Procedures of buying 2nd hand car

hansc

fellow altezza owners,

if everything goes well, i might be joining as one of the MAC members....... :_: but before that, i need some guidelines on purchasing a 2nd hand car. (yeah... the altezza that i am looking at is a 2nd hand one)......... :regular_smile:

can someone advise me on the procedures of acquiring a 2nd hand car and all the cost involved? :regular_smile:

i was told that we are supposed to send the car to puspakom for inspection. but the car came with dark windows at the back....... will this pose as a problem when we send the car for inspection? :Not_Impressed:

will be a problem bro. call this inspector (bandar tun razak puspacom) if not mistaken. Ask for price to deal.
gou lou (tall man) - 016 629 4885

hi hansc. from my previous experience, these are the things you need to do.

1) decide which finance company you wanna deal with.
2) ask the seller to get the car inspected at puspakom for the finance company you have decided. puspakom releases inspection result according to specific finance company. not general. the fee for inspection last time i went there was 30 bucks.
3) the dark tint on the car can be handled in 2 ways.
a) like rinagi suggested.
b) rent the clear one from a car windscreen or accessory shop. they have this service. expect to pay around 400 to 600 bucks for this. they will replace the rear side windows and the read windscreen and put the ori back on after inspection. i can suggest a shop near damansara perdana who offer thise service.
4) pass back the puspakom inspection cert to the finance company. basically the cert is for the finance assurance that the car is road worthy, not potong car or stolen car.

u can skip step 2 and 3 if you pay cash for the car. step 2 and 3 usually is handled by the seller, be it used car deller or private seller. they will pass back the cost to you, the buyer.

eh hans.. i think i know you la. you from K2OC rite? i'm DemanG la. we organised that NCCC thing some time ago.

orait!

DemanG

hansc,

Go all the way for it man..kill someone if u have to..haha

bluedemon,

good guideline..but i'd opt for the "duit kopi" way..:regular_smile:

U are taking the risk of water sipping into car if open windscreen. usually no prob. u better compare the cost of both ways before any decision made.

well, in order to minimise the hassle, i was thinking that maybe let the seller do all the check ups and watsoever........ cause i dont want to fork out money to get the things approved at puspakom.....hehehhe........

and i dont wanna risk of water sipping into the car.......