R3-Satria (gti)

Originally posted by buahdurian+Mar 27 2005, 00:55 -->
QUOTE(buahdurian @ Mar 27 2005, 00:55 )
--QuoteBegin-Kusa
@Mar 25 2005, 18:13
Anyone who bought an R3 through a good SE? can you pass me his number? thx!
[snapback]840765[/snapback]​

Go to Mutiara and ask for Affandy. I think he will be a lot of help.
[snapback]843627[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

Affandy eh?? hahah There was a time when Crash bought his car from this fella and I had to whip him up to get work done.. Guess he repent.

Originally posted by faisal+Mar 28 2005, 10:52 -->
QUOTE(faisal @ Mar 28 2005, 10:52 )
Originally posted by buahdurian@Mar 27 2005, 00:55
--QuoteBegin-Kusa
@Mar 25 2005, 18:13
Anyone who bought an R3 through a good SE? can you pass me his number? thx!
[snapback]840765[/snapback]​

Go to Mutiara and ask for Affandy. I think he will be a lot of help.
[snapback]843627[/snapback]​

Affandy eh?? hahah There was a time when Crash bought his car from this fella and I had to whip him up to get work done.. Guess he repent.
[snapback]846268[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

is it... didn't heard the story before... :huh:

Originally posted by canken2@Mar 28 2005, 10:36
yo Prozac,

your in the papers. check out yr pic, standing on top of the hill.
majestic :rolleyes:

http://www.drift.com.my/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1336
[snapback]846212[/snapback]​

Haha aren't you there too?

See...who said drifting can't make ya famous? :lol:

Originally posted by buahdurian+Mar 28 2005, 11:12 -->
QUOTE(buahdurian @ Mar 28 2005, 11:12 )
--QuoteBegin-faisal
@Mar 28 2005, 10:52

[snapback]846321[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

BTW have You collected your car yet. I checked my dabase and it's still at Stock Control.

Originally posted by faisal+Mar 28 2005, 11:37 -->
QUOTE(faisal @ Mar 28 2005, 11:37 )
Originally posted by buahdurian@Mar 28 2005, 11:12
--QuoteBegin-faisal
@Mar 28 2005, 10:52

[snapback]846321[/snapback]​

BTW have You collected your car yet. I checked my dabase and it's still at Stock Control.
[snapback]846391[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

no yet lah brader... i think i might need your help on this... try to push the guy to get things sorted out by today but don't know what happend... can you help... should be easy... all things are done... just need registration with jpj i think... can't wait anymore lah brader... :(

Did my alignment, wheel balancing & swaping in Revo last Friday. After that I had my R3 dynoed in Links.

Dyno results: 118.7 hp atws. 146NM torque atws.

Wanted my alignment as per the spec provided by Faizal. But the alignment guy insisted it was a bad set-up, saying it will cause the tires to wear out on the inner side (btw, there are already tell tale signs of that on all 4 of my tires). Faizal is there any truth in this? I miss the old set up...feedback to the steering wheels is less now.

Crash/Prozac, what do u all think of the new alignment set-up. Easier to drive yes, but feeback and confidence in taking conners is abit lacking

Originally posted by handsome_lala@Mar 28 2005, 13:16
Did my alignment, wheel balancing & swaping in Revo last Friday. After that I had my R3 dynoed in Links.

Wanted my alignment as per the spec provided by Faizal. But the alignment guy insisted it was a bad set-up, saying it will cause the tires to wear out on the inner side (btw, there are already tell tale signs of that on all 4 of my tires). Faizal is there any truth in this? I miss the old set up...feedback to the steering wheels is less now.

Crash/Prozac, what do u all think of the new alignment set-up. Easier to drive yes, but feeback and confidence in taking conners is abit lacking
[snapback]846718[/snapback]​

Congrats on the dyno results! That's pretty darn close to spec too.

Revo is basing the R3 on a SGTi, which isn't entirely bad, but of course, as we know, the R3 spec is different. The alignment setup is good, but I think perhaps not suitable for the SR3. Taking corners is just a confident as the car is still grippy and tight, but the loose steering makes it a less pleasurable drive. I find I've lost the steering feel as well, although tire wear is very consistent and even. I will be sending my car to R3 for alignment soon to get it back to standard spec, before the SSO 1.5.

If following the R3 spec, it's recommended to rotate/flip the tyres at regular intervals.

One thing I'm not too happy with Revo is that they didn't want to flip the tyres.

Originally posted by handsome_lala@Mar 28 2005, 14:31
Crash, so how was your escapade with PE?
Any horror stories?
[snapback]846987[/snapback]​

There are no horror stories, simply because I refrained from having anything rectified. For one, my car was not listed despite having booked 4-5 days beforehand. Which was ok, because they considered my regular 2nd service a 'special case'. Beats me. But I got the car serviced otherwise, without any glitches.

They took the whole day, didn't bother to call me to tell me if the car was ready. But that's ok. I called and finally picked it up at around 9pm, after I finished work. Paid up, collected the car and got a free Sauber Petronas cap.

Left speaker still not working. Right speaker still rattling.

But it's ok.

Originally posted by prozac@Mar 28 2005, 15:34
If following the R3 spec, it's recommended to rotate/flip the tyres at regular intervals.

One thing I'm not too happy with Revo is that they didn't want to flip the tyres.
[snapback]847251[/snapback]​

I think different tuners have different views on the correct set-up. Sam is pretty well known for 'performance' alignment. But, you are right, his hesitance to flip the tires was a bit odd.

In any case, I am happy that R3 is opening its doors for us to go rectify problems, do alignment and etc. Great stuff!

Originally posted by prozac@Mar 28 2005, 15:34

[snapback]847251[/snapback]​

Prozac, our tyres are only one direction tyres right? meaning we cant do a flip...only ratation from front to back can be done

Crash,

Its frastrating going to PE....

Originally posted by handsome_lala@Mar 28 2005, 13:16

[snapback]846718[/snapback]​

The Allignment was specified by T Djan after much testing and evaluation. Also the set up was to provide the correct amount of feedback and feel. When it comes to tyre wear our cars are regularly checked and the tyres rotated every 5k.

If You base your setup on the GTi specs of course everything is different. Pls remember the Gti dampers and spring s are softer with a more flexing shell.

When it comes to flipping the tyres most tyre shops cahrege rm15 PER WHEEL to do balancing. Just tell the fella to flip the tyres around then fit it across to where it was originally fitted eg FR right to RRleft .

Lala, flipping involves taking the tyre OFF the rim and placing it diagonally across the original location. If you think about it, the direction of the tyre doesn't change at all. Many tyre shops may refuse to do it because it's a very tedious job.

Faisal, perhaps you could factor in flipping/balancing into the cost of a full alignment job. I'm sure owners would rather deal with you guys than argue with an outside tyre shop about whose alignment settings is right.

Originally posted by prozac@Mar 28 2005, 17:39
Lala, flipping involves taking the tyre OFF the rim and placing it diagonally across the original location. If you think about it, the direction of the tyre doesn't change at all. Many tyre shops may refuse to do it because it's a very tedious job.

Faisal, perhaps you could factor in flipping/balancing into the cost of a full alignment job. I'm sure owners would rather deal with you guys than argue with an outside tyre shop about whose alignment settings is right.
[snapback]847684[/snapback]​

Prozac, thanks for the explanation....so the people at Revo are telling me crap....

Faizal. pls do price the wheel swaping in to the alignment price. I really miss the feedback and feel. Will pay motorsport a visti next thursday/friday

Hi Guys,
Been tagging along this forum thread for quite awhile and I myself find it damn cool too, envious at times :D . Really tot of gettin one to join the fun. Keen on a 2nd hand unit, but don really think the owner was that "keen" to sell cos his asking price is new car - 2k.... :blink: Oh me but corrrect my math.. (new car-2k)+insurance= new car price!! :angry:

Faisal, may I ask if there's any R3 unit new with 2nd stage installed and factored in the car price? If I do get one might as well have it with 2nd stage and finance it altogether. :D
thanks everyone

Originally posted by marquis@Mar 29 2005, 17:58
Hi Guys,
Been tagging along this forum thread for quite awhile and I myself find it damn cool too, envious at times :D . Really tot of gettin one to join the fun. Keen on a 2nd hand unit, but don really think the owner was that "keen" to sell cos his asking price is new car - 2k.... :blink: Oh me but corrrect my math.. (new car-2k)+insurance= new car price!! :angry:

Faisal, may I ask if there's any R3 unit new with 2nd stage installed and factored in the car price? If I do get one might as well have it with 2nd stage and finance it altogether. :D
thanks everyone
[snapback]851393[/snapback]​

buy new la, if the price is that close. we still have 40+ Units left.

You'll have to buy the car first, which is Stage 1 and then retrofit the Stage 2 later. For upgrades, Cash Terms only.

Originally posted by faisal+Mar 30 2005, 13:14 -->
QUOTE(faisal @ Mar 30 2005, 13:14 )
--QuoteBegin-marquis
@Mar 29 2005, 17:58
Hi Guys,

thanks everyone
[snapback]851393[/snapback]​

You'll have to buy the car first, which is Stage 1 and then retrofit the Stage 2 later. For upgrades, Cash Terms only.
[snapback]853343[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

I think it makes more sense to buy new. Really.

[snapback]853625[/snapback]​
[/quote]

Just heard from glee that he found brand spanking news set of R3 wheels and tyre combo at N1 Racing. Apparently some fella got his car and swapped it for something else. Why la.. after all the suspension tuning work done... sad...Just hope he doesn't call me up saying his Ride & Handling is screwed.

[snapback]853625[/snapback]​

Just heard from glee that he found brand spanking news set of R3 wheels and tyre combo at N1 Racing. Apparently some fella got his car and swapped it for something else. Why la.. after all the suspension tuning work done... sad...Just hope he doesn't call me up saying his Ride & Handling is screwed.
[snapback]853669[/snapback]​
[/quote]

Thats crazy man...why would any one wanna do that. Many of my frens, hell even stragers are saying its super nice (asking if I changed it myself). As always, I will reply "ITS STOCK STANDARD" ---comes with warranty and insured!!!