to Bimmer sifus..need help on M3..thanks

tony5050

hi there,

it's been really long i never log in to this site. but when it comes to getting infos on automibile, this should be the place to visit huh..hehe..

anyway,
can anyone offer help in getting a M3 (E46)? any reply or info will be much much appreciated guys. cheers

1) is there different kind of facelift for E46 M3 since 2001~?
2) what's SMG?...all that i heard were about the jerky slow drives and easily damaged..is that true?..i don think so. please advise.
3) is it hard to find a Manual tranny M3? better then SMG?

please help...thanks in advance :)

tony5050 said:
hi there,

it's been really long i never log in to this site. but when it comes to getting infos on automibile, this should be the place to visit huh..hehe..

anyway,
can anyone offer help in getting a M3 (E46)? any reply or info will be much much appreciated guys. cheers

1) is there different kind of facelift for E46 M3 since 2001~?
2) what's SMG?...all that i heard were about the jerky slow drives and easily damaged..is that true?..i don think so. please advise.
3) is it hard to find a Manual tranny M3? better then SMG?

please help...thanks in advance :)

M3 got no facelift version, unless ur talking bout the M3 Competition model, or the M3 CS or the M3 CSL which are are completely different cars that suits particular usages.

SMG stands for sequential manual gearbox. Clutchless manual. da jerky ride is during low RPMs. to avoid jerky rides, throttle progressively and not too much on da accelerator and let go suddenly. thats wat gives da juddering feel. its not easily damaged if u dun thrash it or whack it wildly my fren.

there r 6 speed manual M3s around. Not that difficult to find. If u like da complete driver feel, then manual la. but if u like F1 style paddle shifters and lots of technology, go for da SMG M3s. FYI, SMG gearshifts are much faster than manual gearbox by a few "miliseconds" :)

My 2 cents.

The chick factor >> SMG
The real M experiece >> Manual
*some may disagree

guys,

thanks for the rapid feedback there.

justin,

i'm really suprise to know that the SMG shifts faster then the manual for at least a few milisecs. i really hope its that immediate. anyway, what do you think a good market price would be. i've viewed 2 units at 350k and 400k. both yr 03 and with low mileage.

thanks for your reply again guys. cheers :)

tony5050 said:
i'm really suprise to know that the SMG shifts faster then the manual for at least a few milisecs. i really hope its that immediate

mayb i miscalculated. its probably faster by almost one second. asu can shift SMG using da shift paddles on da steering wheel which is no doubt faster than pressing da clutch, sticking out ur hand n shifting wif da manual stick and releasing the clutch again. (there goes another one second there :p)

having known that u own both a R33 GTR and R34 GTR made me think now you're after the performance factor. manual is da way to go for u, i believe.

Ur R34 is one sweet ride. That colour is so unique. Beats the blue coloured wans anytime.

i wish u all da best in ur endeavours in acquiring an M3. It'll be a car that u wont regret driving.

Mayb in da process, u would like to give da E60 M5 a try too?

go talk to Chester at http://www.udmowners.com. He just bought an M3 manual.