Test Drove a H22A accord today...

BLaCkHoWLiNG said:
d one i drove tailgated an impreza like leech!! gagagaga

hehe, tailgated before NOS, after tekan, impreza come n tailgate u... :D

sounds like a bad buy. i mean i rather continue searching for a car thats up to match rather than buying one thats got problem accelerating.

when the salesman tells u the vtec engagement point is 6500 above, did you tested if it does engage? who knows when the vtec actually engage at 6500, there's massive torque rushing in and it revs till 9000rpm. but if it doesn't, i think u might wanna look at another car. its like saying a turbo boost that cuts in after 6000rpm.

NiCkY7 said:
seems u dunno wat the problem is, u have to check from every possible way...

or u wan after u bought, u baru know the ECU is from other car/version?

bear in mind there is a lot version of H22A...

the H22A i drove before, with mild mod, the VTEC starts kick in at around 5.5K, although is auto, the low till high end power is smooth and nice, can makan Cefiro 3.0 V6 at anytime...

Yeah, this is wat as i tot too. I do owned a SV4 be4. it was 2.2l SOHC vtec version. the rpm is smooth and responsive. but this one that i test seems very hessistate.. i think there is another H22A accord for sale. let me test drive that one and see how it goes

prodigy said:
sounds like a bad buy. i mean i rather continue searching for a car thats up to match rather than buying one thats got problem accelerating.

when the salesman tells u the vtec engagement point is 6500 above, did you tested if it does engage? who knows when the vtec actually engage at 6500, there's massive torque rushing in and it revs till 9000rpm. but if it doesn't, i think u might wanna look at another car. its like saying a turbo boost that cuts in after 6000rpm.

nope. i did not rev it till 6500rpm for the vtec point as the road that i test on was quite alot of traffic. with 5 person on load (me, my GF, 2 sales behind and another potential car buyer) i would not wan to put anyone life on risk. but the salesman keep urge me to rev kao kao to get the vtec open... whahahaha.... wat a salesman i ever met.

talk back about it... i think the slow rpm climb could be due to 5 person on load matters.... whahhaha

Normality78,
Actually H22A engine do 'behave' like that one. As for my H22A Euro R vtec opened at 5500 rpm. Cut-off a bit 'pening', sometime 78++, sometime 80++ rpm.

For the black cover H22A, i do agree that the engine not so responsive, should i say 'lembap', as compared to other HOnda B16* or B18* engines. About the vtec open sound, i do meet some sv4 H22A before. They told me that sometime they can't really hear the vtec open sound. Same like my Euro R also, but most of the time got vtec open sound. Sometime only don't hear that sound. Even though the stock standard gear ratio also not so good as we think! The topspeed also so-so only!.

Do keep in mind that Accord H22A engine not really meant for performance, due to heavy accord chasis + heavy engine/crank. It is more suitable for hway cruising. etc.

HAI NORM. wat r the extras 4 interiors n exteriors 4 the car?

Normality,

Another way to check on Vtec open sound availability is try to full throttle whenever u going uphill road, using 2nd & 3rd gear. By that time, total oil pressure in more than enough to open the vtec solenoid, and should follow by vtec sound afterwards.

Jebon,
Interested meh?!!

Jackie Leong said:
wouldn't the vtec engage even if u rev it till that particular point during standstill?

i know my ex-civic ek does..

yeah, it would engage even at stand still. so im going to try it out next visit. hehehehe

aja said:
Normality78,
Actually H22A engine do 'behave' like that one. As for my H22A Euro R vtec opened at 5500 rpm. Cut-off a bit 'pening', sometime 78++, sometime 80++ rpm.

For the black cover H22A, i do agree that the engine not so responsive, should i say 'lembap', as compared to other HOnda B16* or B18* engines. About the vtec open sound, i do meet some sv4 H22A before. They told me that sometime they can't really hear the vtec open sound. Same like my Euro R also, but most of the time got vtec open sound. Sometime only don't hear that sound. Even though the stock standard gear ratio also not so good as we think! The topspeed also so-so only!.

Do keep in mind that Accord H22A engine not really meant for performance, due to heavy accord chasis + heavy engine/crank. It is more suitable for hway cruising. etc.

wah... vtec engaging point so unstable one ar? hehehe, yeah, i dun expect much frm H22A engine as i do know its more on smooth power deliver thn a sudden urge power deliver. but i was dissapointed with it as it doesnt seems as responsive as my previous 2.2l SOHC vtec accord (also SV4) but as i mentioned, it maybe due to 5 person on load. so next try will be 2 person only and see how it is. The rev needle wasnt any faster not to mentioned about the vtec sound as i do pay attention to hear it. anyway im suprise to hear fmr you that the top speed is so so only. coz on my previous Sv4, i can hit 200kmh easily. heeheheheh

Thr is also a H23A engine rite?

JEBON said:
HAI NORM. wat r the extras 4 interiors n exteriors 4 the car?

Erm... what u mean bro? hehehe, there is nothing extra gadgets on the car. all stock excpet it had a open pod filter plus chrome engine head. oh yeah, 17" rim plus crossdrill disc. whahahaha

normality78 said:
wah... vtec engaging point so unstable one ar? hehehe, yeah, i dun expect much frm H22A engine as i do know its more on smooth power deliver thn a sudden urge power deliver. but i was dissapointed with it as it doesnt seems as responsive as my previous 2.2l SOHC vtec accord (also SV4) but as i mentioned, it maybe due to 5 person on load. so next try will be 2 person only and see how it is. The rev needle wasnt any faster not to mentioned about the vtec sound as i do pay attention to hear it. anyway im suprise to hear fmr you that the top speed is so so only. coz on my previous Sv4, i can hit 200kmh easily. heeheheheh

Thr is also a H23A engine rite?

Normality,
There is also H23A DOHC Vtec, 2.3cc engine. Originated from CH9 wagon chasis. BTW, it's only tiptronic tranmission. Blue cover engine which rated 200ps by HOnda.(Heard from Speedwork guy that they dynoed 1 H23A, result : 13+ whp only)
S. Alam got 1, red color SV4. From what i heard, after MODIFY, quite power. Donno how much power la!.

Topspeed wise for black cover H22A, in stock standard 220 kmh should be any problem. As for my Euro R, honda quoted my topspeed should be 259 kmh. The highest speed so far was 223 kmh. (with 15% throttle left). Don't really know can achieved that speed or not, cause the 5th gear pretty weak!.

Anyway, good luck to u!

aja said:
Normality,
There is also H23A DOHC Vtec, 2.3cc engine. Originated from CH9 wagon chasis. BTW, it's only tiptronic tranmission. Blue cover engine which rated 200ps by HOnda.(Heard from Speedwork guy that they dynoed 1 H23A, result : 13+ whp only)
S. Alam got 1, red color SV4. From what i heard, after MODIFY, quite power. Donno how much power la!.

Topspeed wise for black cover H22A, in stock standard 220 kmh should be any problem. As for my Euro R, honda quoted my topspeed should be 259 kmh. The highest speed so far was 223 kmh. (with 15% throttle left). Don't really know can achieved that speed or not, cause the 5th gear pretty weak!.

Anyway, good luck to u!

Cool.... Tks for all the info bro