R3-Satria (gti)

I noticed there are 2 holes where the foglamps on the GTi used to be. I wonder if a custom CAI can be done there...or perhaps vents for the wheel arches...

Kinda disappointing la...2 uncovered holes. Wonder what to do about it before birds and squirrels make their nest in the car.

Here's some Satria R3 trivia while u dream about it:

(all taken from various Proton sites)

GTi Mitsu ECU : 140bhp
GTi Siemens ECU (M'sia) : 138.1bhp
GTi Siemens ECU (OZ) : 132.7 bhp
R3 Siemens ECU : 140.8bhp

GTi bore x stroke : 81 mm x 89 mm
Displacement = 1834 cc

R3 bore x stroke : 82mm x 89mm
Displacement = 1880 cc

That makes the R3 a 1.9L car???

Hmm..prozac, well spotted. I feel that there may be an error there with the bore. 82mm is the 160bhp SSO spec Putra and Satria. Doubt the R3 is overbored to 1880cc.

Adian/Faisal clarification?

did some hunting my self too....

Standard Accessories - (Power Window, Central Locking,
Alarm, Anti-Rust, Air-Conditioner, Radio Cassette)

I wonder if we are getting CD player or Radia Cassette!!! The showroom model we saw in mutiara has a CD player.....contradictory to the spec sheet

Originally posted by Crash@Oct 25 2004, 22:10
Hmm..prozac, well spotted. I feel that there may be an error there with the bore. 82mm is the 160bhp SSO spec Putra and Satria. Doubt the R3 is overbored to 1880cc.

Adian/Faisal clarification?
what does SSO stand for anyway?

SSO

S
treet Shootoout

as in Street Shoot Out series (similar to autocross, tarmac rally)

Originally posted by ninja_iga@Oct 26 2004, 23:25
SSO

S
treet Shootoout

as in Street Shoot Out series (similar to autocross, tarmac rally)
its their showcar or prototype?

the SSO car is their prototype, and in a way, the 'ultimate' version how a R3 kit car would be, bought off the shelf and fitted with bolt-on kits :)

stanley...wait wait...i got 'inside info' (which could be waaaaaay wrong) that proton intends to come out with a 'bolt on kit' that will up the power...to smth close to 160hp. :) mebe in the next few months. decision yet to be made.

trancebum

why not? :) it's been done before BUT mind you, the SSO R3 cars are fully blueprinted and balanced engines, so.. not just a 'bolt-on' kit ;)

it's not 'bolt on' in the true sense. i think you'd have to send your car to proton for them to do it. but...like i said...these were just rumours. ;) altho, the rumours also said that this 'kit' can be fitted to all GTi's. not sure bout the 1.6's tho.

R3 logo looks like RS from afar

IMHO the SSO's color and details looks better than the R3
black hides alot of detail and it looks like most modified satria's sprayed black with GSR/MIVEC block on it

Seraph,

i concur....sigh if only the R3 could be in white. But wilh all the goodies in the R3...its still a good buy IMHO....its all about the driving pleasure....

Kong-rats to u fellerz who've done yr booking, etc.

Tempting, very tempting as it is. Can trade in ah?
My birthday coming in a few days, and feel like treating myself.. muahahaha! :P seriously contemplating now for either this, and just rileks on maintenance, or opt for a 4WD turbo car... :rolleyes:
This online² booking ah, can just skip that and see dealer straight or not?

But 1st car Satria, 2nd car Satria lagi, 3rd car.. Satria AGAIN? Uhmm.. maybe not a good idea 4 me.

Final last comment:
Why the red seatbelts man? tsk tsk tsk.... can change normal black one ke?

Red seat belts then can differentiate from normal satria mah!!!

but its a bit lala (ah beng)

Originally posted by handsome_lala@Oct 29 2004, 14:20
Red seat belts then can differentiate from normal satria mah!!!

but its a bit lala (ah beng)
good for you then handsome....LOL....joking :lol:

floormats also red ah?