Semi auto or manual ??

thirdeyes

Oct 8, 2012
sabah
Been modding till stage 2 . Semi auto gear box start to clutch slip . And circlip bearing broken need to be fix . What do you guys think ? Semi auto or manual Awd ? Cos price to fix the semi auto gear box are round the price of buying an 2nd handed Evo gear box ..

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
for a modified engine,especially if the torque is at a level dat an auto cant handle anymore,getting a manual gb with uprated clutch system is adviceable

stutzedward

May 27, 2009
If I am u, I'll fix the AT cos I use it daily n it's jammy traffic daily. But if yr situation is different, the manual tranny all the way! Good for pickup, power n FUN!

thirdeyes

Oct 8, 2012
sabah
Seldom drive the car . Only night time and week end drive . But I love the auto gearbox very much .. But sadly it can't hold the power of the engine any more ....

AvanT

Custom fabricator & CNC machining
Mar 20, 2009
Been modding till stage 2 . Semi auto gear box start to clutch slip . And circlip bearing broken need to be fix . What do you guys think ? Semi auto or manual Awd ? Cos price to fix the semi auto gear box are round the price of buying an 2nd handed Evo gear box ..
Here's my answer to your question =D

kaninbu

Dec 2, 2008
if u planning to sprint n as weekend car,go manual n keep the 4wd cos need the traction.real guys use 3 pedal....
if town driving n lazy type,go auto keep 4wd or 2wd will do

necr_o

Sep 14, 2006
Go for manual and keep AWD.. It might be more expensive intially but it removes the limitation of the autobox...

Cheers..

steven_323f

Apr 11, 2010
BM,Pulau Pinang
I always choose 3 pedal!

AvanT

Custom fabricator & CNC machining
Mar 20, 2009
Hi bro thirdeyes, any idea what hp & torque your trek in putting out since U've unleash more potential in your trek?
I doubt any local transmission specialist would dare to guarantee they can re-build it to handle our modded trek's power.
At least not locally, perhaps some ppl in the States or UK, so expect to pay premium for it.
I chose to go manual coz I knew the autobox will surely give up 1 day in a 4G63T, even in stock form, with my aggressive driving.

thirdeyes

Oct 8, 2012
sabah
Seriesly ... I need a 4x4 dyno in Sabah .. Lol . All my tunning are in the road tune . We have no idea how much Hp output in my car . I only know that 1st gear my trek can't even run in full throttle, it's feel like really laggy . But after polling out the GB oil, it's all brown black & tiny metal dust . That's why I'm sure my clutch had burn it. Only gentle drive have no problem bout it . Lol . I have ask sky sifu bout using Auto . He told me the only thing I can do is order a torque converter and other stuff that can hold for 400 whp .and might cost bout 7-8k to upgrade it . Sky still advice me to go for manual ... Lol p.s sifu told me west Malaysia then can upgrade the GB.

stutzedward

May 27, 2009
Bro... if you really want performance, just go for manual. AT can be built for performance but it's more complex and expensive. Not to mention the reliability. With manual stock gb from Evo, it can easily handle 350hp no problem.

thirdeyes

Oct 8, 2012
sabah
I will consider bout using manual . I wonder what parts do I need to find or change by using AWD . And that bout our OEM ECU ?and 5 or 6 speed ?