S13/S15/sr20det

carcraze

I am looking for a S13 or S15 to play with. Although not many can be found here in Malaysia but I believe those that are available would be heard of. Actually my concern is on the below topics:

1. Maintenance of the car?
2. Reliability of a sr20det. (especially gearbox)
3. What is the second-hand cost of a s13/s15 w/o mods?
4. What mods has anyone done to a Silvia? How much does it cost? Experience sharing.
5. Handling advise from a front wheeler to a rear wheeler?
6. Other disadvantages / advantages of having one? Second car.

Just need advise in this fields. If can't answer all, 1 answer is also good enough. Need the knowledge if I'm looking to get one. To all great sifus, tor tor chi kau.

How do you define 'to play with'? Circuit? Drag? Drift?

To answer your question generally:

1) Generally zero maintainance if you drive normally on the street, unless you drift the car. Drifting spoil everything.

2) How much power are you talking about here? Stock SR20 engine and gearbox are VERY VERY reliable.

3) You can get a S13 for around RM50k depending on mods. Very unlikely to get a un-modded one. S15 will cost above RM120k easily.

4) I have done a considerable amount of mods into my Silvia, it still looks stock though...

5) Don't drive fast in the rain! :P

6) Advantage: Fun (when going sideways); Disadvantage: Not fun (when bang/wallet leaking)

Haha... :D Good one on the wallet thingy. Thanks a bundle.

Well, I'm not really a racer even with my Wira VR4 now. Unless there are those EKs that come cucuk me from behind, I might do something..... :D But I think my definition of 'play with' would be as a weekend car, to drive around town, maybe the MRR2 and see who I can cucuk.... :lol:

How much does the stock SR20 and stock gearbox produce? I heard about the SR20 gearbox that it's not realiable....is it true?

I believe the S13 comes with a flip headlight. Don't really fancy that. How much is the bodykit for the S15? Can it fit into the S13?

Hey do you have a pic of your Silvia? Would like to have a look?

Driving fast when it rains...haha...that's one really big disadvantage if I've just washed my car. Hahha.....

"would be as a weekend car, to drive around town, maybe the MRR2 and see who I can cucuk.... "
hmm i advice not to get a silvia then. as its meant to go side ways.. it is best at sideways anyway... trust me. on wet, you wont be going anywhere.. just scaring those evo then you r going sideways. lolol.

You wont be driving fast in a silvia... 99% of the silvia owners i know dont drive fast at all.. not accounted when they are going side ways. :)

s13 came in rps13 and s13, one which is pop up lights the other the is flat square eyes. s15 front body parts should be around 5k +

sr20 produces 200hp. and above. depending on which generation. the only "weak" sr20 gearbox is the s15 6 speed. Best is the 2nd gen s14.

Mr.Nismo,Zee...what is the top speed SR20det ? i've not tried yet..takut takut... :huh:...and yes...i dont drive fast too...spun once last week :ph34r: :ph34r:

Originally posted by SR20Charlie@Dec 28 2004, 12:58
haha....zee, s2000 gearbox stronger or s15?
Definitely S2000 gearbox... S15 gearbox is crap... faster sell the S15 and get a S2000.

"Heh heh heh..." <- Zee

Originally posted by carcraze@Dec 28 2004, 09:39
Haha... :D Good one on the wallet thingy. Thanks a bundle.

Well, I'm not really a racer even with my Wira VR4 now. Unless there are those EKs that come cucuk me from behind, I might do something..... :D But I think my definition of 'play with' would be as a weekend car, to drive around town, maybe the MRR2 and see who I can cucuk.... :lol:

How much does the stock SR20 and stock gearbox produce? I heard about the SR20 gearbox that it's not realiable....is it true?

I believe the S13 comes with a flip headlight. Don't really fancy that. How much is the bodykit for the S15? Can it fit into the S13?

Hey do you have a pic of your Silvia? Would like to have a look?

Driving fast when it rains...haha...that's one really big disadvantage if I've just washed my car. Hahha.....
Don't even think of cucuk'ing anyone with the Silvia. SR20's are darn underpowered when stock.

Stock S13 SR20 will produce around 205hp on engine, whereas the S15 SR20 around 250hp on engine. Depending on your engine condition, some may have as low as 180hp on wheels or 150hp on wheels.

Driving fast in the rain with a chicken RWD like the Silvia means getting yourself into deepshit. Hehehe.

Originally posted by eci@Dec 28 2004, 12:20
Mr.Nismo,Zee...what is the top speed SR20det ? i've not tried yet..takut takut... :huh:...and yes...i dont drive fast too...spun once last week :ph34r: :ph34r:
The top speed of SR20DET stock is 7500RPM. :P

Fastest I've driven in the S13 is not more than 200kmh.

MrNismo,
The one thing I like about the Silvia is it's look. I would prefer the flat square lights better than the pop up? If you say that the sr20 stock can produce 200hp, how about a modded one in a Nissan Sentra ( old model ), white colour, with NOS that I saw in Chow Yang the other day. How much do you think that can produce? Do you know about that car?
How about if I change to a RB33?
What engine does the S13 comes with ( stock ) and how much horses?
What is a s2000 gearbox?

zee,
I think a little bit kau cheong right? :D I believe the car can do more than sideways right? hahaha.....A silly question, what is it's comparison between a subaru ( pick-up, maintenance, etc. )

No I do not know about the car you mentioned.

Putting a RB into the Silvia will disrupt it's weight distribution thus affect it's handling characteristics, not to mention the hassle you're going through to build and transplant a stroked up RB30, and not even taking into account whether the chassis is going to take the torque the engine is going to churn out.

The S13 comes with a few types of engine: the CA18DE, CA18DET, SR20DE and SR20DET.

The S2000 gearbox is the gearbox of the Honda S2000.

Originally posted by MrNismo+Dec 28 2004, 13:29 -->
QUOTE (MrNismo @ Dec 28 2004, 13:29 )
--QuoteBegin-SR20Charlie
@Dec 28 2004, 12:58
haha....zee, s2000 gearbox stronger or s15?

Definitely S2000 gearbox... S15 gearbox is crap... faster sell the S15 and get a S2000.

"Heh heh heh..." b][/quote]
Yeah S2000 6 speed definately can last longer the s15's 6 speed :) lolol.
so if you really planning to get a super cool S2000 man's ride. can sell the girl's favorite sports coupe the Silvia car to me at a low price. lolool :) i'm serious lol.
(Seriously 200sx was one of the top choice in UK for the girls lololol )

Btw, back to topic.. silvias are meant to be with sr20dets.. and in stock bottom i think you can pump up to 350hp i guess.. still gota spend money.. better then placing in a rb26dettttttt which will screw up the balance :)

Stock S13 SR20 will produce around 205hp on engine, whereas the S15 SR20 around 250hp on engine. Depending on your engine condition, some may have as low as 180hp on wheels or 150hp on wheels.

:lol: :lol: :lol:

nah....i lurrrvee the silvia :P

now abit confused as to how to proceed wif the wat-to-do-with-the-stupid-car plan....sigh....maybe gotta buy mrnismo a nice dinner n chat wif him abt it...

anyways....a belated merry xmas and an even happier new year to all the nissan gang :D

Originally posted by Jebu@Dec 29 2004, 09:14

:lol: :lol: :lol:
game over..
someone play big liow nowday

Originally posted by MrNismo@Dec 28 2004, 18:24
The S13 comes with a few types of engine: the CA18DE, CA18DET, SR20DE and SR20DET.
you left out the RB20DET.. :rolleyes:

So which one is the best of all the engines? Can it be the SR20DET?

Heard from my friend that the SR20DET is a good engine. Anyone has an opposite opinion? How about the spare-parts? Cheap and easy to get?

cmng: me not like u ..me old man .. me no more budget to play with hp anymore .... so wat ever sh*t ...just swallow only lah ..... pls revenge for me on behalf of sr20..tnx ..

btw .i have no budget to increase hp on my stupid engine ... but i can decrease others hp without their knowledge...muahahahhaha .....u hear this???JEBU!!!

game-over..
i old also. cannot fight jebu monster
only what i can do it fight with him with petrol comsumption