Singapore impose Max 50% loan for Motor Vehicle

YYC

Dec 30, 2007
Let's compare my income = RM1,500 (disposable=RM1,327) to buy a Viva 1.0 automatic in these 3 scenarios:

Scenario 1
Current Price = RM37,000
Loan margin = 90% @4%int
Tenure = 9 years
Monthly instalment = RM420

As a bachelor my monthly expenses as follows:
Room rental = RM250 (19%)
Food = RM450 (34%)
Phone bill = RM100 (7%)
Car loan = RM420 (32%)
Petrol (FC=15km/L, distance=1500km, RON95) = RM200 (15%)
Car maintenance (RM100/service every 4 mths) = RM25 (2%)
TOTAL MONTHLY EXPENSES = RM1,445 (109% of my income)

Note: See that I'm having a monthly shortfall of RM118 and I will have 3 months of loan arrear on the 10th month of car ownership
(3-mth arrear=RM420x3=RM1,260, RM1,260/RM118=10.6months).

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Scenario 2
Price without excise duty = RM21,143
Loan margin = 90% @4%int
Tenure = 9 years
Monthly instalment = RM240

Food = RM450 (34%)
Phone bill = RM100 (7%)
Car loan = RM240 (18%)
TOTAL MONTHLY EXPENSES = RM1,265 (95% of my income)
SAVINGS = RM62
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Scenario 3
Current Price = RM37,000
Loan margin = 50% @4%int
Tenure = 9 years
Monthly instalment = RM233

Food = RM450 (34%)
Phone bill = RM100 (7%)
Car loan = RM233 (18%)
TOTAL MONTHLY EXPENSES = RM1,258 (95% of my income)
SURPLUS = RM69
Note: In this case if I can fork out 50% down payment for the Viva la, of course.

My financial status and life would be better off without a car. Ride a cupchai or a Kawasaki Ninja 150RR with more monthly cash surplus to keep.

Waiora_ProTuner

Nov 29, 2006
Anyone having better financial status and life WITH a car? compared to without a car?
Heck! You could go with eating Maggi for better financial status and life..

Owh, please calculate for me if I choose to buy second hand Viva/Kancil...better choice instead...

Let's compare my income = RM1,500 (disposable=RM1,327) to buy a Viva
With RM1500 income I won't even think of a car, some more new one.....:smokin:

---------- Post added at 07:56 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:53 AM ----------

bank wont even loan...
:biggrin:

will tell them to :thefinger: instead...

:rofl:
They will loan, make money mah! but will see how much can loan....:biggrin:

LesleyAprotto

Banned
Jun 16, 2012
at least they got proper public transport....

not to say this restriction is fair la... kesian to lower income group too
Yup, I fully agreed to your statement, their public transport system so efficient,
sometimes felt a bit lazy to even drive, my Singaporean friend told me...

Whats the point of owning fast cars there?

No room to speed, cameras everywhere....

But when the Singaporean cross to Malaysia, they will speed like birds let out of the cage! :star::flybye:

Yup, I fully agreed to your statement, their public transport system so efficient,

But when the Singaporean cross to Malaysia, they will speed like birds let out of the cage! :star::flybye:
Owning a car in Singapore you also need a place to keep it. My cousin in HPD flats, have to pay parking 24/7, yup 24 hours.....:smokin:

kcng

Jun 24, 2008
kcng1983.blogspot.com

u seriously think singaporeans dont want to own a car even with world class public transport?
then i salute you.... for living under a bowl...

With RM1500 income I won't even think of a car, some more new one.....:smokin:

They will loan, make money mah! but will see how much can loan....:biggrin:
wah default become NPL wor... NPL means the income for the bank will come later after all the sue sue thing is settled....
if i am a bank ah, i will tell this kind of ppl to :thefinger:.... i wont borrow to them also...

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Even with this new rule, I don't think it is more difficult to live in singapore than in malaysia. Don't just look at the new rule. Take into consideration other aspects especially average salary, cost of living and public transport.

u seriously think singaporeans dont want to own a car even with world class public transport?
then i salute you.... for living under a bowl...

wah default become NPL wor... NPL means the income for the bank will come later after all the sue sue thing is settled....
if i am a bank ah, i will tell this kind of ppl to :thefinger:.... i wont borrow to them also...
That is why I mention see how much they can loan you. You credential not good, then no loan loh! like my friend went and default one time kena black list.....:biggrin:

pangyau

Oct 17, 2009
Veloc,
Average SG people also suffer now...
Everything getting expensive and loosing jobs.
Their company replacing the local professional to import professional...
Cheap labor with high production...
Probably incoming few million foreigner from Chinaland to fill SG...
SG people also protesting... COE also implemented on motorcycle not just cars.
Even after 65 years old they still need to work...

You can die but you cannot sick in SG...
You may read the SG news everywhere...

Veloc,
Average SG people also suffer now...
Everything getting expensive and loosing jobs.
Their company replacing the local professional to import professional...
Cheap labor with high production...
Probably incoming few million foreigner from Chinaland to fill SG...
SG people also protesting... COE also implemented on motorcycle not just cars.
Even after 65 years old they still need to work...

You can die but you cannot sick in SG...
You may read the SG news everywhere...
Very true. My counter part factory in SG, hires Chinese from China for their R & D dept.,...:hmmmm:

Hi all sifus,

Would just like to know what you all think about the above-mentioned title?

Been hearing quite a number of debates about it.

Some say if you have good suspension (high-end brand or custom) you dont need any strut bars or brace or ARB. Then there are some who say, with bars or brace or ARB is better even thought stock suspension.

Then there are also some who said if you have a good set of suspension, putting on struts or brace or ARB is of little or no use. Some even...