Repairing/Refurbishing the distributor

EGfan

Was driving and the check light came on.
Checked the error and came out with CEL 8 - TDC sensor
Car is still movable, but just wondering if the distributor is repairable or not?
Else will need to buy a 2nd hand one.
Anyone knows anywhere that i can repair it??

TDC, isn't that related with the crank position sensor thingy?

Distributor is repairable, if the bearing and rotor is the problem... the cap, I'm not sure..

As for the coil and such.. My thoughts are that you can run external coil, with a power tower by MSD.. but I haven't seen it done (means I didn't stand there and see it being done)

I got a pal who can do an external coil conversion + service of the distributor. Where's your location? If you're nearby Nilai area, much better lah.

right now you have no choice but to buy another used distributor. open it up, remove the ignitor and coil. deep inside as you follow the wires, u will find the TDC and CYL coils. just swap them both coils since u have open it. keep the spares. normally the TDC and CYL coils are burnt.

i hope this helps.

EGfan said:
Was driving and the check light came on.
Checked the error and came out with CEL 8 - TDC sensor
Car is still movable, but just wondering if the distributor is repairable or not?
Else will need to buy a 2nd hand one.
Anyone knows anywhere that i can repair it??

I've borrowed another dizzy and chucked in. Everything is fine, no check light.
Am trying to compare the cost of repairing, or getting a 2nd hand one. Was told
2nd hand would go around 400-500. Repairing also nearly the same.
By repairing it, does it mean brand new internals?

shroitenshi,ace79
thanks for the idea, but not thinking bout modding to external coil..

J101,
What is CYL? Can we buy brand new TDC and CYL coils? Can they be replaced by ourselves?

buy second hand aso no guarantee since its a used part (being used for how long aso we dunno)....change internal to brand new parts better...summore got warranty from the spare part shop...

Oderf said:
buy second hand aso no guarantee since its a used part (being used for how long aso we dunno)....change internal to brand new parts better...summore got warranty from the spare part shop...

Where can i buy the brand new internals?

Bro.. too much advance timing in boost not good. It will shorten your dizzy life... LOL j/k

Try sparepart shop lo... :)

EGfan said:
Where can i buy the brand new internals?

any HONDA spare part dealer should have....btw, should u need ignition coil and ignitor for B16A, hattech should have them...somebody bought them but found out its not a distributor issue but a slipping timing belt...he can sell to u at a discounted price..

hattech-v, Oderf
How bout the TDC sensor? I plan to refurbish the whole distributor, but so far you guys didn't mentioned anything bout the sensor. Is it replacable like the coil?
Do i need some specialist to change the internals? Or it can be DIYed??

lilvee,
bro, dun frighten me le... At 1st thought it might be, but then again, assuming EG is 11-14 yrs now, most likely is tear and wear.

The CYL sensor detects the position of no.1 cylinder for sequential fuel injection to each cylinder.

But then again, since you get check error light no.8, its not your CYL circuit, its the TDC circuit.

i believe 2nd hand would be the cheapest. Buying new internal parts for the distributor are far more expensive.

burnt TDC and CYL circuit are beyond repair. just swap the whole distributor and reduce your time fixing and cost.

EGfan said:
I've borrowed another dizzy and chucked in. Everything is fine, no check light.
Am trying to compare the cost of repairing, or getting a 2nd hand one. Was told
2nd hand would go around 400-500. Repairing also nearly the same.
By repairing it, does it mean brand new internals?

J101,
What is CYL? Can we buy brand new TDC and CYL coils? Can they be replaced by ourselves?

dunno about the CYL or TDC cuircuit...but brand new coil should cost around rm120-150 and the ignitor around rm180-200

J101 said:
The CYL sensor detects the position of no.1 cylinder for sequential fuel injection to each cylinder.

But then again, since you get check error light no.8, its not your CYL circuit, its the TDC circuit.

i believe 2nd hand would be the cheapest. Buying new internal parts for the distributor are far more expensive.

burnt TDC and CYL circuit are beyond repair. just swap the whole distributor and reduce your time fixing and cost.

Thats sad man....Guess i have to get a 2nd hand one..
Thanks for de advise...

i did my dist by changing the internals to sm4 2nd hand dist internals...
cost me rm250... done at kedai potong in setapak jaya area last may

Hi all...
I can repair any honda distributor with low cost...for honda member heh2...

List of services:
1) Upgrade/repair faulty distributor (coil) to External Coil for only rm150 including part & labour...need to modify distributor cap. Change to more reliable & bigger branded coil. Honda coil brand TEC not tahan la...stock honda TEC coil easy to burnt at anytime/anywhere...as we know this is a most problem (distributor) for honda user. So this a good solution. With low cost. I already produced this external coil more than 30 units/cars for my Honda club member since 2 years ago with no problem. Mostly B-series vtec...D & H series and non vtec oso can....no problem.
Why buy other distributor for rm300-500? rugi...better way is repair/upgrade.

2) Change internal bearing also can for rm100...including labour & new NTN bearing.

3) Change igniter (NEC or HITACHI) for rm100 including part & labour.

4) Change wiring & sensor - CYL sensor problem (cell 9) or TDC sensor problem (cell 8) for rm100~150 including labour.

All items c/w warranty for 6 months.
Just pm/call/sms me at 019-3950234....24hrs distributor resque heh2...
Location Nilai/Salak Tinggi.

Hv any one tried Mr.poji EG9 service?any feedback?

Bump: Hv any one tried Mr.poji EG9 service?any feedback?