PC Auto Restart in 60 seconds

jedi

dear all,

My PC everytime turn on also auto restart in 60 seconds!

can anyone tell me what happen?

first C Drive totally gone, nothing inside... so I just reinstalled WinXP Pro, Office XP Pro & Norton AntiVirus Corporate Edition ver 8.1

Then everytime turn on, Norton AntiVirus will say virus detected and want to restart within 60 seconds!!

Pls help......

Thanks a lot

how to install service pack 2 if the windows restarted 60 seconds after u enter windows?

U got the famous Blaster worm... try running a DOS-based anti-virus to clean it out.

I recommend F-Prot - make sure u download the latest signature files.

If there is no worm, that means something is terminating the SVCHOST.EXE process...

go to symantec.com

search for fixblast.. it will scan and remove the worm

after scanning, you'll automatically redirecting to microsoft website and asked
to download patch for RPC problem

Buy new harddisk if all else fails. :(
That's what I did when spyware killed my registry. Sector 0 also gone. Sigh...

friend... go symantec.com/downloads

download Sasser virus removal. Run it...

i believe u might be affected by sasser virus

since u jst reinstalled windows
why dont u do a fresh installation of it.
reformat the hdd and reinstall windows

end of story

if there's still prob right after the fresh installation
ur hdd might be the problem.

yea.. dat is de worm i always get.. u can disable de 60 sec thingy at ur pc... but iforget how edi.. wut i can say is u dont online..den u so search ur whole pc for dat RPC thingy n disable de 60 sec thingy... den its ok..

when u get the rpc shutdown message,

go to start menu - > run ->

type in : shutdown -a

then press OK

uninstall your norton antivirus first...then do whatever u want..updates, etc. reinstall the norton back.

from my point rite.. i hate NORTON.. i duno y ... its damn stupid to tell me got virus in my pc n canot remove... better dun tell me... im now using panda.. it got firewall also.. so i on all.. connection abit slow when i wana send file to fren la.. but for me safety 1st.. duno wuts wrong wif my pc.. last time online oni 100% will kena virus.. so now firewall on.. im using 2 firewall.. ehehehhe

wah lot of techie's here ..
i think use the shutdown -a thing..
then go here. this is a mmu site actually but i share with you la :)
http://er.mmu.edu.my it has all the patches needed
there are few important ones .. tht will do the work..
other patches got alot more laa.. but this ones are the important ones..
once patch already.. throw away your norton ..
get AVG or Mc Afee ... get the updates now and then to keep the patterns up to date.. and i tink u will be smooth flowing ..
one more good one is F-secure ... they are the first ones who found blaster worm and all .. but i ownself couldnt find their product hehe :)

your pc kenak worm already
run a fixblast and welchia removal tool..
u can get it from symantec
then install service pack 2 from microsoft
install this update :

1. WindowsXP-KB823980-x86-ENU
2. WindowsXP-KB824146-x86-ENU
3. WindowsXP-KB828035-x86-ENU
4. WindowsXP-KB835732-x86-ENU

the problem is solve......
your pc is good as new....