Pronouncing names of performance parts?

ken yeang said:
besides the "gostan", mudguard is commonly pronounced like "ma-gat" by many Malaysian. Ppl from car repair workshops are no strangers to the word "ma-gat".
the ma-gat(mudguard) word....i think it comes from the malay word...which is madgad...i dunno got such word or now la..saw it in tv last time...Rides ...the Stallion episode...madgad = ma-gat

BOV=hembusan daripada cangkerang/injap

piston=omboh

huakenny said:
wa...topic changed....

now is how English parts name transalted in to Malay name....

LOLzzzzz

yeah, realised that bro.... but by injecting some "local flavor" can really spice up the thread...:_:

gostan

actually its english word but it is go-stern (meaning:back of a boat) but chinese call it go-si-tan lol!!!:_:

szekeiemme said:
i hear b4... 1 chinese unker nego-ing...

mahal become mahai...

manyak mahai la.... i was like har?

hahaha...but the northern ppl (e.g. kedah or penang) pronounced 'mahal' as 'mahai'. its a local dialect over there...any word ending with the letter 'l' will be replaced with the letter 'i'.

AshXT said:
*gostan is actually a malay word*
*saw in Kamus Dewan"

looks like it's another Malay word which originates from English

ken yeang said:
Crankshaft: Aci-engkol

Aci is shaft is it?
aci-engkol sounds like aci engko ( your shaft) :shcokedcamo: wahahahahahaha..

aci engkol ade problem kot..
hahahaahahahaha..

english to chinese
Throw your mother old shoes=tui lei loo mo lo hai.
Next time c orang putih no need to fxxk just say "throw your mother old shoes".
:))

Going back to the topic....

I notice ppl call AE86 as 'hachi roku" (yeah...sounded like "HACHI!" when someone sneeze) Other ppl called it "achi roku"

Which one is correct?

car suspension system names

Rousch: Some pronounce it as 'row-ssh, so ppl pronounce it as 'raow-shh"
Tanabe; Ta-na-bi or tana-bey, or Tan Ah Beng??
Rancho: chinese 4x4 ppl called it "Lann-cho" (sounded like...you guessed it)