SAFC or VAFC on Myvi?

chrissiew

Every SIFU and Pro senior here, did you know Myvi 1.3 DVVT use SAFC or VAFC better? Confusing me cause my friend say that Myvi similar like toyota VVTI or Honda Vtec so that use VAFC to control the ECU is better for Myvi, is that true? Some more the Avanza 1.3 VVTi ECU can plug and play in Myvi or not? Cause i saw the Spec for Avanza 1.3 VVTi is more powerful than Myvi but both are the same engine rite?

should use safc,coz i been seen much of myvi using that.for the avanza i have no ideal la...

some of my friend say myvi have DVVT similar to MIVEC or VTEC, then use the VAFC is better than SAFC. Is it correct? And what is the different of DVVT and VVTi?

Last edited by a moderator:
VAFC is usually used on VTEC/MIVEC systems where the camshaft itself can switch profiles. Perhaps it can even be used on Campro CPS.

But DVVT does not really have different cam profiles. What happens is that it's like an adjustable cam pulley, but the adjustments are done on the fly according to load and throttle position/movements. So in this case VAFC is not applicable. You should go for electronics designed for VVTi and iVTEC.

A bit of trivia though; the current generation of MIVEC is still based on cam-profile switching and not variable cam-phasing.

VAFC is usually used on VTEC/MIVEC systems where the camshaft itself can switch profiles. Perhaps it can even be used on Campro CPS.

But DVVT does not really have different cam profiles. What happens is that it's like an adjustable cam pulley, but the adjustments are done on the fly according to load and throttle position/movements. So in this case VAFC is not applicable. You should go for electronics designed for VVTi and iVTEC.

A bit of trivia though; the current generation of MIVEC is still based on cam-profile switching and not variable cam-phasing.

Vtec b series got variable cam-phasing or not?
prozac does campro CPS engine durable enough for high revving?few of my fren got problem when modding their current campro engine...such as broken camshaft and overheat..i'm not condemning campro as i also use proton product, just wanted a clear picture of campro engine durability

If not mistaken u can not use VAFC as my fren sentra with VTC that using NEO also can not open the VTEC controller..
Better check with shop that sell..
Good Luck..

Every SIFU and Pro senior here, did you know Myvi 1.3 DVVT use SAFC or VAFC better? Confusing me cause my friend say that Myvi similar like toyota VVTI or Honda Vtec so that use VAFC to control the ECU is better for Myvi, is that true? Some more the Avanza 1.3 VVTi ECU can plug and play in Myvi or not? Cause i saw the Spec for Avanza 1.3 VVTi is more powerful than Myvi but both are the same engine rite?

Same engine with the same ECU in 2 different type of cars will offer different performance result. One important factor to consider is the weight to power ratio. Put myvi engine in a Kancil, it will fly, but put into a mercedes, the car will just crawl at best.

VAFC is used to control engines with variable cam lifting technology (VVTL-i, Vtec, Double Vanos, etc). Myvi's engine is a variable cam phasing technology (VVT-i, VTi, i-Vtec, etc). Cam lifting technology is mostly for performance whereas cam phasing is for fuel efficiency. So, if you want to enhance performance of your myvi... get a SAFC. Or if you want to go a little further, get an E-Manage by Greddy/Trust.