R3-Satria (gti)

KryPToN said:
Hey... Can I get a ride too?:D Just love that comforting hug of the Recaro SR4s.

Btw... Does LSD really make a big difference for NA cars? I heard that it is significant if you have high powered engines like turbos. Not sure tho...

I want a ride in your super GTi too!!! :biggrin:

LSD does make a difference. I'm sure Crash can give you a full testimony since he's enjoying them everyday now.

You don't need a powerful engine to really benefit from LSD's too. In fact, D-Sport (Daihatsu's "R3") has LSD kits for the Kelisa (Mira Gino/Cuore). Too bad they cost more than the car's downpayment.

prozac said:

LSD does make a difference. I'm sure Crash can give you a full testimony since he's enjoying them everyday now.

You don't need a powerful engine to really benefit from LSD's too. In fact, D-Sport (Daihatsu's "R3") has LSD kits for the Kelisa (Mira Gino/Cuore). Too bad they cost more than the car's downpayment.

LSD is for traction. Don't need a turbo car to enjoy the benefits. The Powerzone LSD is subtle, but still works. I'd prefer a real LSD gearbox anyday though :)

Even Kleemann has something similar (based on Phantom Grip as well) for the Merc.

Helps with launch and also powering out of corners.

prozac said:

Haha... no problem mate! Maybe we can meet up again during your next R3 TT? Btw, couldn't make your last meet on Thursday... was busy. Sorry. :P But I'll try for the coming one. In 2 weeks time right? Really curious what differece LSD really makes. Can't imagine how the car will react with that on a car.

But I remember those red and black seats clearly!! Cant wait for another session with those :D

Crash said:
LSD is for traction. Don't need a turbo car to enjoy the benefits. The Powerzone LSD is subtle, but still works. I'd prefer a real LSD gearbox anyday though :)

Even Kleemann has something similar (based on Phantom Grip as well) for the Merc.

Helps with launch and also powering out of corners.
Helped with launch and powering out of corners you say? No wonder you seemed untouchable during the R3 Track Experience :D Haha!

I really wanna try this LSD thing. Looks like the difference with and without it is quite significant. Crash bro, you using the one by Powerzone?

KryPToN said:
I really wanna try this LSD thing. Looks like the difference with and without it is quite significant. Crash bro, you using the one by Powerzone?

Forget Powerzone. Let's go for the real deal; MIVEC LSD gearbox w/custom 5th ratio! Bulk buy anybody? :rolleyes:

KryPToN said:
Helped with launch and powering out of corners you say? No wonder you seemed untouchable during the R3 Track Experience :D Haha!

The PZ LSD isn't a full-fledged LSD, so no "klunk klunk" sound when you powering out of corners. It helps, a little. Due to improvements over the original Phantom Grip, the PZ LSD acts like a 1.5 way LSD, instead of a full-lock.

For the little amount you pay, well, I guess it is value for money to a certain extent.

I was untouchable at SIC? HAhaha..that one was pure skill man...hahaha...not the LSD! Just joking. Jakuzeeman was fast even without Stage 2 anything, and LSD man. So go figure.

guys... i seemed to have developed a leaking radiator on the bottom right side... looks like the piping from where i can see it.. but i could be wrong.. but its definately leaking.. filled it up in the morning..all gone now.. what should i do? its barely 2 weeks old..

fordrunger said:
guys... i seemed to have developed a leaking radiator on the bottom right side... looks like the piping from where i can see it.. but i could be wrong.. but its definately leaking.. filled it up in the morning..all gone now.. what should i do? its barely 2 weeks old..

hey fordrunger,

I suggest you bring it to the nearest SC and get it checked. Did you hit something? Shouldn't just leak.

fordrunger said:

yo fordrunger,

i had the same prb, but no worries SC will replace it with a new one. According to the tech who fixed mine, it's a common prb even the SGTi has it oso. True or not..i dunno..but i got mine changed...n it's ok now. hehe!:biggrin:

couldve hit something... checked around the area and the fins look un even.. maybe it squeezed through the holes where the fog lamp use to be... i hope thats not the case

Sorry when you guys say SC you mean Service Centre?? anyone in particualr would do it? sorry man.. first time car owner, slowly learning the steps...

fordrunger said:
couldve hit something... checked around the area and the fins look un even.. maybe it squeezed through the holes where the fog lamp use to be... i hope thats not the case

Sorry when you guys say SC you mean Service Centre?? anyone in particualr would do it? sorry man.. first time car owner, slowly learning the steps...
Yup... SC= Service Centre. Go back to Proton since your ride is still on warranty. I wish mine was too :D

prozac said:
Forget Powerzone. Let's go for the real deal; MIVEC LSD gearbox w/custom 5th ratio! Bulk buy anybody? :rolleyes:
That sounds like it is gonna cost a bomb man. What do you mean by customising 5th ratio?

I know my 5th gear runs like 100 - 110 kmph at 3000rpm. Heard MIVEC 5th gear is only doing 80-90kmph at 3000rpm. Is that what you mean? Nooobbbb.....

Oh yeah Crash. We all know it was your skills la! Was just trying to make myself feel better! :D

Didn't get to see Jakuzeeman in action tho... must learn from him one day. Hey Jakuzeeman.. you free for personal tuitoring? :D

buahdurian,
was that u i met in pj just now? took a quick peek when u popped the hood and if im not mistaken was lev#83..

KryPToN said:
That sounds like it is gonna cost a bomb man. What do you mean by customising 5th ratio?

I know my 5th gear runs like 100 - 110 kmph at 3000rpm. Heard MIVEC 5th gear is only doing 80-90kmph at 3000rpm. Is that what you mean? Nooobbbb.....

Custom means fabricated or taking a custom gear from another gearbox. So you can have 1-4 gear pickup like MIVEC, but cruise in 5th like our stock gearbox.

Actually the MIVEC and Proton 1.8 gearbox have the same 1st-4th. Only different is the final drive 4.592 FD and the 0.756 5th Gear ( Proton's 4.322 and 0.777).

faisal said:
Actually the MIVEC and Proton 1.8 gearbox have the same 1st-4th. Only different is the final drive 4.592 FD and the 0.756 5th Gear ( Proton's 4.322 and 0.777).

Thanks for the figures. Yup, that's why a MIVEC lsd gb with a custom 5th ratio would be perfect. 1st-4th you get the full benefits of the 4.592 FD, 5th will be a cruising overdrive. Unfortunately, we can't use our Proton 1.8's 5th ratio in a MIVEC...top speed could drop to 190 or less.

Ideally, 5th should be below 0.756 (perhaps 0.731?) matched to the MIVEC's 4.592 if we want to cruise at the same rpm as our stock gb.

prozac said:
Thanks for the figures. Yup, that's why a MIVEC lsd gb with a custom 5th ratio would be perfect. 1st-4th you get the full benefits of the 4.592 FD, 5th will be a cruising overdrive. Unfortunately, we can't use our Proton 1.8's 5th ratio in a MIVEC...top speed could drop to 190 or less.

Ideally, 5th should be below 0.756 (perhaps 0.731?) matched to the MIVEC's 4.592 if we want to cruise at the same rpm as our stock gb.

Actually I'd prefer a 6-ratio gearbox. Gears 1-5th short, so in 5th I will be pulling to 280km/h. Then with 6th cruise at 300km/h on Federal Highway.

Not bad what.

By then the bodywork would be in Subang, my rear spoiler somewhere around PJ Hilton, and the rest scattered around Kerinchi.

KryPToN said:
Oh yeah Crash. We all know it was your skills la! Was just trying to make myself feel better! :D

Yeah right! Was just kidding la. LOL

Crash said:
Actually I'd prefer a 6-ratio gearbox. Gears 1-5th short, so in 5th I will be pulling to 280km/h. Then with 6th cruise at 300km/h on Federal Highway.

Not bad what.

By then the bodywork would be in Subang, my rear spoiler somewhere around PJ Hilton, and the rest scattered around Kerinchi.
Hahaha!! Let me know where your Recaros will be man! I'll go pick them up :D
And I think someone had a little too much F1 this season..