question

i dont think gtti is that expensive...

i dont think gtti is that expensive...n rare...just u have to look for the right person to get u the halfcut..it would cost you maybe below rm3500...but ur myvi will experience underpower with gtti..yrv will be the best ...but $$$ really plays the role..

u dont really have much option..remounting will be a risk if its not done properly...u dont want to see crack in ur chasis...

Gavan, sorry to pour cold water on you but I agree with eterna22. Small displacement engine is just not cool. :tongue: Any engine < 2.0litre should just play pimping and auto-saloon. Real muscle lies beyond the 2.0 litre horizon IMHO.
But don't blame me, I use small cc car and that's why I agree.

iam sorry tibun, but i beg to differ. if dats the case, then the GTti shudnt be a starlite in the first place. believe me when i say ive seen a street spec (seats were still intact, etc) charade GTti beating those 2 liter vr4s in batu 3. now, tell me dat isnt cool enuff bro:) its not JUST for show, and iam not so keen wit auto saloon

Any engine can be made to produce high amounts of power & torque. Just depends on extreme the modifications are, parts used and the amount of money spent.

And to prove my point, I know of TWO Kancils using 1000cc blocks which are producing BIG power figures. One produces in the range of 250 - 270bhp while the other will be producing either equal or more than that. But both are spending huge amounts of $$$.

Good comments and points in this topic.

Well, I guess most of you guys saw SR20DET or 1JZ or RB26DETT which hits the 1000hp ceiling and beyond.....
I'm not condemning
But I think I shouldn't continue to push on big cc engine theory coz this channel doesn't really have big cc engine for comparison. My bad.

Anyway Speed demon has spoken.
Whoever doubt the power of k-car should feel the wrath of his GTti....
(I'm not sure whether it still could be consider a GTti as the only thing still true to the original theme is the engine block itself only)
:tee:

anyway, yum char this saturday want? me in KL this weekend.

i understand tibun, but as u can see, a 200hp starlet is alredi a match to a 350hp sti, and fyi still drivable with better fuel consumption. and iam not wrong by saying the money spent to increase the 4efte's power isnt as expensive as the sti's. dont forget about power to weight ratio and most importantly torque to weight ratio. we r using lighter cars, so small (small?) cc is more then enuff to give rocket launch effect.
speedy san is still using the GTti block, i think.. say it is so speedy san. hei, where do u wanna go yamcha bro? i'll try to be there k:)

Tibun....I agree with you: there is no replacement for displacement! My point to eterna is that the Myvi car (and engine) is built for families or people. Priorities for them is an engine which gives them just enough power and good fuel economy. That's why the Myvi is so popular.....look at the owners of most Myvi and you'll see they are from the category I mentioned. So if eterna was looking for an engine easy or cheap to modify for huge power, he shouldn't have bought the Myvi in the first place. Since eterna has owned a VR4 before, he should know this very well.

But having said that, with the technologies and parts available nowadays, almost any engine can be modded to produce huge power....just depends on what you're willing to do and how much you're willing to spend. The 2 Kancil's I mentioned are good examples.

The advantages of small cars are just as XtremeLeo mentioned.

And yes, my engine is still a GTti. Apart from my injectors, everything else is still Daihatsu. Some parts are of course aftermarket performance parts, but then other huge cars like those you've mentioned also do the same thing....:wink:

oohh....my bad, i was just trying to cover for those using 1.0L cars marr :( dun shoot me taiko :( ahahhahaa :lol: but anyways, i somewhat agree with speedy where thre is no replacement for displacement, ive driven those bigger CC cars before also, wow, nothing compared to small cars when moving from standstill, the torque, wow!! ehhehehe ;) but well, as speedy said, with the correct mods and money spent, you could get something which is compatible with those of bigger CC cars ;)

bro, just wan to tumpang ur treat.
thinking of buying a charade year 1992 1.0.
wat kind of torbo engine is suitable 4 dis car?
cost, maintainance n is it easy to approve by jpj?
thankx for any info n feedback.
cheers!

GTti
no need to go inspection somemore....straight go to jpj counter change the engine number

agreed to reubenlee,

for gtti is simple & straigh fwd...less hassle...Just plug the gtti engine in ur chasis w/out the need to adjust the mounting..& then bring the geran jpj to change the number...& thats it...wahla :D

Write your reply...