rx7 fd owners

moto5

hi, i am interested in rx7 but there seems to be lot of problem with the car. what do you think is the main problem? ppl are saying that the fuel consumption is quite high, how bad is it? if i want to buy it, what should i look out for? lastly what should i expect?

deciding between civic or rx7.thanks :)

Hi Moto5,

First off, you cannot compare an RX7 to a civic bro. The biggest problem with RX7 are the owners. You must execute preventive mantainence very often as this car will rip most cars on the road. Petrol consumption is high i must admit but compared to a car with the same performance almost the same. You cannot have supercar performance on a proton budget lerr!!;)

Hi Moto5,

Things to look out for are basically:

1) Cooling System (radiator etc)
2) Engine ( Compression )
3) Turbines (Not a big deal since 2nd units cheap and easy to get)

Basically look for a unit which has reliability mods done as this will be a good platform to start. Dont worry bout what people say about the rotary engine coz there are mechanics here that are very capable. Hope this helps.

Originally posted by moto5@Dec 21 2004, 14:23
hi, i am interested in rx7 but there seems to be lot of problem with the car. what do you think is the main problem? ppl are saying that the fuel consumption is quite high, how bad is it? if i want to buy it, what should i look out for? lastly what should i expect?

deciding between civic or rx7.thanks :)
Da biggest prob is...fuel consumption!!

Originally posted by phat7@Dec 21 2004, 15:47
Hi Moto5,

First off, you cannot compare an RX7 to a civic bro. The biggest problem with RX7 are the owners. You must execute preventive mantainence very often as this car will rip most cars on the road. Petrol consumption is high i must admit but compared to a car with the same performance almost the same. You cannot have supercar performance on a proton budget lerr!!;)
Hi Moto5,

Yeah...i think watever phat7 say here is correct..anyway, i dun think the fuel consumption is the prob, becoz u pay for what u get~!!!! Super Mazda Speed Power~!!!!! u smoke most of the cars on the road~~!!! Zoom Zoom Zoom~~!!!

Originally posted by QueenBee+Dec 22 2004, 08:55 -->
QUOTE (QueenBee @ Dec 22 2004, 08:55 )
Fuel COnsumption Very Bad AH?? Well if you cant even afford to put petrol in ya car How the Hell you gonna mantain the car!!!You cannot compare the RX7 (which is actually ranked a supercar internationally) and its performance to a regular 1.3.

thanks phat7. so what you are saying is that rx7 fuel consumption is just like a evo/mr2? if it is like that then it would be acceptable. rx7 comes with 280 horsepower or 250? any additional info is appreaciated. :D

Originally posted by phat7+Dec 22 2004, 10:42 -->
QUOTE (phat7 @ Dec 22 2004, 10:42 )
Originally posted by QueenBee@Dec 22 2004, 08:55
Fuel COnsumption Very Bad AH?? Well if you cant even afford to put petrol in ya car How the Hell you gonna mantain the car!!!You cannot compare the RX7 (which is actually ranked a supercar internationally) and its performance to a regular 1.3.
I totally agree ;)

ppl sure ask ... makan minyak kar ?? ..... silly question .

I think fuel consumtion just same as most 4 cyclinder Turbocharged car ,

you think .. petrol engine can run with water arrr ? ...

hmm hey phat7 what comp ratio considered good?

i have around 98 psi on front and rear rotors....of course this is measureed using a cheapskate compression gauge.... pls advise..

erm to tell u guys the truth u can go read in rx7 forum .... rx7 VR touring smoking maserati with 20psi.....thats just 1.2 to 1.3 bar of boost... hehehe

even FC modded a little with 230-240whp will smoke STi...

the 7 can't lose man.. =)

rx-7 damn powerful car....very light....u want to compare with civic .........civic"s are for picking up chicks and taking them to the market...while rx-7 can get u one nightstands...and u also get to pretend to be vin diesel....torreto

Originally posted by jeffblazed@Dec 23 2004, 15:25
rx-7 damn powerful car....very light....u want to compare with civic .........civic"s are for picking up chicks and taking them to the market...while rx-7 can get u one nightstands...and u also get to pretend to be vin diesel....torreto
you got to get that through to those blooody ah bengs.....they and their HUGE VTEC stickers.... <_<

wehh.. ah beng will tell u, the bigger the vtec stickers, the more hp they get mah.. :D :D :D

Originally posted by phat7@Dec 21 2004, 15:47
Petrol consumption is high i must admit but compared to a car with the same performance almost the same.
Phat7,

I beg to differ, lets take an Evo 6 for example, RM 60 is around 200-240km,
but for an FD to go 200km it would need, RM 90 to do so.
an R33 GTR's full tank about RM 80-90 can do 250km. So there is a difference.

But for those who really love the FD and its design, like yourself, i guess they wouldnt mind. ;)

is the FD's full tank around rm90?

cannot argue wif a rotary's fuel consumption lah.. u get lots of horses for such a small engine (and savings in roadtax) thereofre expect it to be quite a drinker..

i think if no money to buy petrol, then don't jalan lah.. hehe
rather than hafto pay RB26 roadtax equivalent of a 2.6L engine every year.. and still worry bout fuel costs..

but as many people sez.. if u got money to buy that kind of car, most probably u won't mind payin for the fuel as well :)

juz my 2 sen

mine can touch rm100++... :P not so good la,but the total package that comes along with the car is very rewarding.words cant say what 7s can do...u really gotta drive one to feel it...

Ah pang,

i drove one, i know words cant say what the RX7 does. Hahaha...

**ATTENTION**

Please disregard what gti88 has gotta say....he hasn't been taking his medications of late.....

Originally posted by gti88+Dec 25 2004, 02:15 -->
QUOTE (gti88 @ Dec 25 2004, 02:15 )
--QuoteBegin-phat7
@Dec 21 2004, 15:47
Petrol consumption is high i must admit but compared to a car with the same performance almost the same.

Phat7,

I beg to differ, lets take an Evo 6 for example, RM 60 is around 200-240km,
but for an FD to go 200km it would need, RM 90 to do so.
an R33 GTR's full tank about RM 80-90 can do 250km. So there is a difference.

But for those who really love the FD and its design, like yourself, i guess they wouldnt mind. ;) [/b][/quote]
Hi gti88,

I really dont understand how you derived the figure of 200 km for 90 bucks? I run my car at RM50 and i get 180+km and on the highway suprisingly i get almost double. I run a stock 280ps year 2002 engine. It really scares me to think how some fd's are tuned!!! Full tank is close to RM95 for me.

Originally posted by Ah Pang@Dec 26 2004, 19:15
**ATTENTION**

Please disregard what gti88 has gotta say....he hasn't been taking his medications of late.....

LOL :lol: :lol: