Review: Q8 Oils

julianpang said:
I dont think you can find Q8 in mainland yet. However, you can buy it from M-Power in Penang Island (Air Hitam area). I changed mine there.

Call 04-8264462 and ask for Ah Han.

thanks bro....

vtecdome said:
Bro, just use the q8 semi-advance 10w/40 4L semi-synthetic oil

Tnx bro .. Wats the price ar for Q8 Semi-advance ?

what other semi-synthetic oil is there from Q8 ? got a few type of semi-synthetic rite? which is the best?

nitrus said:
Tnx bro .. Wats the price ar for Q8 Semi-advance ?

what other semi-synthetic oil is there from Q8 ? got a few type of semi-synthetic rite? which is the best?

10w/40 semi if not mistaken is bout rm90 nowadays in the market...

and i saw one semi is 5w/3o is not mistaken bout rm100...but tis for k-cars mostly..

my 2 cents

huakenny said:

and i saw one semi is 5w/3o is not mistaken bout rm100...but tis for k-cars mostly..

my 2 cents

Oh.. so Q8 have two type of semi-synthetic ...? ok ...

Why is the 5w/30 only for K-car ?

I wanna try Q8 coz i heard it reduces engine sound ... Hmm...

huakenny said:

my 2 cents

bro, what type do you recommend for my nissan march k10? remember u did the zaptor + grounding wires at Carrefour carpark on a Friday lunch hour? Green color my car.....its a supercharged as well as turbocharged engine lar....

5w30 can use in any new car... need to check if it come with 3L or 4L then... if 3L, then it may be only for smaller CC car.

fzavier said:
bro, what type do you recommend for my nissan march k10? remember u did the zaptor + grounding wires at Carrefour carpark on a Friday lunch hour? Green color my car.....its a supercharged as well as turbocharged engine lar....

Hmm...5w/30 im worried it will be to thin for u..wat is ur current motor oil grade?

by the way, VTECDOME....Q8 5w/30 has 3lite pack a? if yes...u PM me d best...use for kenari:_:

there's no such thing as "too thin"..

new engine nowsaday need thinner oil, for example, most toyota/honda/nissan car already specify 30-grade oil for all weather. In US, most vehicle is running at 5w-20 even in hottest state like Arizona which can reach 45c-50c in summer!

protection of engine is not about thin or thick of the oil. it is about the film strength of the lube itself. A 30-grade oil will provide good fuel consumption for most new technology engine nowsaday, and most newly develop 30-grade oil have higher film strength than 40 or 50-grade oil.

Unless u are talking about 20 years old technology in Iswara and 10++ years old technology in Wira, then you may need thicker oil afterall.. to avoid leakage in this type of old design engine... haha..

huakenny said:
Hmm...5w/30 im worried it will be to thin for u..wat is ur current motor oil grade?

by the way, VTECDOME....Q8 5w/30 has 3lite pack a? if yes...u PM me d best...use for kenari:_:

huakenny, q8 no 3 litre pack for 5w/30. It is packed in 4 Litres. So other cars also can use.....

mroctopus said:

new engine nowsaday need thinner oil, for example, most toyota/honda/nissan car already specify 30-grade oil for all weather. In US, most vehicle is running at 5w-20 even in hottest state like Arizona which can reach 45c-50c in summer!

protection of engine is not about thin or thick of the oil. it is about the film strength of the lube itself. A 30-grade oil will provide good fuel consumption for most new technology engine nowsaday, and most newly develop 30-grade oil have higher film strength than 40 or 50-grade oil.

Unless u are talking about 20 years old technology in Iswara and 10++ years old technology in Wira, then you may need thicker oil afterall.. to avoid leakage in this type of old design engine... haha..

Correct me if i'm wrong...

I think huakenny is right, 30-weight engine oil for fzavier turbocharges engine is "too thin"
OEM recomendation is base on stock standard car, it can't apply on moded car. experiment can be done by drive a moded/turbo charge car with grade-30 & go few round at track, then drain out the engine oil, dun be supprise if u found burning smell in the oil.
Yes, protection of engine is about the film strength, but the higher the strength, the thicker oil will be. (assuming comparison is done between same oil brand, not chap ayam brand with those good brand)

mroctopus said:

tailo.....see the question i answer 1st..

u can try pouring 5w/30 into a 10 year wira n see the result after one week....then only u gv ur own comment here...

so wat u all trying to say is, newer cars need thinner oils like 10w-30 ?

u can use both mineral or synthetic base..but using the synthetic base gives better response to your engine....and plus is lubricate your moving parts more and lessen your wear of your engine...

Slivia said:
"but the higher the strength, the thicker oil will be"

Slivia, no, absolutely... wrong. :_:
try to test out Mobile 0w30 compare to 5w50 fully syn, u guess which film strength is higher? In addtion, the 0w30 has higher viscosity index and higher TBN than the later 5w50, which mean it last longer.

i have no experience in turbo car but even Castrol 10w60 will give you burning smell in normal passenger car... what else we want to use? 70w80 gear oil? :X-: just kidding...

in fact, it's cheaper to produce heavier lube like 50, 40-grade than lighter lube like 30, 20-grade.

see the below report:

Toyota Urges Lighter Oils for Asia
By Tim Sullivan, Oct 2005

BANGKOK – Eking out fuel savings wherever it can, Toyota Motor Corp. is urging customers throughout Asia to use engine oils no heavier than 10W-30, an official with the company said during a base oil conference here last month.

The pitch drew skepticism from some lubricant industry observers, who speculated that drivers in some countries will be reluctant to stop using high-viscosity oils.

In a Sept. 15 presentation to F&L Asia’s Asia-Pacific Base Oil Conference, Toyota’s Fumio Ueda said that one of the biggest priorities for the auto industry is to develop environmentally sustainable vehicles – cars, trucks and motorcycles that use less fuel and generate less pollution. A senior staff engineer with Toyota’s Fuel and Lubricant Department, Ueda cited some of the fronts on which automakers are pursuing that goal: tapping alternative fuels, such as electricity or hydrogen; developing more efficient transmissions; and using lighter materials to reduce vehicle weight.

Lubricants are being asked to contribute to the cause, too, with automakers pushing engine oils that have lower viscosity, and therefore reduce friction in engines. Ueda, who is also chairman of the Engine Oil Subcommittee of the Japanese Automobile Manufacturers Association, noted that Toyota has begun recommending 0W-20 oils in Japan. The company is taking a more modest step of prescribing 10W-30 oils in other parts of Asia , where 20W-40 and 20W-50 grades prevail.

“Low-viscosity lubricants are one of the key technologies to get good fuel economy,” Ueda said. “Toyota would like to introduce 0W-20 oils [throughout Asia]. As a first step, though, 10W-30 is acceptable for all sides – customers, oil producers, car manufacturers. I think we will go further once everyone recognizes that lower-viscosity oils are not a problem.”

Ueda cited estimates that Asia would reduce fuel consumption by 2 million kiloliters (520 million gallons) per year if all drivers made the switch.

Some who heard his presentation expressed doubt that Toyota’s wish will be fulfilled anytime soon, contending that large parts of the region remain wedded to heavier oils.

“In Indonesia, motorists use mostly 20W-50 oils,” said Andria Nusa, lubricant product development manager for PT Pertamina, Indonesia’s national oil company. “Only a few use 10W-40, and it is still difficult to find 10W-30.

“It is not easy for the motorist to change to a lighter oil if there is no recommendation from the manufacturer and service stations,” he continued, adding that most of these still recommend 20W-50. “In their opinions, lighter oils will be noisier and cause hotter temperatures and higher oil consumption.”

Ueda said Toyota is encouraging the switch to lighter oils by recommending them in owner manuals and in bulletins to service stations. Some conference attendees said it will take a bigger effort to bring about much change.

“I agree that it makes sense, especially in light of what’s happened with fuel prices,” said Harland Bulow, lead consultant for base oils with Tri-Zen International, a consulting firm based in Singapore. “But you have to overcome two factors: price, since the heavier-grade oils tend to cost less; and the simple fact that people are used to using heavier oils.

“You’re not going to overcome those obstacles without a pretty aggressive education campaign,” he told Lube Report. “To me, the best place to do that is in the schools, so you can reach young drivers.”

http://www.imakenews.com/lng/e_article000463014.cfm?x=b11,0,w

aiya.. asked so long redi.. anyone can help ar.. i need a T650 semi 10/40.. and im in ampang.. pls quote me a price n no talipon.. i call one of the guy but didnt pickup

e819 said:
aiya.. asked so long redi.. anyone can help ar.. i need a T650 semi 10/40.. and im in ampang.. pls quote me a price n no talipon.. i call one of the guy but didnt pickup

my fren who work in Ukay perdana happen to sel Q8 oil but recently out of stock, if u happen to visit One utama Eneous or Bandar Sunway. u can get from there....:_:

or contact VtecDome, maybe u guy can arrange apointment for delivery..

mroctopus,
First of all, the "thicker" oil that i mention is refer to higher viscosity.
the report u mention is fuel saving by using lower viscosity oil e.g. 30 or 20-weight, not lower viscosity oil can provide better protection, hope u dun miss it up. Yes lower viscosity is better for fuel economy.:_:

a grade 30 oil can have better Viscosity Index(VI) compare to the grade 40, 50 or even 60, but it doesnt mean that it have better protection compare to grade 40. VI is the stability index of the oil viscosity against Temperature. But things for sure is, viscosity during 100'C for grade 20 or 30 is definately lower than 40 or 50. Why? Bcos all oil categoried as grade 30 or 40 or 50 is base on it viscosity during 100'C.

Yes, with grade with castrol 10W60 also will have burning smell, but what i'm trying to say is with just grade 30 oil, the oil will break down & burn due to high temperature lah... FYI, turbo engine tend to running hotter compare to NA engine.

U sure is cheaper to produce heavier lube? u are refering to semi synthetic, full synthetic oil or mineral oil? :emoticon_U:

As a conclusion, there is such thing "Too Thin"...if there is no such thing, all racing oil company can just develop thinest oil for their race car, since thiner oil have better respone & fuel economy.

Just to share infor that i know.:_:

Hi Guys, anyone interested with Q8 oil? now it is available in Johor Bahru! My friend only bring in 2 type of oil:

1. Q8 Formula F1 10w-50 / Fully Syn 4 liter
2. Q8 Advance 10w-40 / Semi Syn 4 liter

Please Contact : 0127989044 ( Anthony )
Email : [email protected]

am using total quartz 5000SL, 15W50 mineral oil, changed every 5000km. mileage at 125,000km. a e36 BMW 325i, inline-6, 1994 model

was using mobil 1 full syn before the change to Total, less than a year ago.

what's the best q8 oil & grade in my case? if semi-syn, what's the recommended oil change interval?