To all 4AGE sifoo, am i stupid?

slow_tortise

hello to all sifus here.

Small boy here recently let a workshop in KL install a 20V BT 4AGE into my AE86.

This are the costs. I post in Modification forum and pple say i have been overpriced.

Just to check with the pple here can tel me the normal price for each item?

HC (i buy myself)
Install RM1500
Jasma Extractor RM1000
Rebalance engine RM1000
Longshaft modification RM1800 ( what is this?? till now i still dun understand)
New Bearing RM 400
G/box Modification RM600
Mounting RM450
ECU Spoil i buy replacement (RM 650)

bro,

did u do any research or study b4 installing the engine?
or at least do survey from other places?

if none, it can't be said overpriced...

yes. but the process all done overseas. so hard to compare price.

here very little AE86 with BT done. So hard to compare price.

And I didnt say it is overpriced, it is the bros from Car Modification forum that say overprice.

Do u know about the normal price? can u help?

did you ask specifictly for performing more modification for more power ?

if not I it is overpriced

and what up with that jasma extractor ?
design for 11k rpm ? titanium build ?
so freaking expensive one

slow_tortise said:
hello to all sifus here.

Small boy here recently let a workshop in KL install a 20V BT 4AGE into my AE86.

This are the costs. I post in Modification forum and pple say i have been overpriced.

Just to check with the pple here can tel me the normal price for each item?

HC (i buy myself)
Install RM1500
Jasma Extractor RM1000
Rebalance engine RM1000
Longshaft modification RM1800 ( what is this?? till now i still dun understand)
New Bearing RM 400
G/box Modification RM600
Mounting RM450
ECU Spoil i buy replacement (RM 650)

okies ... here goes laa .. what halfcut u buy ??? 86halfcut with 20v BT ??? those are rare laaa ... chances are u bought a FWD 20v BT ... so the things u lack are ... the RWD gearbox (but i think can use the one from your stock 16v 4A) .. extractors (as 16v one sikit tak ngam with 20v head) .. long shaft (use back your old one cannot meh ???) ... rear axle (old one cannot mehh ?? no LSD aaahh ??) .. and maybe a few other things i cannot think of at the moment .. hehehehe
20v BT ECU for rm650 is a good price liauuuu .. as the FF mountings would not suit for ae86 ... then surely need to think about new mountings laaa .. rm600 for GB or GB mods ??? what new bearing need to change ?? the conrod and crank bearings ahh ?? of coz buka engine already change the bearings together oso laa save labour .. rm1500 for labour sounds about right laaaaa .. what to complain laaaa ????
if u think u have been conned then call up a few workshop and pretend to be stoopid and ask laaaa .. compare prices ...
and oso ask the ppl in modification forum how many of them transplanted 20v BT into ae86 ??? hehehehehehe

sorry aahhh .. i pakai hentam only coz nothing to do on a holiday and bored shitless liauuuu .. please shoot me coz i newbie .. hahaahahahahaaaa
plus i no $$$ to play with 20v BT and ae86 oso .. huahahahahahahaa

here's what i think after some research done when i wan to do 20v for my ke70(pretty much same lar..):

halfcut: you get the FWD 20v bt AE right?
Install: 1.5k reasonable
Jasma Extractor: 1k wtf??! he sell you branded extractor izit? go exhaust shop custom made one few hundred only... Jasma just mean its more like street legal on japanese road.
balance engine: 1k for balance engine? have to get more detail on what they did. but BT already a well balanced engine ler what for they balance it again??!!
Longshaft modification: damn i also blur on this. If long shaft only why the heck need 1.8k?? All AE86 should be able to use back ori parts as i know...
new bearing: for what part of the car? *scratch head*
gearbox modification: not to sound offensive, but if your car came with T50 gearbox then sound like you kena con (unless your gearbox no good he use your old one to trade in and get a new good one)
Mounting: i thought all A series engine mount are the same -___-"

okay here's what i think in summary: you are not really being conned or something, just that the mech who do the transplant for you change all the stuff for you to new one although you don't really need them. he gain profit from selling you new parts, or worse, he keep the old part and sell as used parts if ppl ask from it, then he profit even more. :(

Wah brother QIW ar U sure that U're NEWBIE?????

OK brother I think the price abit high coz the the labour for install + overhaul + balanced is RM2500... is that engine full balanced ??? but I also dunno Y they modi the longshaft then coz RM1800.00

Anyhow the thing is oledi done dun think about it liao lar... how the preformance is ok then oklor...:)

the extractor supposedly is follow TODA racing wan.

Its stainless steel plus i didnt have flexibile last time so the extractor is made all the way from engine till half way back.

QiW said:
okies ... here goes laa .. what halfcut u buy ??? 86halfcut with 20v BT ??? those are rare laaa ... chances are u bought a FWD 20v BT ... so the things u lack are ... the RWD gearbox (but i think can use the one from your stock 16v 4A) .. extractors (as 16v one sikit tak ngam with 20v head) .. long shaft (use back your old one cannot meh ???) ... rear axle (old one cannot mehh ?? no LSD aaahh ??) .. and maybe a few other things i cannot think of at the moment .. hehehehe
20v BT ECU for rm650 is a good price liauuuu .. as the FF mountings would not suit for ae86 ... then surely need to think about new mountings laaa .. rm600 for GB or GB mods ??? what new bearing need to change ?? the conrod and crank bearings ahh ?? of coz buka engine already change the bearings together oso laa save labour .. rm1500 for labour sounds about right laaaaa .. what to complain laaaa ????
if u think u have been conned then call up a few workshop and pretend to be stoopid and ask laaaa .. compare prices ...
and oso ask the ppl in modification forum how many of them transplanted 20v BT into ae86 ??? hehehehehehe

sorry aahhh .. i pakai hentam only coz nothing to do on a holiday and bored shitless liauuuu .. please shoot me coz i newbie .. hahaahahahahaaaa
plus i no $$$ to play with 20v BT and ae86 oso .. huahahahahahahaa
yes i bought a AE111 FWD 20V BT.

Gearbox using back T50 from my car. Modification to gear box is changing the final drive from the AE111 to my car and balancing gearbox. (is that possible?)

Longshaft he say that if never modify, car cannot straight properly. So its using back my long shaft and modify and balance. (long shaft is it same as drive shaft?)

Bearings are engine bearings.

hello. i replied another guy with above liao with roughly same questions

Extractor is stainless steel and is suppose to follow TODA racing design. plus he include a flexible for me cos last time i dun have. so its the extractor from engine all the way till somewhere in the middle of the car.

hmm..then ok lah. cos i told him i want a perfect job. i dont mind paying the price for my baby.

aiyo, and other pple from Car modification say till like i kanna con till jialet jialet..

yayy...now i hope i get back my car soon. very long never see baby already.

slow_tortise said:
hmm..then ok lah. cos i told him i want a perfect job. i dont mind paying the price for my baby.

aiyo, and other pple from Car modification say till like i kanna con till jialet jialet..

yayy...now i hope i get back my car soon. very long never see baby already.
well if you say like that i have nothing to say lor.. you happy the tauke also happy.. but i still wonder wtf is that 1.8k for long shaft modification...

yah..tt one i try to ask him last time. then he explain not clear..

cos my malay very bad and his english not too good. but still...1.8K alot. i tell him i dont want but he say very critical.

Supra!!!!! i may be new..but i read around here alot!

thank you for your slow tortise. hee hee.

it's not slow tortoise.. it means waterfish...

sui yee... means - u kena slaughtered

Wut to say nthing lor.... brother after test your baby if not nice then better kill the mechanic..... Cheersss hope U can get a prefect baby :)

cheers too. i will post some dyno charts here when i get my car back. thank you all for your comments. =)

just go question your mech about those items that is supposedly to be critical laaa .. the long shaft ... GB balancing .. why change bearings ...
as for your extractor ... u didnt mention just the headers to the centre only .. i would say thats expensive oso laaa .. flexible hose (brand new) for 2.5inch is around rm200+ already ... labour + material + flex hose = rm1k ?? still expensive laaa IMO ..

good luck !!!