On Board Civic Type R FD2 in Nov HPC Event

Chris,

Lotus, Proton, Porsche, BMW Driver Training all now preach the 9-3 aka "Fixed Hand" steering position with cross-over. Regardless in a FF, FR, RR, MR or 4WD car.

They reason that, if you use push-pull, should you be in a "hairy" situation, it would take time to move your hands. Plus, with today's ultra high performance radial tires coupled with stiffer chasssis & suspension set ups, cars react so much faster.

Also with 9-3/Fixed hands, everytime your steering returns to the straight ahead position, your tires are straight ahead too. This is especially important on slippery surfaces, when the caster angle of the front wheels can't help the steering "return" to straight ahead position.

The Satria R3 (roadcar) can do a whole lap of SIC with the above method. Not much steering lock needed on a neutral handling FF car like the Satria R3 or The FD2 (or DC5) roadcar, even at T1/2 and T9. Max steering wheel angle was 90' (from straight ahead)

I was given a chance to drive a FD2 CTR recently and with power assistance, my hands were at the 9-3 of the steering postion. And the OE LSD really helped the car turn in sharply on the throttle. yummy. Though the ride was so jarring, my head was bobbing like a "noddy". And it nearly made me sick when I sat in the back :puke:

Anyway, T. Djan & Faidzil Alang would probably slap my hands if I'm caught doing push-pull style :shot: . hahaha. But as I had karted for so long b4 it was easier to stick to the "new 9-3 style".

Of course there are the old hands like Walter Röhrl :adore: who still drive the Push-Pull style and yet can lap the Nuerburgring in under 8 mins. Or local Past Masters like YS Khong, who do Push/Pull and can still teach a trick or two :biggrin:

It takes time to adjust. I recall some of the 30 HPC Intructors that participated in Proton's Advance Driver Training also had problems adjusting to the 9-3/Fixed Hand style.

Chris, email address please. Will e-mail the hi res pics to you.

Chris, thanks for sharing your videos, was entertaining =)

anyhow, quick question - do you have J's racing stuff in stock for the FD2? I'm taking delivery tomorrow........ =D

Chris, awesome driving. Favourite'd the videos for future reference =D

How does the FD2's chassis compare to your track dc2?

alucard,

Can email me to [email protected]

mist,

Thanks bro. Check your PM.

JFD,

To begin with my DC2 chassis is not that great. EK9 body i feel better. Or maybe it is just my DC2.

The FD2 as a street car has a really great chassis to start a foundation for mods. I think the chassis is stiff and can take much more power. Chassis flex is very minimal.

Now only the suspension is a little hard for street but a little soft on track. hehe..

faisal,

Thanks for the post.

Been driving my old Satria Gti and my DC2 both with manual rack, is really hard to drive fixed hand as i will end up cross hand. These cars when i was trained and practice with does not turn in as quick or sharp like my FD2. Hmm... Next HPC event i will try the fixed hand method and see how it goes... Will not try it on next week event with my DC2. :)

When is Proton R3/Lotus going to have any advance driving courses?? Can you inform me when one is available coz it is good to go for refresher course as well as learning new driving tips from different schools...

Cheers :)

mist,

please call me or pm me. There is a FD2 gathering tonight but need to confirm participation very soon. sorry for the rush.

oops, didn't see this until just only - can't access ZTH at work hehe.

oh well, have fun! :)

hohoho.. JFD spotted :D

eheh..
nice vids man..can wait to try out :P

chris....

dun mind i side track a bit......was thinking of ordering a fd2r as well....but heard dat the sound prooofing was quite poor for a fd2r.....how do u find it ?

DDgreystar,

Sound proofing was never great for any Type R as it wants to reduce weight as much as possible. The Type R was design for ultimate performance and driving pleasure.

But i'm actually pretty suprise that it is not as bad as the older EK9 & DC2 type R.

Beautiful vids man.

Spotted my car during the first few turns in Part 3. It's the red Evo 3 beside the white WRX. So sad it only had 30 seconds of airtime :(

P.S. Any more vids? Preferably just a few seconds before Part 3 begins so I can see more of my ex-car

Let me check bro..

The videos were edited smaller and into sections by my friend so it is easier to post up in youtube.