performance coating

kecepuss

:shades_smile: What is the benefits of performance coating and what is the parts that can be coated. ..heard bout ceramic coating at manifold bfr..and at the turbo??anyone know??

I believe the coating serve as heat insulator. lesser heat dissipation so that the engine bay is cooler, air sucked into inatek is denser lor. I heard that the heat insulation using ceramic would shorten the life of the exhaust manifold.....

I heard F1 and the japan GT are using the ceramic coating and titanium coating at the manifold and some at the turbo housing ..get to know that it will increase the HP.But there should be transformation of energy as the energy can't be destroy but can transforme..but where is the heat will be distribute if the manifold being coating..in what sense that u think the ceramic coating will shorten the life of the manifold??

.. prolly might get deformed (due to expansion) from the intense heat after a long time? maybe if there wasn't a coating, some heat might dissipate out of the manifold.. that's what i can from the top of my head tho atm..

The intense heat from the exhaust and manifold has to go somewhere. But coating them with ceramic would insulate it, the intense heat from the manifold and piping would build up and cook the exhaust manifold/piping material. The material would probably crystalize and expires earlier.....if heat is the problem, some good heat shielding is good enuf, unless you are driving high performance cars.....like you guys mentioned, F1 car or Jap GT cars......BTW, the ceramic coating ain't cheap. Some ppl might not even like the look of ceramic and prefer to see bling-bling effect of the exhaust manifold....

insulating it means the header cannot "breath". i read up something about it sometime ago, its about the header's material needs to breath, wrap it with fiberglass heat wrap or coat it with ceremic basically preventing it from happening.

sometime before all race car in nascar used to wrap their header, because they give that extra little power that might let them win the race because if heat dun escape mean energy won't excape. but then they find that it reduces their header's life by alot, and mind you thats not some mass marketed header, each of them is custom made, so they found out its not really feasible, and nascar's budget isn't as high as F1.

there's one thing you can spray on the header i think, will insulate heat partially, not as good as those heat wrap, but they won't kill your header. was reported to cool the header down to 300 degree C, compare to 800-900 c

just spray until sensor @ manifold oso cannot take out later....LOL

basically ceramic coating can withstand heat and corrosion and also made the material u coat stronger

As i know i did some survey on internet that the ceramic coating is from the plasma coating and the titanium coating si from the arc spray coating..the different is plasma coating can molten the ceramic materials and bombard to the surface ..but is done by robot..and the arc spary is can be done manually ..no wonder such coating expensive...anyone had try those coating in performance parts before..??

i've did my banana manifold and my turbine housing using ASR ceramic coating. however i wanted to coat my engine head too as L2 head are tend to be weak and always end up with some hairline crack around the valve area but advised not to do so..

Heat insulator coatings on the exhaust manifold are there to keep the exhaust gasses hot while they are being expelled out your exhaust system. Cold gasses tend to cause a "tumbling effect" in the exhaust piping, causing some blockage and reducing the flow rate of the exhaust. As we all know, turbo cars will benefit with a freeer-flowing exhaust system so I think this heat insulator will give best results on a turbo car.

some mechanic said that the turbo car N-gine is hotter then the NA car N-gine..this is at the same range of distance travel and condition...due to that maybe the Turbo car will gain the benefit...

NA cars especially autos need some backpressure in the exhaust to function well. So, in this case, the heat insulator is not that important.

I'm looking for a place to do ceramic coating on my exhaust piping. Any leads?

roughly wats the price we're looking at for ceramic coat for a turbo extractor?

ask urself first la ... u use ur car for racing purpose or daily driving ? dont compare ur car to those F1, race cars or nascar becoz i heard alot of stuffs they only use for 1 race n they'll change it ...even the engine oil. so i dun think its really necessary unless u hav alot of money to spend on extra stuffs (like this) ... cheers!

normality78 said:
roughly wats the price we're looking at for ceramic coat for a turbo extractor?
i think they do not have a specific price ler.. for me, to coat a banana manifold and turbine housing cost me rm500 (custom banana manifold + RHB4 size turbine housing)