Satria 1.3 is it legal to mod to 1.5 or 1.6?

GrimReaper

Sep 23, 2004
hi everyone,
just 1 2 get ur opinion n suggestion. i am currently driving a 2002 manual 1.3 satria stock engine with 4-2-1 extrator n mod piping n exsos. i am planning to change my engine for better performance. the question is which 1 is legal to change into. 1.5 or 1.6? if 1.6 is 4G91 rite? i dun 1 2 change den after tat haf to 'suap' JPJ kopi o. i mean after 'so-called approval' if i change to 1.6 den they always kacau. so, which 1 is really legal to change in to?and if u do have the price for both engine, please inform me as well.

and, another ques,i had my extractor change 2 mths ago. b4 that, my petrol consumption was $60 for 400km - 420km. now, since i changed it, it's taking me for $60 for 330km - 350km (dun take the price hike as reason). was it bcos of the extractor changes or wat?

i got few more questions to ask as i am still new in the world of car modification. hopefull u guys can help me out. so i save my few questions once i get those 2 questions clearify. thank you.

AshXT

Apr 4, 2005
1.5 can be 4G15/4G91, while 1.6 can be 4G18/4G92/4G61

These are common engines found in M'sia

MIVEC-1.8

Aug 18, 2004
to change to 1.5, no problem lah bro.. but to change to 1.6, you will require the approval from bahagian teknik JPJ putrajaya. this is due beside upgrading the engine, you also need to upgrade the brake, suspension, bla.. bla.. bla.. as well....

spyderslr

Mar 1, 2004
1.3 to 1.6 is no problem........btw, i just heard from my mech tat JPJ has just recently approved the regulation for upgrading from 1.3 to 1.8 but no more 2.0.....this is for proton cars lerr....others i not sure.....anyway, still waiting for proper confirmation on tat.....

GrimReaper

Sep 23, 2004
i know when change to 1.6, u nit to change here n thr only can approve. but, is it still really legal without kacau from jpj? change to either 1.5 or 1.6 of cos still nit kopi-o $$ lar, tat's common but i not sure which 1 to change yet unless u all experts tell me. anyway, thanks for replying my thread but i nit to know lor which 1 is 'convinient' lar if u know wat i mean. :)

spyderslr

Mar 1, 2004
once u get thru jpj then u r safe lahh....but u still need runners help to get ur approval fast....hence some duit kopi to make it faster if u want....haiya normal lah, some motivation mah........but anyway, in a road block, they can still find 1001 reasons to kacau u even if ur car is standard......on normal circumstances, they wun trouble u one lerr.....

bobo

Jun 16, 2005
Klang Mali
when u change engine... just change all for to brembo disc brake lo.. hehehe.. then just prepare a bit of kaw tim money la cause u know la... they will say breaking system not good la.. this la that la... just for $$$$...

GrimReaper

Sep 23, 2004
bobo said:
when u change engine... just change all for to brembo disc brake lo.. hehehe.. then just prepare a bit of kaw tim money la cause u know la... they will say breaking system not good la.. this la that la... just for $$$$...

hi bobo,
thanks for the advice.anyway, i oledi change my front disc brake to 1.6.not sure wat brand is that but cost me almost to $500 along changes to clippers,pump n brake pad too.

so what u all mention is that it is legal to change to 1.6 rite?just tat nit to do sum changes n so on rite?how much budget shud i allocate for it?4k - 5k enuf ah?wat i can get is 1.5 around 4k-4.5k plus kopi-0 $$, half-cut for 1.5 Lancer engine. how much is the market price for that engine? just da engine i can get at $3.2k plus plus minus minus the rest of charges. btw,i'm stayin in pj n pls dun recommend far far place 1 lar. thanks. =)

bobo

Jun 16, 2005
Klang Mali
maybe u can try finding 1.5 twin cam.... its a good engine.. but i'm not sure how much it is.. hehehe...

badguy

Jun 15, 2004
brother your prices is too expensive for an 1.5 DOHC injection = 4G91 EFI

from my research 4G91 EFI auto half cut RM1.8k (mileage 40-50K) - RM2k (mileage 30k "more than that more cheap")

4G91 EFI manual half cut RM2.4 - 2.6k (mileage 30-50K)

installation and replacement part depend on workshop some RM 1,200 some RM 600
you have to look for your self!

i know one workshop at klang quote me at RM 2.4k halfcut 4G91 mileage lower than 40K installation RM 600. total RM 3000 (no need tear and wear part because the engine still new and can used)
JPJ kau tiam your self!! many forumer say just RM 50 from 1.3 to 1.5 no need ko pii $$

gsrTurbo9166

Apr 23, 2005
juz is y experience
i change my car from 1.3 to 1.6 mivec last time no pro
n now change 1.3 to 1.8 gsr oso no pro
but need the letter from putrajaya jpj to go to check my car from puspakom
n now no pro with police around juz drive past them n some more bov sound quite loud oso no kacau
but my fren say it really no more 1.3 to 2.0
dunno y???
may b very dangerous for 1.3 chasis

gsrTurbo9166

Apr 23, 2005
so no pro mod 1.3 to 1.6
4 1.6 juz need the approval letter from putrajaya jpj that is
but it need to take some time

GrimReaper

Sep 23, 2004
badguy said:
brother your prices is too expensive for an 1.5 DOHC injection = 4G91 EFI

from my research 4G91 EFI auto half cut RM1.8k (mileage 40-50K) - RM2k (mileage 30k "more than that more cheap")

4G91 EFI manual half cut RM2.4 - 2.6k (mileage 30-50K)

installation and replacement part depend on workshop some RM 1,200 some RM 600
you have to look for your self!

i know one workshop at klang quote me at RM 2.4k halfcut 4G91 mileage lower than 40K installation RM 600. total RM 3000 (no need tear and wear part because the engine still new and can used)
JPJ kau tiam your self!! many forumer say just RM 50 from 1.3 to 1.5 no need ko pii $$
yo bro,
mind to give me the address of the klang shop so tat i can go test it out?thanks anyway, is it advisable to get the engine whr the mileage is more than for example more than 50km? JPJ can kao tim so no prob. based on experiences, 4G91 how is it?ok or not 1?i mean for once in a while kacau orang race race like tat ...den summore extractor nit to change or not? wat else nit to be changed once if i get 4G91?

edmunz85

May 4, 2006
try this

depends la bro wat u want...top speed or drag speed...1.3 to 1.6 confirm no kacau but when u send puspakom let da runners do... or not this pegawai will reject even when ur car is perfect..i changed mine 4m 1.3 to 1.6 4g92 sohc.need to change absobers,brake most important.coz 1.6 engine more heavy wat.i mod my car2get drag speed wif n/a.i bought 1.6 auto sohc engine.remained my 1.3 g/box.y auto engine coz da auto ecu can rev higher.but da con is can only go up2around 140-150kmh..then dangerous.but drag speed quite fast.can sapu lotsa n/a..gti oso can fight..its up2u wat u want but this is wat i did n i'm using it4 2 years d n still fast...end of the year wanna PNP then fight wif gti...correct me if i'm wrong..tc...cheers

calling all sifus, my dashbod panel now is wooden type (the one covering around aircond panel, radio player and meter). pretty ugly to me coz nuting in my car hav dat wooden design. plan to use carbon fiber sticker on it. izit possible as the panel got lots of curve here and there???? anyone done it b4.. anyway where can get cf sticker the one looks like real quality, most i saw doesnt look nice coz really looks printed one lor... help