Sepang Open Day

Originally posted by endless551@Apr 16 2005, 21:55
oh yeah.. to add on to the above more efficient combustionalso equals cleaner/more complete combustion hence it won the 2003 engine of the year award which prior to that kills rotary for not being able to pass many countries srict emmision control standard.
[snapback]903397[/snapback]​

you are selling rotary engines isit? :P :lol:
will rotary engines suffer with heavy cars?
havent heard of a torquey rotary b4 :P

alot of continental cars now come with 80% of max torque at a very wide band, havent seen a rotary at that state of tune before.
most i've seen are high revving machines

Originally posted by boggysv+Apr 16 2005, 22:38 -->
QUOTE(boggysv @ Apr 16 2005, 22:38 )
https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/tongue.gif alt='tongue.gif' /> https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif alt='laugh.gif' />
will rotary engines suffer with heavy cars?
havent heard of a torquey rotary b4 https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/tongue.gif alt='tongue.gif' />

alot of continental cars now come with 80% of max torque at a very wide band, havent seen a rotary at that state of tune before.
most i've seen are high revving machines
[snapback]903483[/snapback]​
[/b]

Good point, its meant to race.. haha.. torque curve characteristic similar to conventional power curve and mine peaks at about 6500rpm... u got to rev it like a vtec! .. Its lack of torque at low engine speed greatly contributes to the bad fuel consumption. SInce rotating motion allows higher engine speed compared to reciprocating motion, but having the drawback of not being able to produce enough torque at lower rev due to its bathtub combustion chamber design as well as the engine as a whole.. i guess thats when turbo comes into the picture. haven't driven an NA rotary before.. whose got an rx8 to take me for a spin?

Btw.. shall we stop here or move this thread to Mazda section. Might get flamed by the moderator soon and boring to some readers.. running off topic.

thanks for ur input endless bro, would lov to know much more if u willing to talk! :D maybe can talk over yum char one day soon? frankly i'm quite intrigue with this wankel engine, but sadly the sexy rx7 is juz not practical enuf for me...now if mazda would juz put a rotary in a 2 dr hatch ala interplay...speaking bout vtec, if rotary haf sumthing similar that would be so stim also... :D

Originally posted by Torment@Apr 18 2005, 14:32
thanks for ur input endless bro, would lov to know much more if u willing to talk! https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif alt='biggrin.gif' /> maybe can talk over yum char one day soon? frankly i'm quite intrigue with this wankel engine, but sadly the sexy rx7 is juz not practical enuf for me...now if mazda would juz put a rotary in a 2 dr hatch ala interplay...speaking bout vtec, if rotary haf sumthing similar that would be so stim also... https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif alt='biggrin.gif' />
[snapback]907145[/snapback]​

Maybe u could come up with an idea of variable port area (Valve lift control in vtec) and variable port trailing or leading edge extension (valve timing control in vtec) for both volume and overlap control.. hahahaha..

Btw.. do u know rotary engine is the easiest engine to be transplanted into any car(due to its size simplicity of mounting pts.) and also the most commonly rojak in places like australia. Lately ive even seen a 4wd WRX with 13bT REW engine... U could b the first!!

ha ha if rotary succeed in implementing that then maybe the days of reciprocating engine are numbered.

erm, rotary haf simple mountings? how so bro endless?

may i ask u guys , wat is the slowest car u had seen in the SIC ??
i was wonder is my car can enter or not? haha, L2

howiechoo said:
may i ask u guys , wat is the slowest car u had seen in the SIC ??
i was wonder is my car can enter or not? haha, L2
1a7.jpg

this is THE slowest car ever to be on SIC. slow car, lousy driver...

most of the car.. is slow in the track but so fast in the pit lane.. i wonder y..anyway ifu going to drive ur kancil in.. then go dude... dont worry about fast or slow.. just enjoy the drive...

thanks....i will try to do it,, with my fren datsun 120Y and another 2 wiralution and 2 Vtec
hope to see u guys there..but please dun laugh at me..hohoho

Fiki said:
most of the car.. is slow in the track but so fast in the pit lane.. i wonder y..anyway ifu going to drive ur kancil in.. then go dude... dont worry about fast or slow.. just enjoy the drive...

hahahahahahaha... i extremely agree with fiki's statement tu!!

saya budak baru belajar,
- sagaburuk -