The difference between B18CR and B18C5?

BtLeJuiCe

Bros,

What is the difference between a B18CR and a B18C5 other than B18CR has 200hp and B18C5 has 195hp? I found on the net that B18CR is JDM and B18C5 is USDM and also SGDM. Is it true? Is there any JDM B18C5? as I heard also that there are limited units of B18C5 in Japan.

How do you spot if the engine is a B18C5? Is it written on the engine as B18C5??

Sorry if this question is a bit n00b. I hope brothers out there can enlighten me. :)

Thanks in advance!

a bit more like that. if b16a2 also, it'll have a marking B16A2. those codes with numbers at the back are usually US specs. for JDM, only letters. not much marking for SiR or Type R markings on the engine. if it comes with a red valve cover then it's type R; it black it's SiR.

HP are different due to specs, ron level in particular country.

B18C5 = B18CR = 1.8 Type R, stamped at the block as B18C also!!!

year manufactured starts from 1996 with number 19XXXXXX, 1997 above starting with 200XXXXXX.

1996 to 1997 g.box 4.4fd/4-2-1 extractor/ 4 lugs knuckle
1998 to 2000 g.box 4.785fd/4-1 extractor/ driveshaft bigger/5 lugs knuckle
2000 camshaft same as CTR profile

AFAIK,d MAIN difference btween a JDM B18CR n d "export" version B18C5,is in d mapping....u gotta understand dat in order 4 d Type R 2 produce its FULL potential,it needs higher RON petrol..i'm not sure how much,prolly 100RON(i was told abt dis)..n US does not haf 100RON petrol...heck,they dun even haf 97RON....so i guess d B18C5 is a "detuned" version of d B18CR?
any1?

achors,
"if it comes with a red valve cover then it's type R; it black it's SiR."--->dun lar like dat..my B16A oso comes w d Type R red valve cover mah?but its not Type R ler coz me no money..not like avantasia..can afford a GENUINE B18CR!fu-yoh!hahhaha

Ooh! Thanks bro! Anyway, was wondering if the internal is the same as B18CR?

AFAIK,d MAIN difference btween a JDM B18CR n d "export" version B18C5,is in d mapping....u gotta understand dat in order 4 d Type R 2 produce its FULL potential,it needs higher RON petrol..i'm not sure how much,prolly 100RON(i was told abt dis)..n US does not haf 100RON petrol...heck,they dun even haf 97RON....so i guess d B18C5 is a "detuned" version of d B18CR?
any1?

achors,
"if it comes with a red valve cover then it's type R; it black it's SiR."--->dun lar like dat..my B16A oso comes w d Type R red valve cover mah?but its not Type R ler coz me no money..not like avantasia..can afford a GENUINE B18CR!fu-yoh!hahhaha

ok la. i thought we were talking about stock standard specs. heheheh...