please give advice for newbie

reubenc,

As what alexz said 'last time it was selling for around RM35k and you need to confirm your participation on all rounds of the perodua cup. but this year there is no perodua cup and i think they still have few unsold cars'.

But the thing is, with the bare essential's it's still cheaper to rally with a Satria or a Wira cause parts are easily available and cheaper compared to the Perodua/Daihatsu variants...

Anyways I doubt that youre able to join any APRC or WRC event's...
They do have APRC rounds in Malaysia, but the category would not be classified unless you have a group N car... And to enter WRC event's you would need to obtain an international racing license and to get that you need to pass some pre-requisites first... That will take you a long time to get...

Would recommend you to start in a low powered car and then make your way up... Start from the basics first like what most of the privateers do... Adrian Lam and Nanda Kumar are master's in the 1.6 category, many times beating more powerful and experienced drivers in the bigger class... Best would be as alexz said, Satria or Wira...

CHEERS

alexz,
Have we met before ???
Seems that youre very well versed in the local rallying scene...

Khorne said:
reubenc,

As what alexz said 'last time it was selling for around RM35k and you need to confirm your participation on all rounds of the perodua cup. but this year there is no perodua cup and i think they still have few unsold cars'.

But the thing is, with the bare essential's it's still cheaper to rally with a Satria or a Wira cause parts are easily available and cheaper compared to the Perodua/Daihatsu variants...

They do have APRC rounds in Malaysia, but the category would not be classified unless you have a group N car... And to enter WRC event's you would need to obtain an international racing license and to get that you need to pass some pre-requisites first... That will take you a long time to get...

Would recommend you to start in a low powered car and then make your way up... Start from the basics first like what most of the privateers do... Adrian Lam and Nanda Kumar are master's in the 1.6 category, many times beating more powerful and experienced drivers in the bigger class... Best would be as alexz said, Satria or Wira...

CHEERS

alexz,
Have we met before ???

beri tepukan tangan! clap clap clap (oops.. violated english language rule on ZTH) ;)

Khorne said:
reubenc,

CHEERS

alexz,
Have we met before ???
APPLAUSE APPLAUSE.. SALUTE :D

yep, surely i will start small and slowly move on if i am capible of it.
im a believer of starting at the bottom and move up.

wah, ivan , u did alot of read up is it?.
serious lots of info ican get from you:)

reubenc said:
yep, surely i will start small and slowly move on if i am capible of it.
im a believer of starting at the bottom and move up.

wah, ivan , u did alot of read up is it?.
serious lots of info ican get from you:)
Ivan is a Championship winning Navigator witha local Works Team ( i kid you not) I'd listen to him if I were you.

faisal said:
Ivan is a Championship winning Navigator witha local Works Team ( i kid you not) I'd listen to him if I were you.

Ivan Ng,
Malaysian Rally Championship 2004. Class P12(open), Champion Navigator 2004.

Ivan is a seasoned Rally campaigner, competing in both tarmac rally, as well as gravel rallies. He has been involved in the rally scene since 2002. He enjoys playing futsal, messing with turbocharged cars, playing "mah kei" and having TT in USJ(the closest you can get to a rally TT).

Gary Lee and Faisal,
Compared to you guys I'm just a fry in the ocean...
Both have so much more experience compared to me...
One's an ex-works team driver and the other also a championship navigator...

reubenc
Anyways if you want to know more on rallying you should hop on over to YSKhong Motorsports... They have been in the rallying scene for over 25 years spanding from father to sons... They can hook you up with anything that you need and want...

CHEERS

well if you wanna have alot of options, ie when 1-2 years down the road after rallying locally and wanna try some regional rally events (thailand, indonesia, APRC or even japan or australia WRC), the wira 1.6 is the best to start with bet coz its FIA homologated and you dont need to buy new car when the time comes. well you cant win outright with all the WRC and turbo cars but still there is a possibility of a class win (N2) right?

khorne, im a lowly newbie but im an ardent fan of rallying since about 10 years ago... i dont know if we met before but i have met your bro when he came to pick up his rally tyres :)

alexz said:
well if you wanna have alot of options, ie when 1-2 years down the road after rallying locally and wanna try some regional rally events (thailand, indonesia, APRC or even japan or australia WRC), the wira 1.6 is the best to start with bet coz its FIA homologated and you dont need to buy new car when the time comes. well you cant win outright with all the WRC and turbo cars but still there is a possibility of a class win (N2) right?

khorne, im a lowly newbie but im an ardent fan of rallying since about 10 years ago... i dont know if we met before but i have met your bro when he came to pick up his rally tyres :)

hi alexz, i think you got ivan ng(khorne) confused with ivan khong. ivan khong is ivan1, ivan ng is ivan2. ;)

Khorne said:
Gary Lee and Faisal,
One's an ex-works team driver and the other also a championship navigator...

reubenc
Anyways if you want to know more on rallying you should hop on over to YSKhong Motorsports... They have been in the rallying scene for over 25 years spanding from father to sons... They can hook you up with anything that you need and want...

CHEERS

where got? ;) i only navigating in a proton now mah. no glamour wan.haha.

gary said:
where got? ;) i only navigating in a proton now mah. no glamour wan.haha.

Haa ha ha ha... Still more glamour than me mah...

alexz,

I'm Ivan Ng, Not Ivan Khong... Ivan Khong is my mentor, compared to him I am but a youngling...

reubenc and alexz,

The Wira 1.6 is a very reliable car to go rallying with, but I don't think that it's FIA homologated anymore as it has been 5 years oredi since the last 1.6 was sold... Maybe the 1.3 and 1.5 Satria's but I'm not sure about the 1.6's... The Proton Driveline division is running the Gen2 in the local rallies and I must say they are pretty impressive...

reubenc
To compete in overseas rally event's you will need to finish at least 6 novice race,rallies with no adverse reports for national status and for international status you will need to finish 2 national races,rallies and 6 novice races,rallies.

That is not easy...

opps mistaken identity... hehehehe

ive checked with FIA, the wira homologation is extended till 2008. satria 1.6 expired 2004. satria 1.3 is also until 2008. so basically the local cars that is still FIA homologated is the wira 1.6 and satria 1.3

Khorne said:
No worries...

aiyoh kawan.. blur already lah you.. getting old issit?

kok pak chiang is running the 1.6 wira group N mah ;)

and yup. its still homologated.

gary said:
aiyoh kawan.. blur already lah you.. getting old issit?

kok pak chiang is running the 1.6 wira group N mah ;)

and yup. its still homologated.

This proves that I'm not the pro that you say I am...
I know of Kok Pak Chiang, but I don't know of his Wira...
All I know is that he uses a super duper ECU...

Khorne said:
This proves that I'm not the pro that you say I am...
I know of Kok Pak Chiang, but I don't know of his Wira...
All I know is that he uses a super duper ECU...

he is running super duper ECU, and super duper Suspension. proflex.

Wah Gary so free ah...
Anyways he is financially stable and he know's what's best...
With Money You Can Buy Happiness... :p

Khorne said:
Gary Lee and Faisal,
One's an ex-works team driver and the other also a championship navigator......

CHEERS
That's the thing " ex-works team driver".

Now only glorified taxi-driver, qualified to give free rides and scare shitless potential R3 owners and parts suppliers.. and ocassionally friends hahaha

Khorne said:
Wah Gary so free ah...
Anyways he is financially stable and he know's what's best...
With Money You Can Buy Happiness... :p
Money can buy Motec ECU and Proflex dampers.. mucho money.. definately not for newbie.

I'd suggest a newbie to pick up a 2nd hand Wira 1.6 for rallying. at least a few yrs left in the car.

faisal said:
That's the thing " ex-works team driver".

Now only glorified taxi-driver, qualified to give free rides and scare shitless potential R3 owners and parts suppliers.. and ocassionally friends hahaha

Better than nothing man...
Still a legend in your own day...
I'm still waiting to feel the wrath of the Stage 2...