Proton Waja FR

Crash said:
well said, my friend. I am quite flabbergasted at some of the comments in this thread and some others. There seems to be a lot of pent-up tension regarding Proton, and threads like this one tend to veer off-track so much, you wonder what the hell the thread is about in the first place.

It's sad to see that despite Proton's efforts to improve, its past still continues to haunt it. Like they say, elephants will always remember the ones who abused it.

140dB said:
hi,

any motor tuning house is heading the right direction in my books!

except those that are using "public money" (read R3)

for me, I really respect those that actually use thier own blood sweat tears money to build a tuning house(read matspeed,pwrzone etc). not some highly funded semi gov motorsports division..hahaha..what a joke...R3 is more like event organiser to me...try to distract public attention from the real problem wif malaysian msports...

140dB
You sure are demented and uninformed not to mention myopic. The fact that you see a 2-bit tuner like Matspeed as respectable shows how much or in fact how little you know.

Just like your nick "140 db" you are definately loud but lack substance.

Yes R3 does events, but those events are REAL MOTORSPORTS EVENTS for REAL MOTORSPORTS ENTHUSIAST.

Heck, R3 does more for all motorsports enthusiast , whatever make of car they drive than anybody else.

FACT : R3 Street Shoot Outs are open to all Makes of cars. Name another motorsports event that has more than 60 entries from all makes and for the lowest expense.

FACT: The Proton Track Carnival gave more Prize Money than the Merdeka Millenium Endurance with a full ( 35 cars per class) Grid.

FACT : R3 developes / makes and sells it's own Performance cars and performance parts.

If you don't know the facts don't make a fool of yourself.

Chill. Leave it be. Live by the following saying:

"If you keep giving food to the stray it will continue to bug you"

prozac said:
Chill. Leave it be. Live by the following saying:

"If you keep giving food to the stray it will continue to bug you"
Or you can whip out the Shotgun and blow the stray to bits... hahahahaha

EG8 said:
FYI, i am not against R3 nor Proton, but like i said, many Malaysians will be grateful if they can come out with problem free power window system.

So do you agree that SR20DET from Nissan is the best engine around? Why not CAMPRO itself?

hi eg8,

agreed, i also want proton to come out with a good power window system, but thats protons job, not R3.

i'm not an engineer. maybe i would have asked them to use a 4 litre amg engine or something.. but i guess for R3's budget, the balance they were looking to achieve in the car, the driving dynamics.. the power, ease of maintenance, strength..parts...etc.etc. the SR20 was the best candidate. Also, its an easily available engine in Malaysia. Most importantly, its an engine designed for a rear drive configuration, which is all important for building a drift car. The campro 1.6 does not meet this brief. If you are an engineer, and you still insisted on trying to make the campro 1.6 work in this role, you would probably be ridiculed by everyone and probably fail to create a credible drift car.

bro faisal..it seem really hot here kan..?

guys.. ayyyaa no more bashing la.. can all of us keep sharing info bout technical/news bout our motoring.. of coz we r sharing info now, but not a something that can make us go better..leave the R3 with their future prospect..

we public just go and do our part making our motoring scene more happening and technologically advance.

ok guys..? :frown:

i see some really narrow-minded ppl in here.

sorry to say that mates!

Power-Windows are the Vendor's responsiblities! *Proton, NOT R3 has to enforce their QC.

why SR20DET? why??
cos it's cost effective.
How much do you think it cost to develop a decent FR drivetrain?? for drifting somemore.
Heck, not everyone uses their own engine designs okie! LOL
Lotus always source engines from outside suppliers.
Heck, the Mark 2 Lotus Elise has 2 different types of engines!
One's the Rover, the other's Toyota!

if you're (Proton/R3) gonna make say, 100,000 units, yea then fine, development costs are acceptable cause you're gonna sell volume to cover all that up.

alo, ONE (1) OFF special PROJECT to showcase their ENGINEERING CAPABLITIES LAH.
NOT production also!

enough with the JPJ crap. HAve you asked if any of the D1 cars actually passed Japanese road-laws?? no?
then this is the same la! it's a purpose built-drift-machine!
cannot drive on road wan la.

ADOI.

Well Japan just launched new D1 category called D1 Street Legal. But new la. hehehe. Hey stanley make FR Kancil, sure cun!! Now where is that 4WD Mira halfcut... hmmm....

ninja_iga said:
i see some really narrow-minded ppl in here.

sorry to say that mates!

Power-Windows are the Vendor's responsiblities! *Proton, NOT R3 has to enforce their QC.

why SR20DET? why??
cos it's cost effective.
How much do you think it cost to develop a decent FR drivetrain?? for drifting somemore.
Heck, not everyone uses their own engine designs okie! LOL
Lotus always source engines from outside suppliers.
Heck, the Mark 2 Lotus Elise has 2 different types of engines!
One's the Rover, the other's Toyota!

if you're (Proton/R3) gonna make say, 100,000 units, yea then fine, development costs are acceptable cause you're gonna sell volume to cover all that up.

alo, ONE (1) OFF special PROJECT to showcase their ENGINEERING CAPABLITIES LAH.
NOT production also!

enough with the JPJ crap. HAve you asked if any of the D1 cars actually passed Japanese road-laws?? no?
then this is the same la! it's a purpose built-drift-machine!
cannot drive on road wan la.

ADOI.

really good point.. :smile:

bodo la...tiap2 hari masuk zth,tiap2 bulan beli hypertune,kat kedai mamak selalu cakap pasal kereta tapi bile R3 buat gempak sikit dah nak kutuk2 pasal power window la, enjin nissan la.

Orang dah buat susah2, puji la sikit. At least tunjuk yg kita nie car enthusiasts.

Anyway, congrats for R3 members. Raya nanti jangan lupa buat open house...hehe

ya la...year past by with only talks and talks..we request proton to do this and that..when R3 came out to prove something..we kutuk..come on la..emm..anyway come to think how can that waja chasis can dance quite calm with that SR20DET INSIDE??

You sure are demented and uninformed not to mention myopic. The fact that you see a 2-bit tuner like Matspeed as respectable shows how much or in fact how little you know.
matspeed a 2 bit tuner? ahah..thats ur opinion la but at least they have to pay back the loan they have been given to them not like R3 which uses "public money". edited-too racist..i got a lot of malay frens too....

again thats ur opinion.....u dont even know me......

Yes R3 does events, but those events are REAL MOTORSPORTS EVENTS for REAL MOTORSPORTS ENTHUSIAST.
just like my last post...i did say at least some money is poured back to the malaysian public.....so REAL man

Heck, R3 does more for all motorsports enthusiast , whatever make of car they drive than anybody else.
thats cos if its limited to proton cars only...then no drift event laa...only the (non street legal)waja FR will be there...

FACT : R3 Street Shoot Outs are open to all Makes of cars. Name another motorsports event that has more than 60 entries from all makes and for the lowest expense.
did R3 make any money out of the event? which organiser would want to waste such money? its a good thing money is poured back into events....

FACT: The Proton Track Carnival gave more Prize Money than the Merdeka Millenium Endurance with a full ( 35 cars per class) Grid.
again...public money given out freely....u proud of that now?

FACT : R3 developes / makes and sells it's own Performance cars and performance parts.
good for you and R3...seriously.....wish u all the best

then state which of my "facts" that i got wrong la.....smartass
[/QUOTE]

140DB, there is just no pleasing you. even when faced with facts, you are aggresive and defensive of your shallow comments. You are just 100% hell bent on creating trouble.

matspeed a 2 bit tuner? ahah..thats ur opinion la but at least they have to pay back the loan they have been given to them not like R3 which uses "public money". yes i know little....not like u....so smart and all.....how u got so smart...from the gov scholarship given to bumis? huh...

please lah.. from playing politics, you now want to make racist comments? you start to sound worse than a nazi dude.

again thats ur opinion.....u dont even know me......

this is a public forum, and you have told everyone here your state of mind. i think the majority has shown that they do not agree with you, regardless of who you are.

just like my last post...i did say at least some money is poured back to the malaysian public.....so REAL man

you keep on going on and on about R3 using "public money". where is your proof of fact? thats a very very serious accusation.

thats cos if its limited to proton cars only...then no drift event laa...only the (non street legal)waja FR will be there...

R3 is doing good service to the grassroots motorsports community, yet you still attempt to find fault there. you should go and talk to people who take part in these events and you might learn something.

did R3 make any money out of the event? which organiser would want to waste such money? its a good thing money is poured back into events....

so are you now saying that motorsports events that R3 organisers for everyone, including "you" is a waste of money? please lah, say something with more value in it. This is a total waste of time.

again...public money given out freely....u proud of that now?

again, where is your proof that this elusive "public money" is used to pay prize money. you have no idea how a a motorsports event is run. Do you know what is "entry fee"? where do you think mme gets money to pay prize money? sponsors? You are showing your ignorance again.

then state which of my "facts" that i got wrong la.....smartass

everyone here sees the "facts" you got wrong, except yourself. .

140dB said:
all.....how u got so smart...from the gov scholarship given to bumis? huh...

My dear friend, seditary remarks are punishable by law (as shown recently a huge fine for a couple of bloggers over racists statements). Leave the bigotry and racism at home, at your own time.

This is a car forum. And its car enthusiast community. A close-knit one that. It's easy to hide behind a nick and bash, but most of us are friends here.

So I suggest you cut down on the politics, bigotry and your dissatisfaction/frustration with Proton before it gets really out of hand (actually it already is, but just to prove a point).

Take a chill pill man.

exactly. u're bitter about the way our country is being run and how corporations are spoon fed and protected by corrupt groups of ppl, big deal. u make it sound like we're the first and only ones to suffer so greatly, big deal. bush, chevron, enron and arthur andersen was at it for much longer. dont take it out on just a group of ppl.

ur "monetary woes" are with corrupt politicians and industrial lobbyists. let me see u try to take it up with them instead of bashing fellow working class, little ppl here. there's a border after opinions and views and before extreme prejudice. dont throw another boy's ice cream to the ground just bcoz u cant have some. at this rate, all i can say is; things we have right now are better than NOTHING at all. u've offered your views, fine. dont bring prejudice into this just becoz no one admits u're right. we cant do anything about ur opinions and so cant u. the line stops at personal attacks. please. it hurts to read senseless bickering instead of mature debate.

its motorsports and at least it does something FOR enthusiasts to enjoy instead of one-way taking away of our $$$ without any returns (roads, highways, quality of transportation)

Sam1741 & WhatDamn,

Like any big companies it does support industrial Trainees and you could PM me if you're serious, i'l give you the details. R3 has had engineering interns from UTP and UTM in the past.

AE80TypeD said:
exactly. u're bitter about the way our country is being run and how corporations are spoon fed and protected by corrupt groups of ppl, big deal. u make it sound like we're the first and only ones to suffer so greatly, big deal. bush, chevron, enron and arthur andersen was at it for much longer. dont take it out on just a group of ppl.

ur "monetary woes" are with corrupt politicians and industrial lobbyists. let me see u try to take it up with them instead of bashing fellow working class, little ppl here. there's a border after opinions and views and before extreme prejudice. dont throw another boy's ice cream to the ground just bcoz u cant have some. at this rate, all i can say is; things we have right now are better than NOTHING at all. u've offered your views, fine. dont bring prejudice into this just becoz no one admits u're right. we cant do anything about ur opinions and so cant u. the line stops at personal attacks. please. it hurts to read senseless bickering instead of mature debate.

its motorsports and at least it does something FOR enthusiasts to enjoy instead of one-way taking away of our $$$ without any returns (roads, highways, quality of transportation)
Well said..:congrats:

WBW7827 said:
bro faisal..it seem really hot here kan..?

guys.. ayyyaa no more bashing la.. can all of us keep sharing info bout technical/news bout our motoring.. of coz we r sharing info now, but not a something that can make us go better..leave the R3 with their future prospect..

we public just go and do our part making our motoring scene more happening and technologically advance.

ok guys..? :frown:
Yeah man. Topic reads "Car Talk" not Proton/R3/Faisal bashing...hahaha