Single or Twins

farizio

So, everyone knows the GTR camp is split into two

Response mad twin turbo guys and Wangan single turbo psychopaths

I know this topic has been flogged to death countless times, but here it is again, maybe for the benefit of the newer guys...

....but the real reason i put this up is because long term GTR owners always seem to end up with the single route, and the twin guys always go for garrett/HKS 2530 turbo's (as if no other twin setup existed... and probably from watching too many MINES videos)

so here we go, SINGLE OR TWINS??

(this thread sure bnyk controversy/drama...nyahahaha!)

wahh...this i gotta follow.

I've never been with twins..i mean, I've never ridden on twins...i mean...that didn't come out right.

farizio, can a single turbo setup be responsive or are you saying that having a set of twins is MORE responsive than a single one comparatively?

what are you talking about? of course SINGLE TURBO FOR THE WIN!

Putting horsepower aside, single is definately less maintenance compared to twins. You have double the wastegates, oil and water lines, plumbing and if one of either component fails, it's hell of of job to check probably ends up pulling both system apart. Take is as having two gf's or two wives or two mistresses.

Many drag set-up's uses single, T-51KAI/SPL but if you are daring enough and still wanted twins, then a pair of GT3040's ... Basically, if you are not a hp's freak (say below 600), keeping the original set-up would be running twins. Else, single is definately less headache and cleaner bay. Ultimately, is one setting up the car for drags or for circuit racing?

Personally, I prefer running twins coz I love headache ... :biggrin:

hihihi..ya..more headache...more things u learn about.....:biggrin::biggrin:

Leave stock then no problem loh :-) but i think single & reasonable sized turbo would be good... then again it depends on your usage, i rather have smooth torque then lag and GILA-POWER

fariz: take out the jet engine from your planes and plonk it into yr car la

wahh...this i gotta follow.

I've never been with twins..i mean, I've never ridden on twins...i mean...that didn't come out right.

farizio, can a single turbo setup be responsive or are you saying that having a set of twins is MORE responsive than a single one comparatively?

smaller twin turbos mean less lag, and this is the stock setup (RB26 has the turbos in PARALLEL, other engines like 2JZ have them in sequential) and (almost) immediate response, but generate more heat

big singles are laggier (T04Z's develop boost at around 4000-ish rpm...below that no puff) but develop a LOT more power, and when it comes in..... macam milennium falcon masuk HYPERSPACE!

I think most guys here on the forum are more interested in running single (esp the more senior/veteran/orang lama GTR owners) since they use it mostly for street

but how about GTR owners who are regular track junkies? any thoughts? of couse twins are better suited for the track but in Japan, a lot of guys run T88's on the circuit (crazy corner exits!)

It's all boiled back to personal preferences..some like immediate response and some like sudden kick in the butt response! I have been trying to answer this question to myself but till now, no real answer yet and still messing with the twins....

For you all over at the West, single is much much more preferable because you all have the nice straight road to gut it all the way. Whereas over at the East, sadly to say, we don't have such road and traffic lights are all over the roads!! :banghead: :banghead: :banghead: So, majority of the GTR owner still stay with twin for these short road response....:bawling: :bawling: :bawling:

I have to agreed that for bigger HP one must go for single and that's no doubt about it, as twin set up are unable to give you as much as a single can :adore: :adore: :adore: So, here are pro's and con's from both set up...Response OR Power?!? :hmmmm: :hmmmm::hmmmm:

We as men are never satisfied. Sometimes you just want one. Sometimes you want to have fun with twins. When you have one, you always wish for the latter...
Don't you think so... :biggrin:

Darkchild...u talking about cars or....something else? hehehehe...

Can an RB25DET be converted to RB25DETT? :) I.e. can I play with twins w/ my car?

twins are fun to layan corners and stuff, and i like to take corners

but i want to be able to leave any Evo's or even Ferrari's in just one stab of the throttle muahahaha

I'd go for a single turbo with a 3.0 anyday. On the stock 2.6 displacement hmmm... :(

RB25DETT

taishou0802-img600x450-123244168-1.jpg

RE: i want to be able to leave any Evo's or even Ferrari's in just one stab of the throttle

If u really want one stab2 leave every evo or Ferrari then, i suggest u take twin IHI turbo

It's really V respone...

RE: i want to be able to leave any Evo's or even Ferrari's in just one stab of the throttle

If u really want one stab2 leave every evo or Ferrari then, i suggest u take twin IHI turbo

It's really V respone...

on the highway i mean... at 200 kph... drop gear terus blah.... leave them wondering