Traction Control (TRC off/on)

wfhan

Guys,

I'm gonna make some newbie enquiry here...

Been wondering since some Altezza is with Traction control features and some do not,
what is the effect of de-activating traction control (TRC off) on an Altezza that has TRC?

Will it gives the same driving experience & handling as those that without traction control ?
Read on other forums there are people that switch it off to drive but found out later it couldn't
be activate again...

Does any Altezza owner (car with traction control) drive with TRC off ?
would appreciate if someone can share the experience and also will there be
any harm/good to fuel consumption ?

If on-track, is it better to left it on, or switch it off ? :nurse:

wfhan,

Bro, please click to this link, very useful...it explains all...

HowStuffWorks "Traction Control Explained"

Thanks cikebum for the useful article, generally i knows how Traction Control works,
However, what i wanted to know and asked here was more specific to the real-life
'experience' of Altezza owner while driving their Altezza with TRC off/on and comparing
the 'feel' on those with and without traction control.:biggrin:

What i know is when in normal drive you dont feel any different but when hardcore drive you will feel less bite or less grip when pursuit in taking corners ...

If you are a F1 follower , the commentator sometimes mentioned this terms (traction control) when one of the F1 car spin at the corner and not those sharp corner .......they also sometimes mentioned about launch control . How nice if our altezza have this launch control hahahaha

What i know is when in normal drive you dont feel any different but when hardcore drive you will feel less bite or less grip when pursuit in taking corners ...

If you are a F1 follower , the commentator sometimes mentioned this terms (traction control) when one of the F1 car spin at the corner and not those sharp corner .......they also sometimes mentioned about launch control . How nice if our altezza have this launch control hahahaha

aiyo...taikor you dont need traction control or launch control lah........put on your err ...what shoes and you have pedal control already....hahahaha

---------- Post added at 05:52 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:38 PM ----------

Thanks cikebum for the useful article, generally i knows how Traction Control works,
However, what i wanted to know and asked here was more specific to the real-life
'experience' of Altezza owner while driving their Altezza with TRC off/on and comparing
the 'feel' on those with and without traction control.:biggrin:

seriously as the article sez...sometimes it cuts power and sometimes it activate brake on the wheel.I prefer turning it off and getting a LSD!

Its(traction control) no good if you wanna drift!!!!

aiyo uncle.....

Didnt know that in forum also you C K me lar....................adoi.........aiyak.........pain pain........hahahahaha

hmmm....then can we say that TRC on/off is equivalent to Vehicle Stability Control [VSC]
(such as in altis/camry) ? pretty sure it that VSC evolved from TRC.. :-O

cos i had an experience sitting in a toyota altis of a friend, he was driving the car entering a corner fast and the vehicle VSC activated (ti..ti...ti... sound) and auto-brakes-assist or auto-reduce-throttle something like that.... just wondering....

1JZTezza,
what LSD will u recommend for Altezza's 3S-GE ?
for 1JZ and 3S (of altezza), any/what common engine/tranny part is sharable ?

1JZTezza,

aiyo mike...u spend so much time researching altezza......thot u dont need to ask.
have u check your car got lsd already or not??????

aiyo mike...u spend so much time researching altezza......thot u dont need to ask.
have u check your car got lsd already or not??????

hehe.. paiseh-paiseh...
i only kno my tranny/axle code is A01B.. is this with LSD ?
well, jacking the car up and rotating the rear wheels doesn't
make it behave like it is with LSD.. .. i guess need to dismantle
to see inside ? or is there a better way to check without dismantling it ?

A01B should be a 4.1 final drive with open diff..no LSD

however, there are cases whereby the ori owner in japan put it to himself to change to a LSD

plus yours is an auto.

cars with this code definately will have an LSD...A03C

to check got LSD or not.

jack up the end of ur car.

ask a fren to hold 1 tire(tire a). then u turn the other tire(tire b). in an open differential, tire b will turn freely...theres no resistance.

if theres a LSD, tire b should have some resistance when u turn it(with ur fren still holding tire a)

good luck

p.s 1jaltezza..i tried this with ur white car..hahhaha confirm ada!!

hmmm....then can we say that TRC on/off is equivalent to Vehicle Stability Control [VSC]
(such as in altis/camry) ? pretty sure it that VSC evolved from TRC.. :-O

cos i had an experience sitting in a toyota altis of a friend, he was driving the car entering a corner fast and the vehicle VSC activated (ti..ti...ti... sound) and auto-brakes-assist or auto-reduce-throttle something like that.... just wondering....

1JZTezza,

What we normally use is Torsion LSD...but for ppl that is hardcore they will choose like 1.5 way , 2 way or full lock

A01B should be a 4.1 final drive with open diff..no LSD

however, there are cases whereby the ori owner in japan put it to himself to change to a LSD

plus yours is an auto.

cars with this code definately will have an LSD...A03C

to check got LSD or not.

jack up the end of ur car.

ask a fren to hold 1 tire(tire a). then u turn the other tire(tire b). in an open differential, tire b will turn freely...theres no resistance.

if theres a LSD, tire b should have some resistance when u turn it(with ur fren still holding tire a)

good luck

p.s 1jaltezza..i tried this with ur white car..hahhaha confirm ada!!

if A01B = open differential w/o LSD
A01A = no differential ?
it's been mention in one of the old thread of the specs.. but i not quite understand
what does it mean by "open differential", "open diff w/o LSD" ??
* getting more and more technical and interesting...*

What we normally use is Torsion LSD...but for ppl that is hardcore they will choose like 1.5 way , 2 way or full lock

Torsen = 1 way ?
or is it totally different story d ?

sorry men, still quite noob in gearbox & LSD matters..

this article might tell brief about differential, open diff, lsd.

http://auto.howstuffworks.com/differential.htm

while this clip explains how differential works in a very interesting way. althought black & white, but really a good one.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K4JhruinbWc

i found this other one about torsen differential

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hn0uSCmrNc8&NR=1

Geared LSD

Geared, torque-sensitive mechanical limited slip differentials utilize helical gears or worm gears to "sense" torque on one shaft. The most famous versions are:

Torsen differential based upon the Dual-Drive Differential invented by Vernon Gleasman in 1958, then later sold to Gleason Corporation, who started marketing it in 1982;

Geared LSDs wear the gears and their supports rather than the clutches of the clutch type and the cones of the cone type, but both output shafts have to be loaded to keep the proper torque distribution characteristics. Once an output shaft becomes free (e.g., one driven wheel lifts off the ground; or a summer tire comes over ice while another is on dry tarmac when the car goes uphill), no torque is transmitted to the second shaft and the torque-sensitive differential behaves like an open differential.

Geared LSDs are dependent on the torque and not on the speed difference between the output shafts. Such differentials may not be adequate on extremely slippery surfaces such as ice (or thin air, when a drive wheel loses ground contact altogether).[4]

Geared LSDs may be used:

-to reduce torque steer in front-wheel drive vehicles;
-as a center differential in four-wheel drive (e.g., on the Audi Quattro);
-in rear-wheel drive vehicles, to maximize traction and make oversteer easier to manage (as in drifting). Although, for extreme drifting, a geared LSD is less effective compared to a clutch type LSD.

i suppose both geared LSD and torsen LSD are the same. but until now still donno my diff is of what type???? :confused: :confused: :confused:

i still don't get it after reading from front to end...

mine is a A01B , does that mean i have got no lsd ?

how about A01A?

i still don't get it after reading from front to end...

mine is a A01B , does that mean i have got no lsd ?

how about A01A?

ouch... same here... too much info, i guess i've given
up all my reading skills to my teacher...

I wonder if anyone here managed to dismantle one b4 to check ??

Yes you can drive it with off,and it can be switched on again,if you switched the engine off with the TRC off,when you start engine next time the TRC will automaticly be On.

For the feeling with TRC off,if drive slowly no difference,but enter corner too fast,the rear end will slide,and you have to catch it,with the TRC on,its the computer will do the job,it cuts power to save from oversteer.Purpose of TRC is to prevent wheel spin.

I'm not driving or driven an Altezza before but Altis have this TRC function like u said what u saw in ur fren's Altis.

TRC and VSC basically function same way and created for the same purpose. TRC on Altis yes, I have a friend who tried before on hard corners and it will have the "ti ti ti..." sound. Is more likely an alarm or a warning that your car is going to oversteer or spin.

TRC is good for those who want a safer driving as it has more traction control on your car and would not spin easily unless u still doing that hard corner during the beeping sound lolz! That's from what I heard but i have never tried cornering Altis till it beeps. Dare not try yet lolz!

I tried switching it off before and yes u will not feel the difference if u switch it off even if I did a slight hard corner. So, this is just what I had experienced before and heard from others.

But I love the ECT function :biggrin:

P.S: I'm expecting my frens to come in here and zha kao me again lolz!

I'm not driving or driven an Altezza before but Altis have this TRC function like u said what u saw in ur fren's Altis.

TRC and VSC basically function same way and created for the same purpose. TRC on Altis yes, I have a friend who tried before on hard corners and it will have the "ti ti ti..." sound. Is more likely an alarm or a warning that your car is going to oversteer or spin.

TRC is good for those who want a safer driving as it has more traction control on your car and would not spin easily unless u still doing that hard corner during the beeping sound lolz! That's from what I heard but i have never tried cornering Altis till it beeps. Dare not try yet lolz!

I tried switching it off before and yes u will not feel the difference if u switch it off even if I did a slight hard corner. So, this is just what I had experienced before and heard from others.

But I love the ECT function :biggrin:

P.S: I'm expecting my frens to come in here and zha kao me again lolz!

when I install a sport suspension into my Altis last time, my mechanic go test the car. Do cornering until the TRC system beeps :driver: luckily I was not inside, otherwise I would be fainted :biggrin:

I love the ECT button too, it makes the car accelerate faster.

Write your reply...