K...

More functions, got password protect, and SAFC/VAFC in one unit.

Also colour screen.. yada yada yada.. basically the same.. still no tuning ignition maps, which is to be expected, since it's still an "Air Flow Controller".. They should rename it to Air Flow Cheater.. since that's what it actually does.. hahahaha...

Oderf said:
if u are oredi use P30..then no point getting any piggyback thingy....remap ur ecu is much better ....

remap ecu...needs knowledge, laptop, chip writer, replacement chip...if don't hv all that, need to find someone who has all the above...then hafta match his free time and your free time....good result, but quite a hassle....pretty much like u hv emanage,motec, microtech, etc...must find somebody who knows how to tune and hv all the necessary tuning equipment....:Not_Impressed:

vafc...like shiro said...can DIY....no need laptop, all buttons are ther...but off course must properly learn how to use it ler....but i doubt it'll be too hard....just hafta drive all the way to kelantan to get shiro to give free lesson....jauh tuh!....at least can fine tune the ecu if we change some toyol inside, while waiting to re-program our chip...

udengfahlawi said:
remap ecu...needs knowledge, laptop, chip writer, replacement chip...if don't hv all that, need to find someone who has all the above...then hafta match his free time and your free time....good result, but quite a hassle....pretty much like u hv emanage,motec, microtech, etc...must find somebody who knows how to tune and hv all the necessary tuning equipment....:Not_Impressed:

vafc...like shiro said...can DIY....no need laptop, all buttons are ther...but off course must properly learn how to use it ler....but i doubt it'll be too hard....just hafta drive all the way to kelantan to get shiro to give free lesson....jauh tuh!....at least can fine tune the ecu if we change some toyol inside, while waiting to re-program our chip...

If you want online.. oso can. but don't have a unit with me to take screenshots of.. but can do verbally so you understand each setting. Start a new thread and I'll post what I know.

It's so easy you'd wondered why the world you pay so much for tuning in the first place.. granted, you'd still need a A/F meter so you don't lean out and accidentally blow up your engine.

I'll talk more in a proper thread for this.. so if you want, start a VAFC tuning thread.

shiroitenshi said:
as other forummer said, around 1.3K...

More functions, got password protect, and SAFC/VAFC in one unit.

Also colour screen.. yada yada yada.. basically the same.. still no tuning ignition maps, which is to be expected, since it's still an "Air Flow Controller".. They should rename it to Air Flow Cheater.. since that's what it actually does.. hahahaha...

but it will affect ignition, indirectly....

yup.. coz it cheats the MAF...

Still one way to get around it is bumping up the fuel pressure then reducing with VAFC... still got a limit though.. pump up enough fuel and reach positive at the manifold, poof! check light on!

shiroitenshi said:
yup.. coz it cheats the MAF...

Still one way to get around it is bumping up the fuel pressure then reducing with VAFC... still got a limit though.. pump up enough fuel and reach positive at the manifold, poof! check light on!

have you tried that?

yup.. got the checklight on when I hit +12 on the fuelling (edit: opps! means -12 on air correction setting.. I forget, since it's been a while, but if I remember right, - air correction = add fuel) .. LOL! But strangely, the VAFC (version 1) only reads up to (+-) 0 manifold pressure (althought I managed to get the check light on at earlier.. any more and it's still that number... dunno about the later versions, because I only trimmed some fuel off someone else's VAFC2 unit for fuel economy (which is basically the same as the first version). (after he installed a more silent restrictive exhaust) and found less pickup on his auto (like getting a fat pig trying to move, if you want a description)

I also tried bumping up to 4.5bar with (vac unplugged) then trimmed the fueling on mine.. can get it to run properly without fouling the plugs... principle stays the same.. you can add fuel using either pressure, or tipu the MAF with VAFC.

The only advantage of having VAFC is that I can get better low end by trimming the low end than bumping up pressure alone which does it for the entire map (thinking in ECU maps kind of way).

It's just the same really.. that ignition advance along with the air correction is too little to be off concern, but probably would be a big concern for higher RPMs near peak, where the ignition timing is already high.

VAFC isn't exactly state of the art thing.. but it gets the job done.

That VTEC unmatch thing is the only thing that you need a couple of runs to get right for the first time.. if you're starting with a blank VAFC unit.