Proton Satria Neo or SRM pics n specs !

yes! good! the doors are great! hehe

when i closed the door..it went *dupp*..i was like..*oh my rod*..

i go and saw it yesterday..i find out there's some design need to improve,

1. the power window switch...i still think the old way whioch is on the driver door and passenger door are better...are they remove to the center just to save cost?

2. the gas pedal are made of plastic...wtf...plastic??

3. the gas tank cover also from plastic..wtf again

4. the door panel are really like a cheapo car.....damn piss when say the plastic dor panel..just like the new kancil but with a diff color

5. the boot seem smaller from old satria..but it's okay for a sport compact car

6..the rim looks ugly..are the designer think SLR rim are nice and put in satria also nice?

7. dashboard glove box so small...erm..for document? or collecting saman?

btw, just my own view...

howiechoo said:

1. the power window switch...i still think the old way whioch is on the driver door and passenger door are better...are they remove to the center just to save cost?

4. the door panel are really like a cheapo car.....damn piss when say the plastic dor panel..just like the new kancil but with a diff color

6..the rim looks ugly..are the designer think SLR rim are nice and put in satria also nice?

btw, just my own view...

1. that has sumthing to do with minimalist concept. and i think the designer himself drives a 1.3 iswara which has similar pwr window switches.

2. plastic is cheap.

3. and oh so cheap.

4. did i mention plastic is cheap?

5. at least the satria boot is bigger then a Honda EX5 - which has no boot at all.

6. the rim design i believe is influenced by Rides programme on Astro ch 50. proton designers probably watched too much of it. but at least, they look different.

7. thoguh small, glovebox still capable of carrying a pack of condom with some lubricant; safely.

howiechoo said:

btw, just my own view...
1. Yup it is cool but will need more cost, save cost anyway they can mah..

2. most newer cars are using plastic for gas pedal, its not something that needs to handle lot of force (as the brake or clutch pedal) thus plastic is more than practical.. go look in japs or conti nearby..

3. There are lots of conti been using plastic for years.. look at Citroen ZX for example.. but sure the design makes it look kinda out of place..

4. its a new trend in cost reduction, nowadays they consentrate on using bare plastic or to get better feeling, they add a layer of PU soft paint for the soft feeling when u touch it.. lot of japs new car like this too mah..

5. yah agree, less stuff in boot, less weight.. when fren wanna shift house also can give a good excuse.. hahaha..

6. Too much pimp my ride..

7. Probably they dont wanna encaurage people bringing too much heavy stuff in the Neo as engine not up to expectation:shades_smile:

plastic's good, actually.
i believe main advantage of plastic is that it is a lot lighter than metal, cheap to replace, easy to form & shape, too..since the Neo has oni 110bhp to go around, the least you wanna do is adding more weight.

this oso means a vehicle with a higher proportion of plastic weigh much less, and therefore require far less power to move it than a comparable metal-laden machine. The vehicle thereby becomes more fuel efficient.

and aren't we all bitch on fuel hikes?

i read somewhere :
a 10% reduction in weight = improvement of 5% to 8% in fuel economy.

think it's easy being a designer? creating something to please ppl?
cannot please all, IMO.

wow..i've yet to have my breakfast yet.