Who has faced the distributor 'kong' problem b4??

minivan

Jun 11, 2004
BBBangi/KL
On the recent weekend, on my way to lepak at mamak, my car suddenly die. As luck would have it, it was near a petronas... pulled in and tried starting it again... could not... checked fuel pump.. ada bunyi... checked for spark.. no spark!! called a friend, he said most probaly distributor 'kong'... called AAM, and AAM guys also said, most probaly distributor 'kong'... so i asked them to toe it back home... now malas, leave it at home first laa... next weekend i'll attend to it...

People say the distributor is a common problem in b-series hondas... how far is this true??
how many of you have faced this distributor 'kong' problem b4??
in my case, could it potentially be something else?? any ideas??
Any advice on the distributor 'kong' issue??

hattech-v

Oct 10, 2004
Seri Kembangan
www.avantech.com.my
hahahhaa... mini, its true... b-series distributor like to kong especially if u like to high-rev always... oso if water get inside the distributor... normally u can just change the coil inside the distrubutor but the cost almost same like buy new one with trade in...

better buy one for spare...
new recon one will cost u around RM500-600
trade in one will cost u around 300-400

minivan

Jun 11, 2004
BBBangi/KL
to take care of the distributor, u need to keep the revs at bay?!?

aiya... whats the purpose of having a VTEC engine then?? :D :p

zero4

i was wondering, if distributor kong, lets say i got extra, can swap immediately? as in no need toe to workshop, just replace at the spot

minivan

Jun 11, 2004
BBBangi/KL
zero4... can, but its not just a plug and play thing you can do... to be on the safe side, mark it first laa, before you take out the distributor, and install the new one on those markings... coz the positioning of the distributor effects the tuning of the engine...

zamrioo2

May 2, 2005
do not using larger cable plug is adviseable lorr... ngk type juz fine...

polar-bear

Apr 28, 2005
normally we heard its a common for b-series..
but since last 4yrs mine still in good cond.
may be `luck' lor hehehe

i got b16b distr. just for spare
not tht xpensive bro..
try to find it out

c1kai

Jan 26, 2005
polar-bear said:
may be `luck' lor hehehe

not tht xpensive bro..
try to find it out

is there any diff between big V and small V distributer plus be it fr. auto tranny or manual tranny ? :confused:

hattech-v

Oct 10, 2004
Seri Kembangan
www.avantech.com.my
i think distributor for big-v n small-v is the same one... unless comparing with eg distributor with ek or type-r distributor... like eg using 2 socket while ek n type-r using 1 socket only...

R.C.

hattech-v said:
hahahhaa... mini, its true... b-series distributor like to kong especially if u like to high-rev always... oso if water get inside the distributor... normally u can just change the coil inside the distrubutor but the cost almost same like buy new one with trade in...

better buy one for spare...
new recon one will cost u around RM500-600
trade in one will cost u around 300-400
I got mine from Honda SM4 for RM300 used on my EG SOHC non-vtec.

R.C.

zero4 said:
i was wondering, if distributor kong, lets say i got extra, can swap immediately? as in no need toe to workshop, just replace at the spot
I did mine just like that. Kong in the middle of jalan then called my friend then fixed.

minivan

Jun 11, 2004
BBBangi/KL
polar-bear said:
may be `luck' lor hehehe

not tht xpensive bro..
try to find it out
i did'nt know b16b one can be used on vtec kecik... can ar?? coz that day someone was selling a b16b one for RM300...

and if i'm not mistaken, vtec kecik and VTEC beso distributors are different right?? vtec kecik can use VTEC beso distributor but need to modify a bit right??

hattech-v

Oct 10, 2004
Seri Kembangan
www.avantech.com.my
i think if need to modify only the socket..
and oso u can replace distributor with sm4 one but someone said it will generate less api then the b-series wan.. but not sure on this...

polar-bear

Apr 28, 2005
haiyaa urs small V hehehe soli soli
i tot all is BIG hehehee

not so sure can plug in or need to mod a bit b4 using big v distr.
the tapak oso lain meh..

correct me if im wrong..

minivan

Jun 11, 2004
BBBangi/KL
just be careful jilo4...

make sure you go to the nearest machenic to retune it... a machenic friend of mine said, it could even lead to knocking if not done properly. Especially in your case, coz u drive a heavily modified super honda... ;)

In today's STAR publications....

Man dies in bid to foil car theft

Tan Chee Wai (31) became just another statistics in the eye of the law. What a shame.

My condolences to his family.

-G