Proton Waja FR

ixeo said:
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=93

Yes that's a good point.

Excerpt - "as noticed, some topics are unnecessarily laughed at, critisized at, commented at, diverted from and so on."

umm, was it just me, or did i see the FR Waja cruising past me infront of the Pandan Indah Safari highway headed towards makro? well it was fully badged with the R3 logos and the stripes on the side.

was i halucinating?

oh and veryyyy off topic...

faisal,
does R3 support/accept industrial training for budding mechanical engineers like myself?
if you do, can PM me any vital info that will help me apply. thanks.

whatdamn said:
umm, was it just me, or did i see the FR Waja cruising past me infront of the Pandan Indah Safari highway headed towards makro? well it was fully badged with the R3 logos and the stripes on the side.

was i halucinating?

It's somebody's car alright. Maybe the person can appear here? :biggrin:

seems that few 'conservatives' here just doesn't get it how to define 'evolution from scratch' or R&D. If this Waja FR is being built by some other bawah pokok garage, then no one would say shit or maybe even two thumbs up!!!!

Whoopsss... again, I procrastinated and forgot, it's hard to please everyone that's so gatal tangan and envy since they didn't possess this unique Waja or cars better than what they're driving.

Cheers... ;)

prozac,
haha really? but it's not the FR version correct? oh well, i'll wait for that person to appear here. :)

Kopi said:
seems that few 'conservatives' here just doesn't get it how to define 'evolution from scratch' or R&D. If this Waja FR is being built by some other bawah pokok garage, then no one would say shit or maybe even two thumbs up!!!!

Whoopsss... again, I procrastinated and forgot, it's hard to please everyone that's so gatal tangan and envy since they didn't possess this unique Waja or cars better than what they're driving.

Cheers... ;)
hahaha good one. As some people say, jsut can't pls everyone. But R3 are very appreciated by the support shown, be it from the forummers, public. media and so on.

whatdamn said:
prozac,
haha really? but it's not the FR version correct? oh well, i'll wait for that person to appear here. :)
No dude, the Waja FR has not left the office since SS3.5 penang.

Could there be a doppelganger???

correct me if i'm wrong but the Proton Waja FR won't be seen on the streets because not legal for road use? JPJ doesn't change of FF to FR, no?

ixeo said:
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=93

i think R3 is headed towards the right direction, hope to see how the R3 Gen.2 is received. man if the Waja FR was produced and sold to the public it'll be superb.

hi,

any motor tuning house is heading the right direction in my books!

except those that are using "public money" (read R3)

for me, I really respect those that actually use thier own blood sweat tears money to build a tuning house(read matspeed,pwrzone etc). not some highly funded semi gov motorsports division..hahaha..what a joke...R3 is more like event organiser to me...try to distract public attention from the real problem wif malaysian msports...

140dB

matspeed used government funding to set up shop on the basis that it would support local engineering. look at it now.

got your facts right

whatdamn said:

was i halucinating?

oh and veryyyy off topic...

faisal,
does R3 support/accept industrial training for budding mechanical engineers like myself?
if you do, can PM me any vital info that will help me apply. thanks.
ya ya...
do they provide industrail training?

i wish someday can work in place like NISMO or TRD to help on research n modification work
but must start at somewhere small.. like under-tree-garage or at R3

info needed.. :) thanks

140dB said:
hi,

any motor tuning house is heading the right direction in my books!

except those that are using "public money" (read R3)

for me, I really respect those that actually use thier own blood sweat tears money to build a tuning house(read matspeed,pwrzone etc). not some highly funded semi gov motorsports division..hahaha..what a joke...R3 is more like event organiser to me...try to distract public attention from the real problem wif malaysian msports...

140dB

Yeah, what a joke. :rolleyes: Some funnier than others.

Whatever it is though, R3 is a beginning. Like what is said earlier, R3 may still be under the wings of big dude Proton, but is mostly run independently. It will in time become an independent tuner. And that's something to look forward to.

140dB said:
Hi there,

looks like u know a lot about the car business/marketing in Malaysia.

good to know that at least some money from "legally cheating" the malaysian public is put back to the community.(note "legal" cos they make the rules, "cheat" cos its true..why in UK or any other country can buy fully loaded BMW 3 series for 25kpounds and for that money we getting the perdana in m'sia. plus, bmw is not local UK product)

raise the image of proton thru motorsports?

why not start with the quality of their road cars. its crap to say the best. pls dun deny.

why not use a proton made engine and transmission if wanna showcase R3 expertise? even my mech can do this conversion if got time and "public money" to sponsor.
heck, he can and have even put TWO engines into a car and have it run well(but thats really sick and a waste of money)..and all this is done wif VERY basic tools(can laugh or cry i dunno) and very little funding oni......Also, to justify this whole exercise as "RnD" is laughable cos there is very little real RnD involved. Its just a "simple" exercise of shoehorning an RWD engine into a car capable of smoking its tires around a track for 5 mins or so...wanna showoff ur RnD skills? turbo or supercharge a generic proton engine (preferable campro cos its proton designed and build) and marry a RWD tranny from some truck or van or whatever...then theres some real progress.......

does proton really need image boosting?

even if absolutely NO marketing was done (or R3 was never formed for that matter) proton still would sell in Malaysia cos of gov protection. dun talk abt selling overseas as then u need to organise SSO overseas too right?

so its true, its a waste of money...seriously, whether u like it or not....(maybe u work for R3 i dunno..but wake up and smell the bad basi exhaust fumes...time is up when afta comes into play..so milk whatever u can from the company NOW)

just wait for AFTA. proton WILL die a slow death like cancer(please place ur bets here). and all their "motorsports victories" (read waja FR wif SR20 can driff woooo or proton pert wira evo rebadged so obvious) can throw down the drain and forgotten like a bad case of syphilis. scratch...

my 2c. if wanna really boost the image of proton. just kamcheng wif all the car mag editors. give them a big "package" they wont forget for the next 2-3 years and there u go. instant rave reviews. save more money. its normal and its done all over the world.

then again...money, proton have a lot......damn they even operate a bank. which car manufacturer can say, hey i offer u loan to buy my car. pls pay double the price after 7 years k.........

personal opinion-R3 is avenue for mushrooms to thrash some cars and call it a hard days work. promoting proton and all. what a waste man

140dB
trying verrry hard to abstain from obscenities

================

by the end of the day, it is NISSAN who get the name.SR20 has been proven time and again as being one of the most reliable engine.

It is nice if R3 can make some serious R&D on the power window system in Proton cars.Even my 13 yrs old ride p.w. never failed, not even once.

EG8 said:
================

by the end of the day, it is NISSAN who get the name.SR20 has been proven time and again as being one of the most reliable engine.

It is nice if R3 can make some serious R&D on the power window system in Proton cars.Even my 13 yrs old ride p.w. never failed, not even once.

R3 doing serious R&D on power windows? These issues have been discussed and brought up countless times in this forum, in this thread, and in many other threads. Please be realistic and relevant, or at least do some research first before posting in a thread. R3 is a performance tuner. Do you think TRD will be doing serious R&D if the cup holder in a corolla didn't fit properly?

It is not a matter of the tools that are used etc.They are a means to an end. If the SR20 engine is the best choice to help build a rear wheel drive proton waja, then its the engine that gets used. The project brief is clear. R3 decided to build an FR waja to showcase its engineering ability. Its only smart to make use of the best thats available to achieve your goals whenever possible. Is that concept to difficult for people to grasp? Would you rather use something else that isn't as good and see your whole project fail?

Aren't we all supposed to be car enthusiasts here? Leave the politics to the politicians. Our interest should be to see performance tuning and motorsports reach new limits. We should be glad that people like R3 today organise grass roots events for the general public because no one else is bothered, not even the sanctioned motorsports body. We should be happy to see innovative engineering in action, eg. the Waja FR. if you dont get excited over the prospect of seeing a Malaysian proton waja FR drifting flat out in 3rd, throwing up a wall of smoke and looking as good as any other Japanese D1 car, you are definitely not a car enthusiast.

140dB said:
hi,

try to distract public attention from the real problem wif malaysian msports...

140dB

so what exactly is the real problem with malaysian motorsports? i would love to know.

gary said:
if you dont get excited over the prospect of seeing a Malaysian proton waja FR drifting flat out in 3rd, throwing up a wall of smoke and looking as good as any other Japanese D1 car, you are definitely not a car enthusiast.

Can't wait for the day the Waja FR goes AGAINST the Japanese D1 machines. I'll be sitting front row when that happens.

gary said:
R3 doing serious R&D on power windows? These issues have been discussed and brought up countless times in this forum, in this thread, and in many other threads. Please be realistic and relevant, or at least do some research first before posting in a thread. R3 is a performance tuner. Do you think TRD will be doing serious R&D if the cup holder in a corolla didn't fit properly?

It is not a matter of the tools that are used etc.They are a means to an end. If the SR20 engine is the best choice to help build a rear wheel drive proton waja, then its the engine that gets used. The project brief is clear. R3 decided to build an FR waja to showcase its engineering ability. Its only smart to make use of the best thats available to achieve your goals whenever possible. Is that concept to difficult for people to grasp? Would you rather use something else that isn't as good and see your whole project fail?

Aren't we all supposed to be car enthusiasts here? Leave the politics to the politicians. Our interest should be to see performance tuning and motorsports reach new limits. We should be glad that people like R3 today organise grass roots events for the general public because no one else is bothered, not even the sanctioned motorsports body. We should be happy to see innovative engineering in action, eg. the Waja FR. if you dont get excited over the prospect of seeing a Malaysian proton waja FR drifting flat out in 3rd, throwing up a wall of smoke and looking as good as any other Japanese D1 car, you are definitely not a car enthusiast.

well said, my friend. I am quite flabbergasted at some of the comments in this thread and some others. There seems to be a lot of pent-up tension regarding Proton, and threads like this one tend to veer off-track so much, you wonder what the hell the thread is about in the first place.

gary said:

FYI, i am not against R3 nor Proton, but like i said, many Malaysians will be grateful if they can come out with problem free power window system.

So do you agree that SR20DET from Nissan is the best engine around? Why not CAMPRO itself?

EG8 said:
FYI, i am not against R3 nor Proton, but like i said, many Malaysians will be grateful if they can come out with problem free power window system.

It's not R3's job to make problem free power windows. It's like asking an artist to do assembly programming.

EG8 said:
So do you agree that SR20DET from Nissan is the best engine around? Why not CAMPRO itself?

It's certainly more realistic than championing the CAMPRO 1.6 as the best drift powertrain.