R3-Satria (gti)

want to check with u guys
should the engine check light go off b4 we start the r3
cos last time my putra, the engine check light will go off after few sec b4 i start the engine.
but for the r3 i wait for ... like a minute but the light will never go off.

and any recommend alarm system?? i don't know should go for captor or 2 ways alarm or both? budget problem so can only can either one 1st after get my salary.

Deskerz said:
Can anyone tel me after upgrade to stage 2 cam, pulley
about 138whps how is the fuel consumption ..
and did anyone install the stage 2 extractor..
did the sound change?
i mean when u revv high the exhaust sound still same
or any different?

Sound definately changes at higher revs. The car sounds a lot more throaty. Fuel consumption-wise, remains the same IF you drive it like a stage 1 car. Otherwise expect 10km/l :biggrin:

rickmoh said:
cos last time my putra, the engine check light will go off after few sec b4 i start the engine.
With the Siemens ECU, it will only go off after ignition. On MMC, it will disappear after a few seconds. It is normal. Just like the Siemens one where you'll hear a *click* from the starter when you turn the key to "On".

rickmoh said:
and any recommend alarm system?? i don't know should go for captor or 2 ways alarm or both? budget problem so can only can either one 1st after get my salary.
A few members are running both. That way you get the best of both worlds; short range and long range communications with the car. But I'd recommend Captor first since it protects the whole car from being stolen.

oh shit.. the R3 product really influence a lot.. ler lolz..
cant wait 2 change the stage 2 camshaft,pulley,extractor.....
wander after all this can like test with mivec engine
coz mivec is 175hp if R3 upgrade 2 stage 2 can get 170
means both also about 130 to 140+ whps. really hope R3 will come out the Harness Belt.. with R3 logo.. damn chun..

Aiks..forgot to ask u guys,how r ur FC,my FC kinda sux, RM 50 for the V-power (28l +/-) can reach 300+km only =.=" seldom rev above 3k at the 1st-4th gear, only rev till nearly 5 k rpm at 5th gear during highway.

For normal driving, wat is the RPM lvl u guys usually shift? I'm juz started driving manual =.="

Deskerz said:
Can anyone tel me after upgrade to stage 2 cam, pulley
about 138whps how is the fuel consumption ..
and did anyone install the stage 2 extractor..
did the sound change?
i mean when u revv high the exhaust sound still same
or any different?

Fuel consumption will definitely increase...after all, your engine is working harder to produce that extra 10+ horsepower. That trade off is constant what is a variable is the degree of fuel consumption each vehicle is getting....that of course, depends on the driver and the car's state of tune.

Stage 2 extractor is not available. I'm not sure if there are plans to produce any. Currently we only have Stage 1 and Stage 3 extractor.

fordrunger

GeneX
Wanna join you guys...looks like fun here! :) Sorry I couldn't answer your call, next time if I don't pickup leave me an SMS ok, will definitely answer that one.

About your questions...
Did the problem surface after you installed your alarm system? If yes, then Radiostar will have to rectify the problem for you. Lude experienced something simillar with his side blinkers and after much running around, Radiostar finally sorted out the problem.

We can try to rectify your problem but it might take a few days because we might have to disassemble the wiring harness.

With regards to your centre console, I haven't check with PROTON Parts Centre but I believe PROTON Edar Mutiara Damansara will be able to order and install that for you. :)

Amin

Amin said:
Fuel consumption will definitely increase...after all, your engine is working harder to produce that extra 10+ horsepower. That trade off is constant what is a variable is the degree of fuel consumption each vehicle is getting....that of course, depends on the driver and the car's state of tune.

Stage 2 extractor is not available. I'm not sure if there are plans to produce any. Currently we only have Stage 1 and Stage 3 extractor.

fordrunger

GeneX
Wanna join you guys...looks like fun here! :) Sorry I couldn't answer your call, next time if I don't pickup leave me an SMS ok, will definitely answer that one.

About your questions...
Did the problem surface after you installed your alarm system? If yes, then Radiostar will have to rectify the problem for you. Lude experienced something simillar with his side blinkers and after much running around, Radiostar finally sorted out the problem.

We can try to rectify your problem but it might take a few days because we might have to disassemble the wiring harness.

With regards to your centre console, I haven't check with PROTON Parts Centre but I believe PROTON Edar Mutiara Damansara will be able to order and install that for you. :)

Amin

Thx bro, is not about the blinking things, everything okie except for the door lock, it won't lock up the door even i arm my alarm =.="

Deskerz said:
means both also about 130 to 140+ whps. really hope R3 will come out the Harness Belt.. with R3 logo.. damn chun..
This is an interesting comparison. However i still think the MIVECs should perform better. I think its the Gearbox Ratio or the Final Drive thing.

FC for MIVECs should be better too... cause they can variate their exhaust overlap during low and high rpms. So basically low rpm, low/no overlap which translates to better FC and vice versa.

Not sure if I'm right or wrong. Just doing some surfing here and there since I had MIVECs in mind too, and this is what I got. Please SHOOT if I'm wrong! I wanna learn too! But don't SHOOT TO KILL ya! :D

rickmoh said:

Hi Rick,

This is normal on Siemens VDO cars. The check engine will not go off. For MMC, it does.

GeneX said:
BTW, HEY LUDE!! now is my turn to face prob from central locking system =.=" hahahh!!!

heck at least u could just lock it manually.. try driving around without blinkers for almost a week.. :P

rickmoh said:

if on a budget i'd recommend sticking with the oem alarm and coupling with captor first..

prozac said:
Sound definately changes at higher revs. The car sounds a lot more throaty. Fuel consumption-wise, remains the same IF you drive it like a stage 1 car. Otherwise expect 10km/l :biggrin:

I'm driving a stage 1 like a stage 1 and i barely get 10km/l.. averaging about 9.5km/l.. worst consumption was 8+km/l... damn those kl jams :(
actually changed to v-power hoping for some sort of miracle :P

Deskerz said:
Deskerz,
The Stage 2 Customer cars has seen anything from 12-16 bhp increase from stock(Stage 1) @ the wheels.
Add + the 12% tranny loss that's 148-155 bhp @ the flywheel . (Pls Note R3 does dyno at 4th gear)

The seat belts aren't for sale dude. Sorry. They are strictly for LEV only.

BTW what car do you drive? GTi? R3 has plenty of Hop Ups available if you're interested.

llsaw said:
The 1.6 MIVEC has difficulty beating a stock Putra let alone a Stage2 R3 Satria
Heh heh. True. the MIVEC is not that great of an engine.

If anything IMHO the abilities of the MIVEC 1.6 has been greatly exaggerated.

wah...so fast la r3 cars..anyway..i believe r3 is using 82 pistons right?is it from another car(1.6 wira)or is it forged?...what is the cam durations for the stage 2 cams?maybe R3 could go higher like 288/292? :biggrin: and get it to at least not stall at idling...roung idling is acceptable...thinking of modding my gti la guys...

ralliart.co.jp said:
wah...so fast la r3 cars..anyway..i believe r3 is using 82 pistons right?is it from another car(1.6 wira)or is it forged?...what is the cam durations for the stage 2 cams?maybe R3 could go higher like 288/292? :biggrin: and get it to at least not stall at idling...roung idling is acceptable...thinking of modding my gti la guys...
the pistons in the Satria R3 are the same as GTi. the 82mm bore was a typo error.

The Stage 2 cams has been developed to be both tractable on the road and and giving the power gains desired.

I'm sorry but the cam duration can't be devulged as the design is proprierty. It is enough to know that the cams give a minimum of 10 bhp increase.

R3 has Powertrain mods ( Cams, Pulleys, exhaust system) Chassis ( Dampers , springs , bushes) for the GTi.

PM Amin for contact details.

aisey man..typo error ka?i thought 82 size...even in the GUTS magazine also said 82 size. :biggrin: anyway..if do your stage 2 mod..do u have an uprated clucth as well...or u think the clutch can tahan one? :biggrin:

ralliart.co.jp said:

Actually high torque cams rather than high power cams are nicer to drive :) Too high a duration effects street driving. And you'll need to feed it revs since the power band is probably further up the range, and smaller spread.

Crash said:
Actually high torque cams rather than high power cams are nicer to drive :) Too high a duration effects street driving. And you'll need to feed it revs since the power band is probably further up the range, and smaller spread.
agree with u crash..but i was aiming for top end rev grunt..got fed up with those pesky vtech's...was thinking of bigger bore n higher duration n lift cams...maybe for once proton can make those vtech howling semput.. :biggrin:

Slower than a VTEC or otherwise, I love the intake roar when MIVEC opens, and the way it fits the engine bay so nice and tightly, like a well-shaped... *ahem* ...nevermind. Yummilicious man!