[problem] my ej_de bolt-on isseu..

beyond_4896

Known Member
Oct 21, 2005
currently using L5 kit boost at 0.9 1 bar like tat.

then..... edi change the fuel pump n injector...
piston skim edi...

using EMS MT4.

when tarik rpm till high... abt 5/6K like that..
will keluar sikit bunyi macam besi ketuk besi...

how come like that....

SePaT

1,000 RPM
Jan 8, 2004
knocking ..

check ur ignition setting.. i think laa..

beyond_4896

Known Member
Oct 21, 2005
AF i not sure. The tuner set to me.

Rich fuel can settle knocking?

xerofighter

Not so senior member
Mar 2, 2004
Subang
erm..ideally, you dont want it to be rich nor lean. but its always safer to be on the rich side then to be on the lean side. im no expert, so i might be wrong. maybe someone here can help you solve it. good luck

simonkho79

Apr 15, 2005
okay, I am also a bolt on owner. U need to retard a bit timing if possible if u are not stacking 2 layers and above of head gaskets. (usually not much people know how to mechanically retard timing for a "distributorless" ignition system like EJ-DE, my mech did it i dont know what and how he did)

my case the same, when rev unti 5k rpm will got karak karak sound, that sound isnot good, dont try it every time!

U changed the fuel pump and injector that is fine, but did you add a fuel regulator and custom made a fuel return line? That is importatnt also. Because for my case, i did that, and can rev until 6k rpm. But "soemtimes" still got a bit knocking, depend you "heng" or "soi" only lo.

I planning to stack up my head gasket and change clutch soon la. Clutch slip like hell.... boost 0.4 only.

simonkho79

Apr 15, 2005
beyond_4896 said:
AF i not sure. The tuner set to me.

Rich fuel can settle knocking?
Mine rich until AF Meter show last LED still knocking ah, and then engine feel heavy because too much fuel, and your boost will be soft too, like no power.

The most important still because of 4 factors:
1. Ign Timing
2. Fuel Supply
3. Compression