R3-Satria (gti)

Still some Satria owners banging the R3 down?

Hi guys..been out of this posting for quite a while ( since I bought an EG3 instead, hehe ). Just took a look at the R3 - related postings, and even until today, there are still plenty off ppl ( of all ppl, Satria owners themselves ) tok kok about R3s? Even though I myself is not an owner of an Satria R3, I am very much sad to learn that these things still exists. DOn't they know the diff between the R3's bare chassis and a normal Satria's ( or GTi's )? You pay for about a few extra K's from a GTi's selling price and you get a better chassis to start tuning, better shocks and absorbers, improved engine and also those Recaro's. Come on, the Recaro's alone would cost you at least RM3k++ brand new! If an R3 owners refuses to tune his car to R3's specs ( those Stage 2, 3 etc ) you still can tune the car up to your own specs too, right? Sad, really sad...

Wah...proud owner of an EG! Care to share what your next big project is? :)

This kind of thing must be expected in any new brand or product in its infancy. Even I thought the sounds of "Race Rally Research" when it first came out was hilarious. Sounds like TOSCO (Toyota Sports Corner) before it became TRD...and everyone stopped laughing too.

Having Proton as a background also doesn't help at all, it's like being the son of Saddam Hussein and trying to apply for US citizenship. Oh yea, they got shot down too :rolleyes:

IMO, success in motorsports will be the key deciding factor for R3. The recent Japan Super GT was supposed to be a debut, but unfortunately the engine failure was a great disappointment for everyone. Hope they can iron out the problems before the next race.

Prozac : naahhh..no big projects lah..Since I got this car in not a-too-good shape, plenty of work was needed. Just owned the car for about 3 months, and have spent :

RM 1k++ : for refreshing the engine and also top end overhaul..
RM 1k++ : for a set of Work RS - Z 15's ( since the car came with Ah Beng's 17" )
RM 2k++ : for a new colour inside out ( Giallo Modena ), new 2nd hand bonnet and new 2nd hand front bumper + spotlights

Next on the list : steering wheel and gearknob ( serious Ah Beng posing power currently ), Sparco Rev for the driver, basic ICE ( since it's a daily driver ), and maybe complete exhaust makeover, fat tube intake etc...thinking of getting my hands on a CF rear hatch..ekekeke..Luckily it already came with B16A..if a frankenstein B20B is not a reliable option, then maybe I'll just improve the B16A mechanically and lighten the EG chassis with CF bodyparts..maybe go Titan..but all this is a serious long term projects.

Nuff' about EGs, back to R3's : It's pretty sad, especially to hear it from fellow Satria owners..come on lah, if you're some bigtime hotshot rich playboy ( like Batman..phew, I really want that Batmobile! ) who's a real good racer, I suppose you can put a remark like that. But since you are not...hhmmmm..

It seems like Satria R3 is developing bit by bit..the bumpsteer stuff is a pretty good idea to me. If only it came with carbon bonnet in the first place, less weight + more X factor, eh? Any chance Proton would allow a supercharger kit ( Tech : Forced Induction : Gerard : Supercharger Bolt On Kit ) to be developed and be a standard tune - up fitment for R3's ( maybe Faisal can look up and do something about this) ? Eh, on the other hand, dun lah, nanti I cannot drag NA Gti's or R3's anymore...ekekekeke...

Wow with B16A already. Sounds like you're having fun everyday.

If the SR3 came with the bumpsteer kit in stock, I'd say it would be a plus point. Supercharger, turbocharger...well Gerard has a pretty reliable kit but requires the use of a piggyback, which I think Siemens AG would frown upon. Plus he can use recond SCs; manufacturers normally sell new parts only. Brand new turbos/SCs? Erk...cost about the price of an GSR or Evo halfcut.

EXTRA : Eh...any R3 peeps wanna go for a dyno this sat? neo79 come oso la wanna see B16A powerrr

yalar...i wanna meet the R3 owners(new & old) before i go back next week >.<

ahh wah had a ride in r3, sadly dont have the chance to drive it...
the seat so syiok.. nice steering.. nice cf knob.. plenty of power.. acceptable ride harshness in kl roads.. in short value for money... good buys for those r3 driver... congrate u all waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhh i want r3 or the ol swift..

prozac said:
EXTRA : Eh...any R3 peeps wanna go for a dyno this sat? neo79 come oso la wanna see B16A powerrr

HHm I might take you up on the invitation. Added any new stuff to your babe? Hence requiring a dyno?

ace79 said:
It seems like Satria R3 is developing bit by bit..the bumpsteer stuff is a pretty good idea to me. If only it came with carbon bonnet in the first place, less weight + more X factor, eh? Any chance Proton would allow a supercharger kit ( Tech : Forced Induction : Gerard : Supercharger Bolt On Kit ) to be developed and be a standard tune - up fitment for R3's ( maybe Faisal can look up and do something about this) ? Eh, on the other hand, dun lah, nanti I cannot drag NA Gti's or R3's anymore...ekekekeke...
CF Bonnet are available for RM1650.
As for Supercharged/ Forced induction - we do not want to upset the balance of the car. With Forced induction, the massive torque increase will upset the car's traction during cornering/acceleration.

Personally I'm not a big fan of forced induction in a FF car. For 4WD their perfect as the power can be transmitted to the road. But FF? Ford went through a lot to tame the Focus RS with it's 240bhp through 225/40/18 front wheels.

Ok then it's set. R3 itenary for this week. Paging for Faisal; the SMS Spam unit is required:

Teh Tarik Session
=============
Date : Thursday 7/7
Time : 9pm
Place : Roti John TTDI

Dyno Session
==========
Date : Saturday 9/7
Time : 10am
Place : Links (Sunway)
Price : RM100 for 3 dyno runs

lala, you're still alive! Wanna dyno too? First time or did something to the car? I didn't add anything new or major to the car la. Just want to see how some diff engine oil + parts combo measure up.

faisal said:
Personally I'm not a big fan of forced induction in a FF car. For 4WD their perfect as the power can be transmitted to the road. But FF? Ford went through a lot to tame the Focus RS with it's 240bhp through 225/40/18 front wheels.

I'm in the same boat as you. FI in FF cars are better suited for heavier contis which probably need that torque. Their turbos/SCs are tuned for refinement and smooth torque delivery rather outright boost kicking in. Plus most of their cars come with traction control of some kind.

Also, bolt-on jobs (especially turbocharging a hi-comp engine) aren't the best thing to do by a manufacturer especially when they can't vouch for the integrity of the engine. FYI, the early EON Motorsports turbo bolt-on kits which cost close to 7k (but still kena makan by GSR) had the tendency of melting the pistons. They finally solved this prob by enriching the the fuelling.

Similarly, the last thing we need is for all 150 R3's being recalled for melted pistons! If it's just a bengkel bawah pokok you can scold them 99 and force them to replace spoilt parts. But such a fiasco may cost a manufacturer more than money :D

prozac said:
I didn't add anything new or major to the car la. Just want to see how some diff engine oil + parts combo measure up.

*ahem* *cough* *cough* *choke*

Mine also bog standard *cough*

prozac said:
Ok then it's set. R3 itenary for this week. Paging for Faisal; the SMS Spam unit is required:

Teh Tarik Session
=============
Date : Thursday 7/7
Time : 9pm
Place : Roti John TTDI

Dyno Session
==========
OK , And I'm putting your HP for referrence

prozac said:

Dyno Session
==========

lala, you're still alive! Wanna dyno too? First time or did something to the car? I didn't add anything new or major to the car la. Just want to see how some diff engine oil + parts combo measure up.

Count me in for the dyno. Cant confirm for the TT though.

***diff engine oil + parts combo measure up***
hhmm i doubt it :P

but...but...but...they are already slicks! may go get new fronts on saturday. so no dyno for me :D or maybe dyno after pasang new tires.

damn, backside itchy! track day! track day! track day!

thought there was supposed to be a SR3Owners track day on the 2nd week July? hmm... all's quiet...

if that's confirmed then i have to cancel my balik kampung trip down to JB this saturday :P

hi guys.. been following this thread for quite awhile now.. made my booking a couple weeks back and tmrw finally going to mutiara to settle the d/p.. been getting those sms alert for the initial d and the tt today but no car how to go??? nways hope can get mine before the next tt session.. :D

faisal, the PE guy told me that i can expect delivery in 2-3 weeks after coughing the dough.. true ah? or do i have to pester him like everyday??

oh btw does the car come with any kind of window tint? went to mutiara and the sales guy said no window tint but had a ride in my friend's r3 a couple months back and he said the car came with v kool.. so who's giving me the bs?

Pester the SA as much as you can. Downpayment means some paperwork with bank involved. Plus got all the JPJ registration to settle. This is ordinary. Nowadays, 3-4 weeks already considered very fast to get a car. But one thing for sure, all the R3's are off the factory line so you don't have to wait as long as other owners.

Tinting depends a lot on the goodwill of your SA and your negotiation skills. By default the car doesn't come with tinting.

prozac said:
Tinting depends a lot on the goodwill of your SA and your negotiation skills. By default the car doesn't come with tinting.

Damn.. gotta start practising my nego skills..