RX7 (FD3S) or The New Type R

bushidofang

'(00) Lurker
hi people. just wanted some thoughts on which do you prefer, as stated on the title above. let's just say, the RX7 is built on reliabilty and daily-driven, but retaining it's stock power which is 280bhp..:proud:

It's because one friend of mine, who clearly doesn't know much about cars, keep telling me that the new Type R is much better than the FD3s, in terms of looks and power. Forget the reliabilty.:stupid:

If you had a choice, which do you prefer? You can state your opinions in terms of power, looks, reliabilty (don't forget the FD3S is built for reliabilty according to this thread) and others. :biggrin: '

and don't go flaming each other because this is not posted in a specific car make thread or something. just something to proove to that friend of mine:stupid: and also for others.

Last edited by a moderator:
Brother... it all depends what u wanna do with the car lar... if its gonna be a daily driven car... of coz the CTR better lar... if its just gonna be a showroom car for u( as in u drive it like once a week or once in 2 weeks) and u want the car for collection, attention, etc etc.. then go for the RX7 lor.... diff ppl have diff objective to get the car they want.... so if u think u can afford the rx7... by all means go for it man.... but if u are a young guy starting out to work and have been given an opportunity to buy a nice powerful car to pick up chics...or whatever it is u want... go for the CTR lar... less headache.... u dun wan a situation where ur car is in the workshop 3 months in a year rite... hehehhe... all parts must be imported... and every engine part is already past 10 years old... so u memang must change wan... vs a new CTR with everything in tact to last at least 7 years

daily driven car, CTR ftw...

if weekend car, fond of rotary engines.... fond of the sexy curve of rx7, go for the FD...

ahah. ok. so the CTR wins the reliabilty, but that is what i know. ahaha. but there are daily-driven rexes you know.. hehe.

daniel: nola. not yet. hehe.

helo helo
can i give my opinion ?
actually which typeR are u mentioning up there ?
RX-7 FD3S also got one which is RX-7 typeR FD3S
which is actually the first model for FD RX-7
and the stock power for it is 250 hp _ year 93 - 95 like that
280 hp for late models _ year 95 after

and if you mean civic or inty R
see how you drive the car , RX-7 got V8 engine power + super lightweight even in original condition ,around 1260 kg + FR car
civic and inty R , lightweight + new tech engine K20A , very fast as well ,
FF car

if normal driving , both also suitable , but RX-7 is very sensetive
the engine if don't know how to take care , then not good ,

compared to normal piston engine civic and the inty R

but if depends on what we like , then we choose it
both is good car ~
muahahah if got some information fault , do correct me ~

Juisan,

I believe he is talking about the FD3S RX7 (which is a 1.3 cc Rotary Engine and not a V8 engine) as well as the new Civic Type R

inty R...... do u mean Integra???

i think it's like comparing apple to oranges.. the CTR has a strong heritage, and it definately lives up to it, being a N/A monster in its own right.

the rx7 (truth be told it is one of my favourite cars) is legendary. 50/50 weight distribution, a wankel engine, rear wheel driven for that extra spin. personally it boils down to personal preference.

i believe if i were to choose between them, i would take the RX7. reason being, even if you drive a CTR, some ppl may think its just a normal civic with bodykits. and being about RM70k more than a normal civic, i don't think its worth it. If i were to buy a normal civic and spend RM70k in mods, i firmly believe it will outperform the CTR. while both CTR and RX7 stock form it would be hard to say which is the better car (i assume the CTR would handle better), but if we were to modify them both, the RX7 would have more potential and cheaper to modify as it is turbocharged and easier to squeeze more power out of the rotary.

if the rx-7 is not discontinued its productions..i'm pretty sure it will still sell like hot cakes..out do the fd2r anytime

rx7 FC super high so it best to be used as weekend car.
CTR FC also high but better than rx7.

my 2 cents

For city driving and occasional track days the new 4 door civic type R is a good choice.
You can't carry 4 persons in a FD.
Also you need to spend more on kits and wheels to make the FD nicer.
Where the civic is ready for show and go out of the box.
You can't get a FD new anymore.
Rotary fuel consumption is bad compared to Civic type R.
You pay lesser road tax for FD.
Both cars are imported, but with civic you get local warranty.

As you can see i'm biased towards the Civic. Its too practical. Also i managed to see a magazine reviewing the new Type R. Aall i can say is, there is too much improvement over the old type R, and its all good. It even has polished intake manifolds and equal length extractors! Really out of the box rocket. But there are news from owners that the car is bumpy. Sports suspension. And few months ago, i got a Hot version DVD on this Civic Type R vs 2 tuned S2000. Then you can see how amazing this car is. And also you can see its primary weakness.

MAZDA RX7FD
Rotary engine...very unique...280HP turbo...very2 fast..nice curve body...looks kinda sexy...FR car..kinda hard to drive especially when u corner at fast speed...but nice for drifting...the FC..everyone knows it drink fuel like shit...kinda hard to get spare parts...not all mech know bout the rotary engine...the 2 doors coupe makes u look young and sporty...the car is near or more than 10 years...so expect some faulty equipment...

CIVIC TYPE R
I-VTEC technology....those wonderful vtec scream till 9k RPM...also fast but not as fast as rotary coz it has turbo and you have to rev to get the power...look quite smart and big...FF car...nice handling during cornering...FC wise and more save compare to FD...spare parts are easy to find and the car still under warranty...quite a lot of mech are familiar with this inline 4 engine...4 doors...looks kinda family kind of racer...sadly honda discontinue the double wishbone suspension in this civic...equipment is still new and dun have to worry bout faulty equipment..

make your choice...

but if i were u..still not married...passion and has a lot of plan to mod my car...also the car is not for family use..i'll go for the FD...i loved 2 doors coupe...

dude,

1 is 60k car and another 1 is 200k car, so are u serious about it? i dont even care much about its performance first, let us talk about the price first.

i also have the same problem. Thinking of getting an FD3S for my wife daily driving as i like the sporty look, the power and 2 doors. ;p

Alot of ppl say Rotary engine is like shit which like to break down occassionaly. But when i read thru the post of the RE club, there are really not much problem with the engine. I also have freinds who have Rx7 and thier don have much problem with thier engine unless wear and tear parts.

any comments?

* and i don like the new Civic Type R, with that kind of money i would rather go for EK9.

even though the fd civic has better technical, practical advantage, etc.

i would prefer the rx-7 hands down